Recommended Free Tools
BlackRock, Inc. is the largest named holder of BlackRock (NYSE: BLK) stock in the company’s own 2026 proxy beneficial-ownership table, with 9,580,403 shares, or 6.17%, as of March 31, 2026. A different ranking, built from institutional 13F filings for the quarter ended June 30, 2026, puts Vanguard Capital Management LLC first by reported position value, at $8.9 billion. Both answers are accurate, but they measure different things, so the right answer depends on which measure you are citing.
The two measures behind the answer
“Largest owner” is not a single fact about BLK. The proxy table reports beneficial ownership under SEC rules for selected holders, as of a fixed date. The 13F ranking reports the long U.S. equity positions that institutional managers disclose each quarter. The table below shows how the two differ.
| Feature | BlackRock 2026 proxy statement | Q2 2026 13F institutional ranking |
|---|---|---|
| Source | BlackRock, Inc., 2026 Proxy Statement, filed April 10, 2026, section “Ownership of BlackRock Common Stock” | 13F ownership page titled “Who owns BLK? Institutional ownership (Q2 2026),” generated September 23, 2026 |
| Measure | Beneficial ownership under SEC rules, for selected holders | Reported long U.S. equity position value, by manager entity |
| As-of date | March 31, 2026 | June 30, 2026 holdings |
| Largest holder shown | BlackRock, Inc.: 9,580,403 shares (6.17%) | Vanguard Capital Management LLC: $8.9 billion reported position value |
| Share count for the top holder | 9,580,403 shares | Not stated in the ranking summary |
| Excluded from the figures | Not stated beyond the beneficial-ownership definition | Short positions, derivatives, cash, and non-U.S. holdings |
What BlackRock’s proxy table reports
The proxy lists BlackRock, Inc. first, with 9,580,403 shares (6.17%). BlackRock states that these shares are beneficially owned by funds managed by its subsidiaries. That means the figure reflects shares controlled through fund management, not personal holdings of BlackRock executives, and it does not necessarily identify who economically benefits from those shares.
The next named holder is the Kuwait Investment Authority, with 7,993,064 shares (5.14%), also as of March 31, 2026. The proxy includes a caveat that matters for anyone reusing these numbers: “The information is not necessarily indicative of beneficial ownership for any other purpose.”
#1 Best Overall
What the 13F ranking shows
The Q2 2026 13F ranking places Vanguard Capital Management LLC first, with $8.9 billion in reported BLK position value, using holdings as of June 30, 2026. This is a dollar value, not a share count, and the ranking does not give a comparable share figure for that entity in the material summarized.
Three limits apply to this ranking:
- Delay: 13F reports can arrive up to 45 days after quarter end, so the most recent positions may not yet appear.
- Scope: The data covers long U.S. equity positions only. It excludes short positions, derivatives, cash, and non-U.S. holdings.
- Entity level: The ranking lists manager entities separately. A parent firm’s total can therefore rank differently from any single entity listed.
How to state the answer accurately
Use this checklist whenever you cite a BLK ownership figure:
Rank #2
- Item Trademark: EXHIBITINDEXESCOM
- Item Category: Office Products
- Manufacturer: exhibitindexes
- Manufacturer: exhibitindexes
- Name the measure: beneficial ownership from the proxy, or reported position value from 13F filings.
- Attach the as-of date to every figure. Proxy figures are as of March 31, 2026. The 13F ranking uses June 30, 2026 holdings.
- Do not merge the two rankings into one “largest owner” claim, because they cover different holders, dates, and units.
- When citing BlackRock’s 9,580,403 shares, say they are held through funds managed by its subsidiaries.
- Do not present a 13F value as a percentage of outstanding shares unless the source provides that percentage.
If you need the largest holder under one specific measure, the question is answered directly by the source for that measure. If you need a single ranking across all holders, no source in this summary provides one.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Professional Railroad-Style Design – Features a classic black and white minimalist layout on standard 8.5x11” paper, offering a formal appearance suitable for business or display use.
- Customizable Fill-in-the-Blank Format – Allows users to input shareholder names, share amounts, and corporate information for tailored documentation.
- Versatile Legal & Commemorative Use – Ideal for official corporate ownership records, employee recognition, business awards, or commemorative gifts.
- Pack of 30 High-Quality Certificates – Comes with 30 blank templates, making it perfect for corporate kits, multiple stockholders, or repeated use.
- Standard Letter Size (8.5x11”) – Easily fits in standard printers, binders, and document holders for convenient printing and storage.
Rank #4
- Green-inked border design
- Large centered Eagle Symbol
- Contains space for company name, authorized stock structure, delegated shareholder, and date (see Product Description for Custom Printing reference)
- 15 individual corporate stock certificates
- 3 punched holes on top of each item for simple insertion into binders
Rank #3
- KG2 Stock Certificate
- Green Border
- pack of 15
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




