Cato Networks acquired Israeli AI-security startup Aim Security on September 3, 2025, in Cato’s first-ever acquisition. The deal was designed to add controls for employee use of public AI services, enterprise AI applications and autonomous agents to Cato’s SASE platform. The purchase price was not disclosed.
The integration is no longer just a plan. Cato launched Cato AI Security on March 17, 2026, incorporating Aim-related capabilities into the platform.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The deal in brief
| Item | Verified detail |
|---|---|
| Announcement | September 3, 2025 |
| Buyer | Cato Networks |
| Target | Aim Security, an Israeli AI-security startup founded in 2022 |
| Strategic significance | Cato’s first acquisition; expands its SASE platform into AI-security controls |
| Purchase price | Not disclosed by Cato |
| Cato financial context | More than $300 million in ARR and a Series G expansion to $409 million, including an additional $50 million from Acrew Capital |
Cato announced the transaction in its official release. A third-party transaction tracker mentioned an approximately $400 million value, but that is an unconfirmed estimate and not an announced deal price.
Who Aim Security was
Aim was founded in 2022 and backed by YL Ventures and Canaan Partners, according to Cato. The company focused on enterprise use of generative and agentic AI, with a unified engine intended to govern and protect interactions among users, applications, agents, models and tools.
#1 Best Overall
- Compact and Efficient Design: The FortiGate 40F is designed for small to mid-sized businesses and enterprise branch offices, featuring a compact, fanless desktop form factor that ensures quiet operation and minimizes space usage.
- Robust Connectivity Options: Equipped with 5 GE RJ45 ports, including 1 WAN port and 4 internal ports, this model provides essential connectivity and flexibility for various network configurations in a small-scale environment.
- High-Performance Security: Offers up to 1 Gbps IPS throughput and 600 Mbps threat protection throughput, using Fortinet’s purpose-built security processor technology to deliver industry-leading performance and protection for SSL encrypted traffic.
- Advanced Threat Protection: Integrated with Fortinet’s AI-powered FortiGuard Labs, the FortiGate 40F offers comprehensive cybersecurity, identifying and mitigating both known and unknown threats to maintain robust security across your network.
- Simplified Management and Deployment: Features a user-friendly management console that provides comprehensive network automation and visibility, coupled with Zero Touch Integration with Fortinet’s Security Fabric for easy deployment.
Aim’s website now redirects its positioning toward Cato’s broader SASE and AI-security offering rather than presenting Aim as a separate standalone vendor. That supports the conclusion that Cato has absorbed the technology into its product strategy, although public materials do not itemize which features are legacy Aim code and which were developed by Cato.
What Aim brought to Cato
Cato said Aim added capabilities for AI-security posture and governance, application and interaction protection, threat and anomaly detection, and controls for agents, models, MCP servers and API-driven services.
Inspection of AI interactions
The technology is intended to inspect prompts, responses, agent workflows and model outputs. That gives security teams a way to identify sensitive data exposure, suspicious instructions and risky tool calls as an AI interaction occurs.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallRuntime controls for applications and agents
Cato describes protections against prompt injection, data leakage and other runtime threats affecting AI applications and agents. It also markets inventory, policy enforcement and audit trails for agent actions.
Research credibility
Cato credited Aim’s research team with uncovering EchoLeak, described by Cato as a zero-click vulnerability in Microsoft 365 Copilot and assigned CVE-2025-32711. That demonstrates research capability, but it is not independent proof that every part of Aim’s product was superior to competing tools.
Why Cato wanted the acquisition
SASE already provides a control point for traffic connecting users, sites, applications, clouds and devices. Cato’s strategic argument is that the same platform can enforce policy when employees use public AI services or when enterprise applications and autonomous agents exchange prompts, data, model outputs and tool calls.
In Cato’s view, combining network, cloud, user, application and AI visibility can reduce the number of security consoles and policies an enterprise must operate. The company presented the acquisition as a way to extend SASE from connectivity and access into the rapidly changing interactions created by generative and agentic systems. Those are Cato’s strategic claims, not an independent efficacy benchmark.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsRank #2
- HARDWARE PLUS SECURITY SERVICES: FortiGate-60F Firewall Appliance bundled with 1 year of FortiCare Premium and FortiGuard Unified Threat Protection.
- UNIFIED THREAT PROTECTION (UTP): Secures against advanced online threats with comprehensive web filtering and anti-botnet technologies.
- OPTIMIZED FOR MEDIUM-SIZED BUSINESSES: Tailored for businesses needing robust security without the infrastructure of larger enterprises.
- RELIABLE CUSTOMER SUPPORT: FortiCare Premium ensures high-quality support and service continuity.
- EFFECTIVE PROTECTION: Employs advanced filtering technologies to safeguard against sophisticated threats.
From standalone Aim to Cato AI Security
At announcement, Cato said customers could deploy Aim as a standalone product while integration into the Cato SASE Cloud Platform was planned for early 2026. It also promised a migration path for existing Aim customers.
That roadmap subsequently materialized. In March 2026, Cato announced Cato AI Security, describing it as a native capability of the SASE platform. Cato’s current product pages organize the offering around three customer contexts:
- End users: discover and govern employee interactions with public AI services.
- Applications: protect AI applications and agents against runtime threats.
- Agents: inventory agents, govern actions and tool calls, and retain audit trails.
Cato’s March 2026 product update and current AI-security overview confirm that the commercial story is now an integrated Cato product, not merely a proposed acquisition integration.
