A contracting company’s employee died after an incident at the SimFer mine site in Nzérékoré, Guinea, on Saturday 14 February 2026. Rio Tinto confirmed the death on 15 February, said work at the site had been suspended, and committed to a thorough investigation with authorities, partners and contractors. The company’s statement does not name the worker or the contractor, does not describe how the incident happened, and does not give a cause.
What happened
Rio Tinto said an employee of a contracting company died following an incident at the SimFer mine site on 14 February 2026. The company published its confirmation on 15 February. A version of the same announcement appears on the SimFer Guinea site dated 16 February.
The statement describes the person only as a “teammate” employed by a contractor. It does not give their name, age, role, or employer, and it does not say what kind of incident occurred or where on the site it happened.
Rio Tinto’s response
Three points were stated in the company’s announcement:
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Work suspended. Work and activity at the SimFer mine site were suspended. No restart date was given.
- Support for affected staff. Counselling and other support were being provided to team members affected by the death.
- Investigation. Rio Tinto said it would work with relevant authorities, partners and contractors on a thorough investigation. Chief Executive Simon Trott said he planned to travel to Guinea that week.
Trott’s statement reads in full: “Our thoughts and deepest condolences are with the family, friends and colleagues of our teammate who lost their life, and with everyone affected by this tragedy. We are providing our full support and will work with relevant authorities, our partners and contractors to complete a thorough investigation to fully understand what happened and prevent reoccurrence.”
What is not yet established
The company statement is the primary public account of this incident, and it leaves the following open. Based on the company and project materials reviewed for this article, none of these points had been published as of this update:
- The worker’s name, nationality and job
- The contracting company’s name
- How the incident occurred and where on the site
- The cause of death
- Any findings from the investigation, or a timeline for them
- When work at the SimFer mine site resumed
Readers should treat any account of the mechanism or cause that is not attributed to Rio Tinto, Guinean authorities or a named investigation as unverified.
SimFer and WCS: two operations on one project
The Simandou project is divided into four blocks, and the blocks are not run as one mine. Rio Tinto’s project page says SimFer holds blocks 3 and 4, while WCS develops blocks 1 and 2. The partners also share common export infrastructure. In January 2026, Rio Tinto described the WCS worksite where deaths occurred in October 2025 as an independent mine from SimFer’s blocks 3 and 4, even though the partners share infrastructure.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Rank #3
| Element | SimFer | WCS | Shared |
|---|---|---|---|
| Blocks | 3 and 4 | 1 and 2 | Common export infrastructure |
| Relevant to February 2026 death | Yes, mine site in Nzérékoré | No | Not stated |
| Rio Tinto’s description | Mine blocks 3 and 4 on the project page | Independent mine from SimFer, per January 2026 company response | Partners share infrastructure; Rio Tinto participates in investigations of incidents on infrastructure it does not manage, under the mechanisms the partners have agreed |
When an incident is reported, the operator and location determine who is responsible for the immediate response and investigation. A mine-site death at SimFer and a death at a WCS worksite are separate matters, even though both are part of the same project.
Earlier fatalities involving SimFer
The February 2026 death is not the first reported fatality connected to SimFer. Rio Tinto has reported at least two earlier incidents involving contractor employees. The table below lists them as they were reported; the company materials reviewed did not state causes for any of them.
| Reported date | Location | Who was affected, as reported | Cause in the sources reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| October 2024 (injury); death later, date not stated in the source reviewed | SimFer Port Project, Morebaya | Contractor employee Morlaye Camara, per Rio Tinto’s 2024 report | Not stated |
| 22 August 2025 | SimFer mine site | Employee of a contracting company, per Rio Tinto’s release | Not stated |
| 14 February 2026 | SimFer mine site, Nzérékoré | Employee of a contracting company, per Rio Tinto’s release | Not disclosed |
These are separate incidents. Because the company materials do not link them, the pattern of contractor fatalities should not be read as a established cause or trend without a published investigation that says so.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Safety oversight
Rio Tinto’s project page says the Simandou Safety Advisory Panel was established in 2026 to give independent external advice on safety performance. The panel’s role is advisory. Its establishment does not mean it has determined the cause of the February death, and no finding from the panel on this incident had been published in the materials reviewed.
Recommended Free Tools
Project context
Rio Tinto’s project page states that the first shipment from Simandou left Guinea in December 2025. That milestone is relevant only as background: it means the site was in operation when the February incident occurred, but the company materials do not connect the shipment schedule to the incident.
What to watch for next
- Rio Tinto’s own news releases on the Simandou project, where a cause or investigation outcome would most likely be announced first
- Statements from Guinean authorities, which the company said it would work with
- Any published output from the Simandou Safety Advisory Panel
- Restart confirmation for the SimFer mine site, which the February announcement did not date
If a later statement names the worker, the contractor or a cause, it should be read alongside the February release rather than as a replacement for it.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




