Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

Intel Reportedly Nears Samsung Deal for 8nm Platform Controller Hub

Intel was reportedly close to using Samsung Foundry for an 8nm Platform Controller Hub, not its CPU cores. The deal, chip identity and production status remain unconfirmed.
From TheFinanceBase Team5 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Intel was reportedly in the final stages of arranging for Samsung Foundry to manufacture an 8nm Platform Controller Hub (PCH), with production expected in 2026. The December 16, 2025 report from The Korea Economic Daily concerns a companion chipset—not Intel’s main CPU silicon. As of August 16, 2026, neither company’s reviewed public materials identify a signed contract, exact chip, volume order or completed production run.

What was actually reported

Hankyung reported that Samsung Foundry was close to securing an Intel order for an 8nm PCH and that the companies were preparing for mass production. The report put the expected production start in 2026. It did not disclose a contract value, wafer volume, yield target, model number, packaging provider or executive confirmation.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

That makes the appropriate status description: reported industry negotiations, not an officially confirmed commercial contract. “Close to tapping” and “final stages” do not establish that a contract was signed, silicon completed qualification or volume production began.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Intel’s 2026 annual report, its foundry news archive and press-release archive do not name an Intel 8nm PCH agreement with Samsung. Samsung’s first-quarter 2026 presentation likewise discusses foundry activity without identifying this arrangement (Samsung 1Q 2026 conference presentation).

#1 Best Overall
Sale
MSI PRO B760M-P DDR4 ProSeries Motherboard (Supports 12th/13th/14th Gen Intel Processors, LGA 1700, DDR4, PCIe 4.0, M.2, USB 3.2 Gen2, HDMI/DP, mATX)
  • Supports 12th/13th Gen Intel Core, Pentium Gold and Celeron processors for LGA 1700 socket
  • Supports DDR4 Memory, Dual Channel DDR4 4800+MHz (OC)
  • Core Boost : With premium layout and digital power design to support more cores and provide better performance
  • Memory Boost: Advanced technology to deliver pure data signals for the best performance, stability and compatibility
  • Lightning Fast Experience: PCIe 4.0, Lightning Gen4 x4 M.2 with M.2 Shield Frozr

Status: Reported by Korean industry media; direct Intel or Samsung confirmation of the agreement and production status has not been identified in the cited public materials.

What a Platform Controller Hub does

A PCH is a supporting logic chip in a platform that handles input/output and peripheral-control functions. Depending on the system design, it connects the processor to storage, USB, networking, audio, expansion slots and other devices. In systems using a discrete chipset, it is separate from the CPU’s primary compute die.

That distinction matters. Outsourcing a PCH is not the same as outsourcing Intel CPU cores, and it does not show that Samsung is manufacturing Intel’s future processors. Intel would normally retain ownership of the architecture, logic design, platform integration, validation and product, while Samsung would provide wafer fabrication. The report did not say who would perform packaging or final testing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Where Samsung would make it

The original report and secondary coverage point to Samsung’s Hwaseong, South Korea facilities for the reported 8nm production. SamMobile and Tom’s Hardware also described an earlier relationship in which some Intel PCH products were reportedly built on Samsung’s 14nm line in Austin, Texas.

Rank #2
Sale
MSI PRO B760-P WiFi DDR4 ProSeries Motherboard - Supports 12th/13th/14th Gen Intel Processors, LGA 1700, DDR4, PCIe 4.0, M.2, 2.5Gbps LAN, USB 3.2 Gen2, HDMI/DP, Wi-Fi 6E, Bluetooth 5.3, ATX
  • Supports 12th/13th Gen Intel Core, Pentium Gold and Celeron processors for LGA 1700 socket
  • Supports DDR4 Memory, Dual Channel DDR4 5333+MHz (OC)
  • Enhanced Power Design: 12+1 Duet Rail Power System with P-PAK, 8-pin + 4-pin CPU power connectors, Core Boost, Memory Boost
  • Premium Thermal Solution: Extended Heatsink, MOSFET thermal pads rated for 7W/mK, additional choke thermal pads and M.2 Shield Frozr are built for high performance system and non-stop gaming experience
  • High Quality PCB: 6-layer PCB made by 2oz thickened copper and server grade level material
Production detail What the available reporting says
Previously reported arrangement Some Intel PCH production on Samsung 14nm in Austin, according to secondary reports
Reported next-generation arrangement Intel PCH on Samsung 8nm, likely Hwaseong, South Korea
Expected timing 2026, as reported by Hankyung; a completed start date is not confirmed
Chip model Not disclosed
Packaging and testing Not stated

A secondary estimate put Samsung’s Hwaseong 8nm capacity at 30,000–40,000 wafers per month, but that is an attributed estimate rather than a verified August 2026 capacity figure and should not be treated as current production data.

Which Intel platform could use the chip?

Intel has not publicly identified the product. Secondary coverage has linked the report to a future desktop generation, potentially a 900-series chipset for Nova Lake processors. Tom’s Hardware described a prospective Z990 as one plausible candidate, while PC Gamer made a similar inference.

Those are interpretations, not product disclosures. The evidence supports only that an Intel PCH was reportedly being discussed. It does not establish a Z990 name, a Nova Lake connection, a socket, a desktop launch date or any retail motherboard shipping with Samsung-made silicon.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why an 8nm foundry could make sense for Intel

It is a lower-risk part to outsource

A PCH is generally smaller and less performance-critical than a CPU compute die. Its functions do not normally require the highest transistor density or the newest process technology. Intel can therefore keep control of its core processor while using an external supplier for a companion component.