What changes for customers
Separate licensing matters
Cato’s documentation says AI Security for End Users and AI Security for Applications are separate per-user licenses. Buyers should not assume that every Aim-derived feature is automatically included with a base Cato subscription. Cato directs customers to a representative or authorized reseller for licensing details; public list pricing was not provided in the reviewed official material.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Deployment determines coverage
For applications, Cato lists proxy interception, AI-gateway integrations and APIs into model platforms or developer tools as deployment approaches. Coverage can therefore vary significantly depending on how an organization routes traffic.
Interactions may escape a SASE control point through direct cloud-to-cloud API calls, developer environments, personal devices, embedded SaaS integrations, internal service-to-service traffic or proprietary encrypted protocols. “AI security” does not mean Cato automatically sees every AI interaction in an enterprise.
Privacy, latency and availability
Inline inspection can require sensitive prompts, responses and tool calls to pass through a security control point. Before purchase, organizations should establish where content is processed, whether it is retained, what redaction and logging controls exist, which model providers are supported, how much latency inspection adds and whether enforcement fails open or closed during an outage. Cato’s public pages emphasize real-time inspection and guardrails but do not provide a complete independent performance benchmark or universal coverage matrix.
Rank #3
- 【Up to 1100 Mbps VPN Speed 】 Hardware-accelerated WireGuard and OpenVPN-DCO deliver up to 1100 Mbps VPN throughput, over 3× faster than Brume 2 for smooth remote access and file transfers.
- 【Three 2.5G Ports & Multi-WAN】Tri-port 2.5GbE design with flexible WAN LAN configuration supports multi-gigabit wired setups, dual-ISP Multi-WAN and failover to keep home and SOHO networks online.
- 【Stealth VPN Obfuscation】VPN obfuscation disguises VPN traffic as regular HTTPS, helping you evade blocking, bypass restrictive networks and maintain stable, private connections.
- 【DPI protection】Deep Packet Inspection with visual dashboards blocks adult/gambling/malicious sites, while SQM and QoS prioritize gaming, calls, and video when bandwidth is tight
- 【OpenWrt & USB 3.0 Expansion】OpenWrt with 1GB DDR4 and 8GB eMMC lets you install plugins and build VPN, ad-blocking or NAS, while USB 3.0 Type‑C connects high-speed storage or 4G/5G dongles
Migration questions for former Aim customers
Cato promised a migration path, but the public announcement does not specify contract conversion, feature parity, data migration, log-retention changes, API compatibility, pricing protection or standalone-product end-of-life dates. Existing Aim customers should obtain those terms in writing.
What Cato AI Security is—and is not
The offering is most directly positioned around employee AI-use governance, inspection of AI interactions, runtime protection for AI applications and governance of agents. Those are different from development-time model scanning, machine-learning supply-chain security, red teaming, dataset controls or broader application-security programs.
A SASE-integrated product can complement, but does not automatically replace, DLP, CASB, API security, secure software development, model-security and incident-response controls. Buyers should map the product to specific threat models rather than treat the phrase “AI security” as comprehensive protection for the entire AI lifecycle.
Market and competitive implications
The transaction illustrates a broader consolidation trend: SASE, firewall, cloud and security-platform vendors are acquiring specialist AI-security companies or embedding similar capabilities in existing products. The strategic choice is between platform convergence and specialist depth.
When Cato’s model may fit
- An organization already uses Cato SASE and wants AI policies in the same console and control plane.
- Security teams need visibility into employee use of public AI tools alongside web, WAN and zero-trust policies.
- An enterprise is building AI applications or agents and wants centralized runtime inspection.
- A cloud-delivered, single-vendor operating model is more valuable than maintaining specialist tools.
When a specialist or another platform may fit better
Specialist AI-security products may offer deeper model scanning, red teaming, AI supply-chain analysis or developer-tool integration. Larger platforms such as Palo Alto Networks, Netskope and Zscaler may be more natural choices for organizations already standardized on those ecosystems. Their enterprise pricing is generally quote-based, and feature scope should be compared directly rather than inferred from brand names.
Palo Alto reported more than 100 Prisma AIRS customers in its Q2 fiscal 2026 earnings presentation, but that is a company-reported metric, not an independent market-share measure.
Questions to ask before buying
- Which Aim capabilities are included in the current Cato AI Security licenses, and which were retired or rebuilt?
- Which public AI services, model providers, browsers, endpoints, agent frameworks and MCP implementations are supported?
- Does inspection cover Microsoft Copilot, ChatGPT Enterprise, Gemini, Claude, custom APIs and agent tool calls?
- Where are prompts, responses and tool calls processed, logged and retained?
- What data-residency, redaction and customer-controlled retention options are available?
- How are false positives handled, and can policies warn or redact instead of blocking?
- Does protection apply only to traffic routed through Cato?
- What happens during an inspection-service outage?
- Is pricing based on users, applications, transactions, bandwidth or a combination?
- What migration support and contractual protections are available to former Aim customers?
- What independent testing, customer references and efficacy data can Cato provide?
Unanswered parts of the transaction
Cato has not publicly disclosed the acquisition price, employee and leadership arrangements, migration economics or a detailed feature-by-feature mapping between Aim’s former product and Cato AI Security. Regional availability and final packaging may also vary. Those gaps do not invalidate the strategic rationale, but they limit what can responsibly be concluded about the deal’s financial terms or customer outcomes.
The Bottom Line
Bottom line: Cato’s first acquisition gave it a credible route into AI-use governance and runtime protection, and the March 2026 launch shows that Aim’s technology has been incorporated into Cato AI Security. The practical value depends on licensing, traffic coverage, privacy controls and integration with the buyer’s existing DLP, application-security and model-security programs—not on the acquisition announcement alone.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.




