The $5 Whatadeal was a limited-time launch offer that began January 6, 2026. It is not the current promotion. Whataburger’s most recent value-menu announcement, from August 18, 2026, lists the Bacon & Cheese Whataburger Jr. at $4, so the $5 price is no longer the one to plan around. Whether the deal was a “steal” depends on comparisons the company’s announcements do not provide, which is covered below.
What the January 2026 Whatadeal included
Whataburger announced the offer on January 5, 2026, with the menu starting January 6. It listed three items:
- $3 Big Ranch Wrap: a crispy premium Whatachick’n strip, lettuce, tomato, creamy buttermilk ranch, and American cheese in a warm flour tortilla.
- $4 Whatachick’n Bites: five pieces.
- $5 Bacon and Cheese Whataburger Jr.: a 100% beef patty topped with bacon and cheese.
The $5 price covered the Jr. burger only. Small fries and a small drink could be added for $2.49 according to the January announcement, which is a separate charge on top of the burger.
Is the offer still available?
No, not as a general offer. Whataburger described the January deals as available for a limited time at participating locations and did not publish an end date. Because the company has not stated a closing date, the only reliable way to know whether a location still carries an item at a given price is to check its current menu before ordering.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- CREAMY PEPPER SAUCE is now labeled: PATTY MELT SAUCE. Same product, new label.
What changed by August 2026
On August 18, 2026, Whataburger distributed a release through PR Newswire promoting More for $4. It lists the Bacon & Cheese Whataburger Jr. at $4, alongside a Jr. Patty Melt, a Honey BBQ Chicken Strip Sandwich Jr., and a Buffalo Ranch Chicken Strip Sandwich Jr., each at $4. The release says prices and participation vary by location and that small fries plus a drink could be added for $3.
| Item | January 2026 launch (announced January 5) | August 2026 More for $4 (released August 18) |
|---|---|---|
| Bacon & Cheese Whataburger Jr. | $5 | $4 |
| Big Ranch Wrap | $3 | Not stated in the release |
| Whatachick’n Bites (five pieces) | $4 | Not stated in the release |
| Jr. Patty Melt, Honey BBQ Chicken Strip Sandwich Jr., Buffalo Ranch Chicken Strip Sandwich Jr. | Not part of the launch | $4 each |
| Small fries and small drink add-on | $2.49 | $3 (fries plus a drink) |
The two announcements are not directly equivalent. The January add-on was described as small fries and a small drink, while the August add-on was described as small fries plus a drink, so the $0.51 difference reflects the company’s stated prices, not a change in portion size that the release documents.
Rank #2
- Product contains egg
- Refrigerate after opening
Was it a steal?
The company’s announcements support the statement that the Jr. burger was priced at $5 in January and at $4 in August. They do not establish that either price was a bargain. Three things are missing:
- No verified regular price. Neither release gives a standard menu price to measure the $5 against, so no savings figure can be calculated from them.
- No competitor comparison. Neither release compares Whataburger’s prices with other chains or local restaurants.
- No independent evaluation. No third-party study, customer survey, or nutrition-per-dollar comparison was published with either announcement.
Whataburger framed the offer as value. In the January announcement, Scott Hudler, then Senior Vice President and CMO, said: “We’ve always believed that good, fresh food should be easy to enjoy and easy on the wallet.” In August, Jessica Reicher, Chief Operating Officer, said: “We know our Guests are looking for more ways to enjoy the Whataburger favorites they love at a price that fits their everyday lives.” Those are marketing positions. A reader who wants to judge the value should compare the posted price with what a comparable burger costs at a nearby restaurant on the same day.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Rank #3
How to check the current price before you go
- Open the Whataburger app or the Whataburger website and select your location, since prices and participation vary by store.
- Look for the Bacon & Cheese Whataburger Jr. and confirm whether the listed price is $4 or a different amount at your location.
- Check the add-on price for small fries and a drink before deciding whether the combo is worth it.
- Compare the total against one or two nearby alternatives, which is the only comparison that tells you whether the price is a good deal for you.
The January announcement said orders could be placed at the drive-thru, online, or through the app, and that new app accounts automatically earned a free Whataburger and began earning points. Those terms came from the January release. Confirm the current app terms before assuming a signup reward is available.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.The practical takeaway for budgeting
If you plan to buy the Jr. burger regularly, the useful number is the price at your own location today, plus any add-on you actually order. The headline figures from January and August are the company’s advertised prices for specific dates, and they should not be used as a baseline for every store or every month.
Quick Recap
Rank #4
- ONE 18oz bottle
- savory blackened seasoning blend and creamy buttermilk ranch
- mild heat
- This is a non-perishable product
“
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