Rank #3
ASRock B560M-C Micro-ATX Motherboard, Supports 10th & 11th Gen Intel Core Processors (LGA1200), DDR4 4800MHz (OC), PCIe 4.0, Dual M.2, 8 SATA3, Intel Gigabit LAN, WiFi + BT 5.1
  • System Compatibility Note: This Micro-ATX form factor (9.6-in x 9.6-in) is designed for Micro-ATX and larger cases; please verify chassis specifications before purchase.
  • Dedicated Support: Please contact us directly through Amazon for any product questions or assistance you may require.
  • White box, user manual not included, please download it from the ASRock official website.**
  • Versatile Intel Platform: Supports 10th and 11th Gen Intel Core processors (LGA1200), offering flexible configuration options for business, commercial, and everyday computing needs.
  • High-Speed DDR4 Memory: 4 x DDR4 DIMM slots support dual-channel configurations and overclocked speeds up to 4800MHz (OC), providing ample bandwidth for demanding applications.

Mature-node economics

Samsung’s 8nm is a mature-node offering by current leading-edge standards. Such a process can provide adequate performance for chipset and I/O logic while offering more predictable yields, cost and available capacity than an advanced node. The “8nm” label is a foundry designation, not a universal physical measurement; it should not be treated as directly equivalent to an Intel or TSMC node with the same number.

Capacity and internal focus

External production could free Intel’s own manufacturing operations to concentrate on higher-value processors, advanced process development and other constrained capacity. An ITHome summary described that as an industry interpretation of the reported move, not as an Intel-stated reason.

An existing supplier relationship

If the reports about Samsung’s Austin 14nm PCH work are accurate, moving a later design to Samsung 8nm would extend an existing manufacturing relationship rather than create one from scratch. That could reduce supplier-qualification risk, although the new process and product would still require design-rule work, validation and production qualification.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What Samsung Foundry would gain

An Intel order would be strategically meaningful even if the chip is not a leading-edge product. Intel is building Intel Foundry while also competing with Samsung for external customers. Winning a large semiconductor company as a manufacturing customer would add credibility and utilization to Samsung’s mature-node business.

Rank #4
Sale
GIGABYTE Z790 Eagle AX LGA 1700 ATX Motherboard, Support Intel Core 14th/13th/12th Gen, DDR5, 12+1+1 Power Phase, 3X M.2, PCIe 5.0, USB-C 3.2, WIFI6E, 2.5GbE, Q-Flash, EZ-Latch, RGB Fusion
  • Intel LGA 1700 Socket: Supports Intel Core 14th/13th/12th Gen processors
  • DDR5 Compatible: Dual Channel DDR5, 4 DIMMs
  • Sturdy Power Design: Twin 12*+1+1 Phases Digital VRM Solution
  • Comprehensive Thermal Design: Advanced Thermal Design, Enlarged MOSFET Heatsinks, M.2 Thermal Guard
  • Next Gen Connectivity: PCIe 4.0, NVMe M.2, USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 Type-C

Hankyung described Samsung’s 8nm business as gaining major customers and suggested that success with Intel could support future opportunities. That is a potential commercial benefit, not evidence that Intel is considering Samsung for CPU production or another advanced-node award. The significance would depend on the eventual volume, duration and profitability of any contract—none of which has been disclosed.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What the report says about Intel Foundry strategy

Intel’s strategy has two tracks: offer manufacturing capacity to outside customers through Intel Foundry, and use external foundries where a particular component can be produced faster, cheaper or with less execution risk. Intel’s 2026 annual report lists Samsung, TSMC, GlobalFoundries, UMC and SMIC among its foundry competitors and acknowledges the challenge of expanding its third-party foundry business.

Those goals are not automatically contradictory. A company can promote its own fabs for selected products while adopting a multi-foundry sourcing model for others. A PCH made at Samsung would show product-by-product optimization rather than prove that Intel cannot manufacture the part. It would, however, illustrate the practical difficulty of moving every Intel-designed component into Intel’s own facilities while the company is simultaneously scaling new process nodes and courting foundry customers.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What remains unknown

  • Whether Intel and Samsung signed a binding manufacturing contract.
  • The exact PCH designation and the Intel platform that would use it.
  • Wafer volume, pricing, yield targets and contract duration.
  • Whether the design taped out or completed qualification.
  • Which company would handle packaging, assembly and testing.
  • The exact Hwaseong line and production start date.
  • Whether volume production began in 2026.
  • When, or whether, a retail motherboard would ship with the part.

How to read future updates

A direct Intel or Samsung announcement naming the PCH, process and production status would move this story from reported sourcing discussions to confirmed supply-chain news. Evidence such as a product brief, regulatory filing, qualification notice or motherboard teardown could establish the chip’s identity and availability. Until then, claims about Z990, Nova Lake, wafer volumes or Samsung-made retail chipsets remain unverified.

Bottom line

The December 2025 report points to a potentially important but narrowly scoped arrangement: Samsung may fabricate an Intel companion chipset on 8nm, possibly beginning in 2026. It does not indicate that Samsung is making Intel’s CPU cores, and it does not yet establish a signed deal or mass production. The most defensible interpretation is a pragmatic, multi-foundry decision for a lower-risk PCH while Intel preserves its own resources for CPUs and advanced manufacturing.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.