Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

Best Online Software Engineering Degrees: What We Can Verify Now

The original 2022 top-picks list could not be verified. Here are current program examples and practical checks for comparing accreditation, curriculum, and total cost.
From TheFinanceBase Team4 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The original “Best online software engineering degrees 2022” ranking cannot be verified from the available sources, so it would be misleading to present a current list as its 2022 top picks. The current program pages do, however, offer useful examples for comparing degree names, accreditation, curriculum, and cost—and show why you should check those details before committing tuition money.

Why there is no verified 2022 top-picks list here

The available sources do not identify the publisher, ranking method, school order, or contemporaneous program details behind the promised 2022 list. Current program pages and a 2026 ranking cannot establish what schools were recommended or what they charged in 2022. The examples below are current information, not a reconstruction of that historical ranking.

“Best” also depends on how a list defines quality. OnlineU’s 2026 ranking says it uses verified student reviews and includes institutionally accredited schools with at least one fully online software engineering bachelor’s degree. It describes a minimum of five verified reviews and a 2.5-out-of-5 aggregate rating. Those criteria explain that ranking’s eligibility and review-based approach; they are not an accreditation judgment or proof of graduates’ outcomes. OnlineU’s 2026 software engineering ranking reports that its broader research operation covers 1,800+ online colleges and 30,000+ online degrees, and cites 90,000+ verified student reviews and 200+ expert interviews. Those are OnlineU-reported scale figures, not program-specific evidence.

Current online program examples—not 2022 recommendations

These examples illustrate different degree titles, learning models, and ways of quoting tuition. Program details and prices can change; confirm them with the university and its current catalog before applying.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
School and program What the current source says Cost figure and what it means
Arizona State University Online — BS in Software Engineering ASU describes the program as ABET-accredited and project-driven. Its page lists 41 total classes, with classes lasting 7.5–15 weeks. ASU Online program page Tuition is not stated in the cited program information.
University of Arizona Online — BS in Software Engineering The page lists 120 credits and describes coursework spanning engineering foundations and the software development lifecycle, including Agile, automated testing, continuous integration, and DevOps. University of Arizona Online program page $525 per credit, as displayed on the current page accessed in 2026; this is not a total-degree estimate.
Western Governors University — bachelor’s in Software Engineering The online curriculum page lists full-stack development, cloud services, APIs, software security, quality assurance, Agile, and DevOps. WGU program page $4,375 per six-month bachelor’s term, as displayed on the current page accessed in 2026; this is a term price, not the full degree cost.
University of Oklahoma Online — BS in Software Development and Integration The university describes this as a 100% online degree-completion program for transfer students and working technology professionals. It is a software development degree, not a program titled software engineering. OU Online program page Tuition is not stated in the cited program information; the university cautions that tuition and fees may change.

The amounts above are not directly comparable: one school quotes a per-credit rate, another a six-month term, and another does not state a price in the cited information. Estimate your own total using the credits or terms you would need, transfer-credit decisions, fees, and any applicable residency or aid rules. Do not treat a term price as the cost of a degree.

How to compare programs before you pay

Check accreditation at the right level

Confirm that the institution is institutionally accredited, then check whether the specific program has separate programmatic accreditation if that matters for your goals. These are distinct checks. ASU’s current page specifically identifies its software engineering program as ABET-accredited; that does not establish ABET accreditation for the other examples. The current OnlineU ranking says institutional accreditation is an eligibility requirement, but inclusion on a ranking is not a substitute for checking a school’s status directly.

Read the curriculum for engineering and lifecycle coverage

A software engineering degree should be assessed for more than the programming languages it teaches. Compare whether the curriculum includes engineering and mathematical foundations, systems, project work, testing and quality assurance, security, and how software is delivered and maintained. The University of Arizona page describes engineering disciplines alongside lifecycle practices; ASU emphasizes project-driven coursework; WGU lists applied areas such as cloud services, APIs, security, and DevOps. These are university descriptions, so use the current catalog to verify course requirements and how they fit together.

Match the credential and delivery model to your situation

  • Verify the exact degree title. Software engineering, software development, and software development and integration are related but not interchangeable program names.
  • Check whether the degree is fully online, whether any in-person requirements apply, and how often courses begin.
  • Ask how transfer credits are evaluated and whether the program is designed for first-time students or degree-completion applicants.
  • Compare class schedules, term structure, and expected workload with your job and other commitments.

For example, OU describes its Software Development and Integration BS as a completion program for transfer students and working technology professionals. That may suit a different applicant than a software engineering BS, even though both concern software careers.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Calculate a personal total cost

Request a written estimate that reflects your transfer evaluation and likely time to completion. Include tuition, mandatory fees, and the number of credits or terms you would actually pay for. A per-credit rate and a six-month term rate describe different billing models; annual estimates from ranking pages are another measure. Check what is included and how often the quoted price can change rather than comparing headline numbers alone.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What to do if you need the historical 2022 picks

If your goal is to identify the schools in the original 2022 article, look for an archived copy or a contemporaneous page from its publisher that names the ranking and explains its method. Until that source is available, neither a current ranking nor today’s university pages can establish the 2022 order, tuition, accreditation statements, or program details.

A May 2022 Reddit post illustrates one applicant’s concern about finding an accredited program within a €2,000 annual budget, but it is a single anecdote, not representative evidence or a recommendation. Treat affordability and accreditation as personal checks: verify recognition relevant to your country and calculate the full cost for your own enrollment plan.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.