October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

Plaid Raised $575 Million at a Reported $6.1 Billion Valuation in 2025—What’s Changed Since

Plaid’s 2025 financing addressed employee tax obligations and liquidity. The company’s no-IPO statement applied to 2025; later reports described an $8 billion valuation and preliminary IPO talks.
From TheFinanceBase Team3 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Plaid announced a financing of about $575 million on April 3, 2025, and TechCrunch reported a $6.1 billion post-money valuation. At the time, a Plaid spokesperson told TechCrunch the company would not go public in 2025. That was a statement about 2025, not a standing decision: Bloomberg later reported an $8 billion valuation in February 2026, and The Paypers reported preliminary talks with banks about a possible U.S. IPO in July 2026. The later report described exploratory discussions, not a final decision or scheduled listing.

What Plaid announced in April 2025

Plaid co-founder and CEO Zach Perret announced that the company had raised approximately $575 million, with Franklin Templeton leading the financing. Plaid said the proceeds would address employee tax-withholding obligations tied to converting expiring restricted stock units (RSUs) into shares and provide some liquidity to employees. Plaid’s announcement did not describe the money as a conventional growth round.

TechCrunch reported a $6.1 billion post-money valuation for the transaction. That figure is a reported private-company valuation, not a public-market share price or a value that investors can use to buy Plaid stock on an exchange. TechCrunch also reported that Plaid characterized the financing as common stock, not a Series E. TechCrunch’s account discussed both company-issued shares and an employee tender offer, so it would be inaccurate to describe the entire $575 million as a secondary sale of existing shares.

Why Plaid raised money without planning a 2025 IPO

The stated purpose helps explain why the financing and the IPO comment were not contradictory. Plaid said some proceeds would cover tax withholding obligations associated with employees’ expiring RSUs, while another portion would give team members liquidity. A private-company financing can address these needs without a public listing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Square Reader for magstripe (USB-C)
  • Get your money as soon as the next business day.
  • Get set up quickly with no long-term commitments. Download the Square Point of Sale app for free, create an account, and start taking payments anywhere.
  • Run your business all in one place with the free Square Point of Sale app. Track your sales, manage inventory, accept tips, send receipts digitally, and more.
  • Works with Apple devices with a Lightning connector.

TechCrunch attributed the statement that Plaid “will not go public in 2025” to a company spokesperson. The same report said IPO readiness remained a milestone Plaid was working toward. Read together, those comments indicated that the company did not expect to list during that calendar year—not that it had ruled out going public indefinitely.

What Plaid said about its business and financial performance

Plaid described 2024 as a record-setting revenue year and said it had returned to positive operating margins. TechCrunch reported Perret said revenue grew more than 25% in 2024 and that the company was approaching sustained profitability. These are company statements reported at the time; TechCrunch noted that Perret did not provide hard revenue figures, so the growth claim is not an independently verifiable revenue series. TechCrunch’s coverage and Plaid’s announcement provide the relevant context.

Rank #2
Sale
Square Reader for contactless and chip (2nd Generation)
  • Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.
  • Accept contactless payments, chip cards, Apple Pay, and Google Pay from anywhere, with improved connectivity, extended battery life, and enhanced security. Pay one low rate for every tap or dip.
  • No long-term commitments or contracts, no monthly fees- and with offline payments, keep taking payments for up to 24 hours.
  • Safely and securely accepts payments anywhere. Plus, get data security, 24/7 fraud prevention, and payment-dispute management at no extra cost.
  • Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.

Plaid says its products have expanded beyond bank-linking into data analytics used by businesses for customer sign-up, fraud prevention, bank payments, and underwriting. It is infrastructure used by businesses and financial apps, rather than a consumer financial app that an individual typically buys directly. Perret also wrote in the company’s announcement, “Today, more than 1 in 2 Americans have used Plaid.” That is Plaid’s published claim; the announcement did not provide a methodology or independent verification. The company announcement describes its products and use cases.

