October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

USDA’s 2024 Plan to Expand U.S. Farm Export Markets

USDA announced RAPP to help U.S. agricultural exporters develop new markets. Here’s what the 2023 plan and 2024 funding announcements established—and what they don’t confirm for 2026.
From TheFinanceBase Team3 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

In November 2023, the U.S. Department of Agriculture announced plans to send trade missions to six markets in 2024 and invited public comment on a new export-promotion program. USDA later described the Regional Agricultural Promotion Program (RAPP) as a five-year, $1.2 billion effort to help U.S. farm exporters develop markets beyond their established destinations. The announcements explained the policy direction and initial funding; they do not establish whether applications are open in 2026.

Why USDA wanted to diversify agricultural exports

USDA’s stated goal was to expand export opportunities and reduce reliance on a limited group of destinations. Developing a market can require significant early investment in promotion and relationship-building, particularly where U.S. exporters have a less-established presence. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack said in USDA’s November 29, 2023 announcement: “It takes significant investment to open and develop new export markets and this new fund will be dedicated to helping provide that start-up capital so that American exporters can diversify their markets and create new opportunities.” Read USDA’s announcement.

The news first appeared in FERN’s November 16, 2023 Ag Insider archive, which summarized six planned trade missions for 2024 and the public-comment period for RAPP. FERN reported an estimated $1.3 billion program at the time; USDA’s formal November 29 release set the program at $1.2 billion over five years. The later USDA figure is the appropriate one for describing the formal program. FERN’s November 16, 2023 item.

What RAPP funded and which markets it emphasized

USDA’s 2023 formal release said RAPP would be funded through the Commodity Credit Corporation, with up to $300 million available in its first year. It also set aside $25 million for Africa in that first tranche. USDA gave special emphasis to Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, and South and Southeast Asia. These were priorities for the initial tranche, not a permanent list of eligible regions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For the first tranche, USDA excluded China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Canada, Mexico, and the European Union. Most other markets could qualify unless sanctions or other legal restrictions applied. Because the exclusion list and geographic emphasis are tied to that initial round, they should not be treated as rules for later rounds. USDA’s RAPP release.

Who could seek first-tranche support

The initial application period was aimed at organizations that could carry out agricultural market-development work, rather than individual farmers applying for personal financial assistance. USDA named nonprofit agricultural trade groups, State Regional Trade Groups, agricultural cooperatives, and state agencies conducting approved development activities as eligible applicant types. The 2023 announcement is historical guidance: it does not establish current eligibility or an open application window.

How RAPP differed from MAP and FMD

RAPP was created alongside, not in place of, USDA’s longer-running Market Access Program (MAP) and Foreign Market Development (FMD) program. Their purposes differ: MAP supports consumer promotion, including brand promotion for smaller companies and cooperatives; FMD supports generic promotion of U.S. commodities overseas; RAPP focused on developing and diversifying export markets, especially less-established destinations.

Program Promotion focus Funding or participation announced Market detail
RAPP, first tranche Market development and diversification USDA announced up to $300 million for its first year in 2023; $25 million was reserved for Africa. Initial exclusions included China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Canada, Mexico, and the EU; emphasis included Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, and South/Southeast Asia.
MAP, FY2024 Consumer promotion, including brand promotion for smaller companies and cooperatives $174.3 million for 68 nonprofit organizations and cooperatives, announced by USDA for FY2024. Not stated in USDA’s cited FY2024 funding announcement.
FMD, FY2024 Generic promotion of U.S. commodities overseas $27 million for 20 trade organizations, announced by USDA for FY2024. Not stated in USDA’s cited FY2024 funding announcement.

USDA said the FY2024 MAP and FMD allocations together exceeded $203 million. These figures are for MAP and FMD, not RAPP. USDA’s FY2024 MAP and FMD announcement.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What happened after the 2023 announcement

The November 2023 item described planned activity and solicited public comment; it was not the final word on RAPP funding. In December 2024, USDA announced an additional $300 million RAPP round intended for 67 partners and said total announced 2024 RAPP funding had reached $600 million. USDA noted that grants were subject to legal and administrative requirements. The announcement documents awards and funding at that point, not whether money remains available now. USDA’s December 19, 2024 announcement.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Is USDA accepting applications in 2026?

The available USDA announcements establish activity through December 19, 2024, but do not establish 2026 application availability, remaining funds, current eligibility, or current regional priorities. Exporters and organizations considering a proposal should check USDA Foreign Agricultural Service’s current RAPP information and any active notice before relying on the 2023 application rules or first-tranche market list.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
SaleBestseller No. 2
Bestseller No. 5
Adams Sales Order Book, 2-Part, Carbonless, White/Canary, 4-3/16 x 7-3/16 Inches, 50 Sets per Book (DC4705)
Adams Sales Order Book, 2-Part, Carbonless, White/Canary, 4-3/16 x 7-3/16 Inches, 50 Sets per Book (DC4705)
WRAP-AROUND COVER: Fold the back cover between sets to keep invoices neat and legible
$4.97
Best Value
Adams Sales Order Book, 2-Part, Carbonless, White/Canary, 4-3/16 x 7-3/16 Inches, 50 Sets per Book (DC4705)
  • QUALITY INVOICES: Adams Order books provide a professional invoice or customer receipt; a great way to create and maintain a professional image for small businesses and service providers
  • 50 TWO-PART CARBONLESS FORMS: Customers get the perforated white top copy; retain the canary and pink copies for your records
  • WRAP-AROUND COVER: Fold the back cover between sets to keep invoices neat and legible
  • ROOM FOR CUSTOMIZATION: A blank space at top leaves room for your company stamp; a big savings over custom-printed forms
  • CONSECUTIVELY NUMBERED: Large 6-digit numbers in the upper right hand corner help you thumb through orders quickly
Rank #4
Income and Expense Log Book - Bookkeeping Record Book/Tracker
  • Income And Expense Log Book: This Income and Expense Record Book(8.5" x 10.5") is a necessary item for any small business owner or entrepreneur. It is an essential part of any business - helping you understand your overall earnings to determine if you are profitable.
  • Daily Tracking and Weekly Overview: let our log tell you if you are profitable today! There are two pages per week to help you you track your income and expenses. At the end of each day or week, you can note whether you made a profit or a loss for the day.
  • Clear P&L Statement For Your Business: This income and expense book makes it easy to see your expenses and how they fluctuate from time to time. This makes it easy for you to decide where you can cut back on expenses and assess your total annual net profit.
  • Main Features: Expense Review + Income Review + Weekly Pages + Summary of The Year + Twin-Wire Binding + Waterproof Cover + Rounded corner design + Thicker paper
  • Effective Organization: This budget book has a twin-wire binding and you can easily lay it flat at 180°. This effective design can help you work better and bring you great convenience in the process of using.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.