What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Neuralink disclosed an additional $43 million in funding through an amended SEC filing dated November 22, 2023, increasing the reported size of its Series D from $280 million to $323 million. The filing updated a financing Neuralink had announced in August; it was not necessarily a new, separate round.
What changed in the filing
Neuralink announced a $280 million Series D on August 7, 2023, with Founders Fund as the lead investor. The company’s initial Form D was filed with the SEC on August 8. On November 22, it filed an amendment that raised the reported round total to $323 million. The $43 million increase is the difference between those two totals, as reported by TechCrunch.
| Disclosure | Date | Reported Series D amount |
|---|---|---|
| Neuralink announcement | August 7, 2023 | $280 million |
| Initial SEC Form D | August 8, 2023 | $280 million |
| Amended SEC Form D/A | November 22, 2023 | $323 million |
The filings are available as the initial SEC Form D and the amended SEC Form D. TechCrunch reported 32 participating investors. The public disclosure does not provide a full investor-by-investor contribution list or explain how much any one investor supplied.
Why “additional $43 million” needs context
A Form D is a securities filing for an exempt offering, not a detailed company press release. The November document amended the earlier disclosure, so the clearest description is that Neuralink increased the reported size of its existing Series D. The amendment does not establish that all $323 million arrived in November, or that the extra $43 million was legally a separate financing round.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →#1 Best Overall
Nor does the $323 million figure represent Neuralink’s lifetime funding. It is the revised total for this Series D. The filing does not disclose a use-of-proceeds breakdown, so it cannot establish that a particular portion was earmarked for clinical trials, manufacturing, hiring, or another expense.
Why the timing mattered
The amendment came as Neuralink was moving toward human testing. Neuralink said the FDA awarded it an investigational device exemption in May 2023. On September 19, 2023, the company announced recruitment for its first-in-human study, the PRIME Study. This put the financing disclosure in the context of a transition toward regulated clinical research, not a product launch.
Rank #2
It is reasonable to view the capital as support for a costly development effort, but the public filing does not specify its allocation. Building and evaluating an implantable medical device can involve engineering, clinical operations, regulatory work, manufacturing, and long-term monitoring; those are relevant demands, not confirmed line items for this raise.
What the PRIME Study was designed to evaluate
Neuralink described the PRIME system as a wireless brain-computer interface: an implant called N1 records neural activity, while an R1 surgical robot is designed to place flexible electrode threads in a brain region associated with movement intention. The system transmits signals to software that decodes intended movement. The study’s initial aim was to evaluate the safety of the implant and robot and assess whether participants with paralysis could use neural signals to control external devices such as a computer cursor or keyboard. See Neuralink’s trial announcement.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesRank #3
That description is of an investigational system and an early study objective, not proof of a successful outcome. A later Neuralink progress update described the N1 implant as using 1,024 electrodes across 64 flexible leads; that technical detail was published in April 2024 and was not part of the November 2023 financing disclosure. It appears in the company’s PRIME Study progress update.
What the FDA milestone did—and did not—mean
An investigational device exemption allows a device to be studied in a clinical investigation under applicable oversight. It is not FDA approval to market the implant as a generally available medical product. The PRIME Study was intended to assess safety and initial functionality; authorization to conduct that study did not establish that the device was safe, effective, or ready for widespread use.
Rank #4
What the raise says about Neuralink’s prospects
A $323 million round indicates substantial investor backing for a capital-intensive and technically ambitious company. It is not clinical evidence. A brain implant must demonstrate that it can be implanted and operated safely, deliver useful and reliable performance over time, and meet regulatory requirements. Wireless operation does not remove the need for brain surgery, and early trial results—whatever they show—would not by themselves resolve questions about long-term reliability or broader use.
The funding also does not show that Neuralink can decode unrestricted thoughts. The stated initial goal was to interpret neural signals associated with intended movement for device control. That is a narrower claim than reading a person’s thoughts generally.
Best Value
Valuation: an estimate, not a disclosed figure
Neuralink did not disclose a current company valuation in the financing coverage. TechCrunch cited a June 2023 Reuters report that put the company’s implied valuation at approximately $5 billion, based on private stock trades. That is a reported private-market estimate, not a valuation confirmed by Neuralink in the amended filing. The $323 million round total alone is not enough to calculate a post-money valuation, ownership dilution, or investor returns.
What readers should not infer
- The $43 million increase was not necessarily a standalone financing round.
- The $323 million was the revised Series D total, not a disclosed lifetime-funding total.
- The filing did not disclose a valuation or a detailed plan for spending the proceeds.
- The FDA IDE milestone was authorization for an investigation, not marketing approval.
- The financing does not prove the implant is safe, effective, commercially available, or capable of reading unrestricted thoughts.
For current trial information, Neuralink directs interested people to its Device Control trials page; eligibility for a study is distinct from general access to a product.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