How Plaid’s valuation and IPO outlook changed by 2026

Later reports changed the context around the 2025 financing, but they do not turn the private valuations into comparable public-market prices or establish that an IPO is certain.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
SmartQ C368 USB 3.0 Card Reader - Plug & Play, Compatible with Apple & Windows, Supports SD, Micro SD, MS, CF Cards
  • SmartQ C368 USB 3.0 Card Reader: Four-in-one design, supports Micro SD/SD/MS/CF cards, and reads data independently; ideal for plug and play mobile use during travel.
  • High data transfer speed: Supports data transfer speed up to 5GB per second (at USB 3.0 speed), compatible with USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 multi-card readers for CF and MicroSD cards.
  • Multi-system compatibility: Compatible with Windows/Mac OS/Linux and other systems, no driver needed, enjoy a plug and play experience.
  • Working status: Blue LED light indicator, the indicator LED lights up when powered on, the device status is clearly visible.
  • In the Box: SmartQ C368 USB 3.0 Card Reader (memory card not included), Cable organizer, User manual.
When What was reported What it establishes
April 2025 About $575 million raised; TechCrunch reported a $6.1 billion post-money valuation. Plaid’s financing and the valuation attributed to that transaction. Plaid said it would not go public in 2025.
February 2026 Bloomberg reported an $8 billion valuation in another round; the amount raised was not disclosed in the report. A later reported private-company valuation, not a public share price. Bloomberg’s report said the financing was intended to give employees liquidity.
July 2026 The Paypers reported preliminary talks with banks about a possible U.S. IPO. Exploratory discussions only. The report said there was no final decision, and a Plaid spokesperson declined to comment. The Paypers’ report does not establish an IPO filing or listing date.

The $6.1 billion and $8 billion figures refer to separate private financings reported at different times. They should not be treated as a continuous measure of what shares could fetch in a public offering: the reports describe private valuations, and the later financing amount was not disclosed by Bloomberg.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Is Plaid going public?

As of the July 2026 report, Plaid had reportedly held preliminary talks with banks about a possible U.S. IPO, but no final decision had been reported. The available coverage does not establish that Plaid has filed to go public, selected a launch date, or committed to a listing. The 2025 statement only ruled out a public offering that year.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
Square Reader for magstripe (USB-C)
Square Reader for magstripe (USB-C)
Get your money as soon as the next business day.; Works with Apple devices with a Lightning connector.
$9.88
SaleBestseller No. 2
Square Reader for contactless and chip (2nd Generation)
Square Reader for contactless and chip (2nd Generation)
Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.; Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.
$47.20
SaleBestseller No. 4
Square Reader for magstripe (with Lightning connector)
Square Reader for magstripe (with Lightning connector)
Pay one transparent rate per swipe for Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express.
$9.40
Best Value
Memory Card Reader, BENFEI 4in1 USB 3.0 and USB-C to SD Micro SD MS CF Card Reader Adapter, 4 Cards Simultaneously Read and Write, Compatible with iPhone 15 Series, MacBook Pro/Air 2023, and More
  • INTEGRATED DESIGN - The integrated-designed BENFEI USB-C/USB 3.0 card reader provide high data speed access to four different card types, the SD(Secure Digital), Micro SD(TF), MS(Memory Stick) and CF(Compact Flash). And with 2in1 USB-C/USB 3.0 design, BENFEI card reader could works with computer or laptop by USB 3.0/2.0 slot or the latest USB Type-C(Thunderbolt 3) slot. A universal card reader solution.
  • INCREDIBLE PERFORMANCE - With latest USB Type-C or the USB 3.0 port, fully enjoy the transfer rates in UHS-I mode up to 160MB/sec, backward Compatible with USB 2.0/1.1. Browse and view photos instantly on your USB-C/USB3.0 smartphones/laptops. (NOTE: The final data speed is decided by the card and USB slot Type )
  • SUPERIOR STABILITY - Built-in advanced IC chip handle the USB-C/USB high speed data transfer signal, allow HD movies trasfer in just seconds. ✅ It is a simultaneously card reader and can read 4 card at the same moment
  • BROAD COMPATIBILITY - Compatible with MacBook Pro 2019/2018/2017/2016, MacBook 2017/2016/2015, iPad Pro 2018, Surface Book 2, Samsung Galaxy S10/S9/S8/Note 8/Note 9, HTC U11/U12, Pixelbook, Dell XPS 15 / XPS 13, Galaxy Book, and many other USB-C Devices. NOTE: SDXC cards (capacity at 64GB or larger) use a special file format "exFAT", which is not supported in Windows XP, Windows Vista before SP1, and Mac OS X before 10.6.6). ❗ Incompatible with Memory Stick (Standard),Memory Stick Micro (M2) and CF Type I
  • 18 MONTH WARRANTY - Exclusive BENFEI Unconditional 18-month Warranty ensures long-time satisfaction of your purchase; Friendly and easy-to-reach customer service to solve your problems timely.
Rank #4
Sale
Square Reader for magstripe (with Lightning connector)
  • Pay one transparent rate per swipe for Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express.
  • Works in conjunction with most downloadable Square point-of-sale apps on your device. Customers can pay, tip and sign directly on your device. Track payments in cash, gift cards and more. Also lets you send receipts via e-mail or text message, makes it easy to apply discounts, keeps a data and sales history log and more.
  • Accepts magstripe credit card payments, including those from Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express (fees apply).
  • App sends deposits to your bank account within 1 to 2 business days, or enjoy instant deposits (fees apply).

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.