No reliable public source ranks the ten highest-paid individual lawyers in the United States. Published data can show occupational wage medians, reported earnings ranges for equity partners at the largest law firms, and salary patterns for associates. None of these measures named individuals, on a common basis, for the same year. This article explains what the evidence does establish, why a named top-ten list would be misleading, and how to read the compensation figures that do exist.
Why a named top-ten list cannot be verified
“Highest paid” can mean several different things: base salary, total annual compensation, a partner’s share of firm profit, or a net worth figure built from years of earnings. Each measure is collected differently, and public sources rarely publish any of them for named individual lawyers. A ranking that mixes them would compare unlike numbers.
Occupational wage statistics leave out owners and partners
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) publishes the most widely cited lawyer pay data in its Occupational Outlook Handbook entry for lawyers. Its wage figures describe employees. The BLS states plainly: “These wage data do not cover self-employed workers or owners and partners of unincorporated businesses.” That exclusion matters because the highest earners in private practice are typically partners in unincorporated firms, so the official wage series cannot describe them.
Partner profit is a firm-level figure, not a salary
Large firms often report profit per partner (PEP), which is the firm’s profit divided by the number of equity partners. PEP is an average across a partnership. It includes partners with very different books of business, tenure and origination credit, and it is not a paycheck. A high firm-wide PEP tells a reader little about what any one partner took home.
#1 Best Overall
Headline cases are not comparable
Individual compensation is disclosed only in limited circumstances, such as public company filings, court records, or press reports about specific deals or settlements. Those cases rarely cover the same year, the same definition of pay, or the same kind of practice. Presenting them as a ranked list would imply a comparability the public record does not provide.
What official wage data show for lawyers
BLS reports May 2025 data for lawyers. These are the most defensible numbers for the occupation as a whole, with the exclusion above in mind.
| Measure (May 2025) | Figure | Population covered |
|---|---|---|
| Median annual wage, all lawyers | $159,670 | Wage and salary lawyers; excludes self-employed owners and partners of unincorporated businesses |
| Highest 10 percent threshold | More than $351,600 | Same population; a percentile cutoff, not a list of individuals |
| Federal government median | $178,380 | Lawyers employed by the federal government |
| Legal services median | $157,870 | Lawyers employed in legal services |
| Local government median (excluding education and hospitals) | $131,390 | Lawyers employed by local government |
| State government median (excluding education and hospitals) | $115,330 | Lawyers employed by state government |
The “highest 10 percent” figure is a threshold. It tells you that one in ten lawyers in the covered population earned more than about $351,600. It does not identify ten people, and it does not say who sits at the very top of the distribution.
Reported partner earnings at the largest firms
The most concrete high-end figure in the public material comes from an American Bar Association article published in 2026, which discusses 2025 market compensation. It reports top-tier equity-partner earnings of $20 million to $30 million at the largest firms. That is reported firm-market context. It is not an audited ranking of named lawyers, and it does not say how many partners reach that range or how the figures were compiled.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsRank #3
- Amoral, cunning, ruthless, and instructive, this multi-million-copy New York Times bestseller is the definitive manual for anyone interested in gaining, observing, or defending against ultimate control – from the author of The Laws of Human Nature. In the book that People magazine proclaimed “beguiling” and “fascinating,” Robert Greene and Joost Elffers have distilled three thousand years of the history of power into 48 essential laws by drawing from the philosophies of Machiavelli, Sun Tzu, a
Equity partners and how their pay is set
Equity partners own a share of the firm and are paid from its profits, usually after operating costs, and sometimes after a fixed draw. Their pay therefore moves with revenue, origination of new business, and the firm’s own profitability. Non-equity partners and associates are generally paid salaries and bonuses instead. Because the two groups are paid under different structures, comparing them on a single list makes little sense.
What the $20 million to $30 million range does and does not mean
The range describes the top tier of equity-partner earnings reported for the largest firms in the 2025 market. It does not describe the typical partner at those firms, the typical lawyer in the country, or any identified individual. Treat it as an indicator of how far the top of private practice can reach, not as a leaderboard.
Rank #4
- Used Book in Good Condition
Comparing compensation measures side by side
The table below shows which measure answers which question. Cells marked “not stated” are figures that the public sources cited here do not provide.
| Measure | What it counts | Figure cited in this article | Can it rank individual lawyers? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Occupational wage (BLS, May 2025) | Wages of employed lawyers, by percentile and employer type | Median $159,670; top 10 percent above $351,600 | No. It excludes owners and partners of unincorporated businesses |
| Associate pay survey (NALP, 2025) | Associate salaries by experience, firm size, region and metropolitan market | Not stated in this article | No. It supports segmented associate comparisons only |
| Top-tier equity-partner earnings (ABA, 2026) | Reported earnings at the largest firms, 2025 market | $20 million to $30 million reported range | No. It is a reported range, not a verified ranking |
| Profit per partner | Firm profit divided by equity partners | Not stated in this article | No. It is a firm average, not a personal salary |
| Firm revenue | Total income of a law firm | Not stated in this article | No. It is not individual pay |
Reading role-level comparisons correctly
Role comparisons are only valid within one measure and one year. The main pitfall is placing a salary figure next to a partner-profit figure and calling the result a ranking.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Associates
The NALP 2025 Associate Salary Survey organizes associate pay by experience level, firm size, region and metropolitan market. That structure lets you compare a first-year associate at a large firm in one city against a mid-level associate at a smaller firm in another. It cannot be extended to rank every lawyer in the country, and it does not measure partner income.
Government and judicial service
BLS medians for government employers are wage data for employees of those governments, and they are useful for seeing how public-sector pay differs by level of government. Federal judicial pay is published as official pay schedules by the U.S. Courts. These schedules are a public-service comparator. They say nothing about private-sector top earnings, and a reader should not treat a judicial salary as evidence of where the highest private-practice incomes sit.
Where the highest reported earnings concentrate
The highest figures in the public record cluster among equity partners at the largest firms, whose pay depends on firm profit and their own origination of business. Outside that group, the most senior employed lawyers in the BLS population report medians well below the top-decile threshold. Individual compensation for named partners is generally not disclosed, so a named top-ten list is not something the public record can responsibly supply.
How to check a lawyer pay claim
When you see a figure labeled as the highest-paid lawyers’ earnings, confirm the following before relying on it:
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →- Measure: Is it base salary, total compensation, PEP, or firm revenue?
- Population: Does it include owners and partners, or is it limited to employees?
- Unit: Is the figure for one named person, a percentile cutoff, a median, or a firm average?
- Year: Which calendar year, and does the source say whether it recurs annually?
- Geography and employer: Is it national, regional, or limited to one market and firm size?
- Source type: Is it a government statistic, a survey, a reported range, or an individual disclosure?
A claim that cannot answer these questions is not a ranking, however precise it sounds.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




