Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

Walmart and Unity’s Immersive Commerce Plan: Can Players Buy Physical Goods in Games?

Walmart and Unity announced a plan for players to buy physical goods without leaving Unity games and apps. Here is what was announced, what the pilots showed, and what developers should verify before assuming access.
From TheFinanceBase Team5 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Walmart’s January 2024 announcement described a plan that would let players buy physical Walmart products without leaving a Unity-built game, virtual world, or app. The most recent public update located is from October 2024, when Walmart said its Immersive Commerce APIs were entering alpha testing with Unity. That means the capability has been announced and tested in limited form, but a developer should not assume it is generally available today without checking current access on Walmart’s and Unity’s developer pages.

What Walmart and Unity announced

On January 4, 2024, Walmart and Unity announced plans for Unity developers to integrate Walmart commerce APIs directly into games and apps. The stated goal was to let creators sell physical items inside real-time 3D experiences, so that a purchase could happen in the same environment where a player is already engaged.

The announcement covered four points that matter for anyone evaluating the offer:

  • The integration method: an official Walmart Software Development Kit for Unity, described as the route to native integration.
  • The purchase experience: players could buy physical goods without leaving a game, virtual world, or app.
  • The creator income: creators could receive affiliate commissions from certain physical purchases powered by the integration.
  • The missing terms: the announcement gave no commission rate, cookie duration, or detailed rules for which purchases qualify.

How Walmart framed the integration

Walmart presented the plan as a way to connect customers’ virtual and physical lives, and as a possible new monetization channel for Unity experiences. Tom Kang, vice president and general manager of Metaverse Commerce at Walmart’s Store No. 8, said: “By opening up Walmart’s commerce APIs to the Unity development community, we’re empowering developers to offer a new mechanism to further drive user engagement while making it easy and convenient for players to complete a transaction for physical products without leaving the game, virtual world or app.”

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Marc Whitten, president of Create at Unity, said: “This announcement paves the way for new innovation in commerce for games and other virtual experiences.”

Both statements describe intent and opportunity. Neither establishes how many developers would participate, what share of sales would reach creators, or how often players would use in-game checkout.

The pilots that came before the SDK

Walmart said it had tested immersive commerce in online worlds during the year before the announcement, and it named three Unity-made experiences. The table below summarizes what Walmart described for each.

Experience What Walmart described Physical or brand link Reported result
House Flip Players could buy real-world counterparts of virtual home items Glidden paint; home decor from Mainstays and Better Homes and Gardens; a Holiday Time Christmas tree More than 12 million impressions for Glidden in the first six months, per Walmart’s September 2023 article. This is company-reported engagement, not a sales result.
Avakin Life Virtual twins of apparel and a virtual clothing line Apparel tied to virtual items Not stated
ZEPETO Brand placements in an avatar-based social platform, with immersive commerce planned for selected spaces to support future brand integrations Brand experiences Not stated

The Glidden figure should be attributed as: “More than 12 million impressions for Glidden in the first six months — Walmart, 2023.” It measures attention to a virtual paint experience. It is not evidence that the later SDK produces purchases, and it should not be read as a sales or conversion number.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Where the SDK stands

The public record has three stages, and each one describes a different level of access:

  1. January 4, 2024: Walmart and Unity announce the plan to integrate Walmart commerce APIs into Unity games and apps.
  2. October 9, 2024: Walmart says its Immersive Commerce APIs are entering alpha testing with Unity.
  3. Current developer pages: Unity’s developer interest page and its Asset Store listing describe the SDK in different terms, as set out below.

Unity’s developer interest page describes the planned SDK as targeting mobile and web in the United States, beginning with Unity LTS 2021.3 or later. It invites developers to express interest and lists possible product categories such as home goods, fashion and design, beauty and makeup, and sports.

The Unity Asset Store listing describes the SDK as available in open early access and points to documentation, setup guides, and sample projects. These two descriptions do not fully match. The sources do not establish a single current enrollment status, geographic reach, or commercial contract, so the Asset Store wording and the interest-page wording should both be checked against the live pages before you plan around either.

What to verify before assuming availability

Treat the announcement as the starting point for a due-diligence check. Before you build a product flow around the Immersive Commerce SDK, confirm the following with the official developer documentation:

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Whether you can enroll now, and whether enrollment is open, invitation-only, or closed.
  • Supported regions, since Unity’s interest page describes a U.S. focus.
  • Supported platforms, since the 2024 announcement described a scope of more than 20 platforms, which should not be read as proof of SDK support on every one today.
  • The minimum Unity version and any other engine requirements.
  • Catalog rules, checkout behavior, and which physical products are eligible.
  • Privacy and account-linking behavior, including what player data is shared with Walmart.
  • Affiliate eligibility, commission rates, cookie duration, and payout terms, none of which were disclosed in the announcement.
  • Support arrangements and who handles fulfillment, returns, and customer service for a purchase made inside your game.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Figures attached to the announcement

Walmart’s January 2024 announcement included two Unity figures, which should be attributed to Walmart and dated 2024. It said Unity had more than 1.1 million developers using the editor monthly, and that Made With Unity apps averaged 3.6 billion downloads per month worldwide. These describe Unity’s reach as Walmart presented it, not the number of developers who would adopt the commerce integration.

What the evidence does not show

Most of the material comes from Walmart and Unity, the two parties promoting the integration. It documents their announcement, their example experiences, and the development stage they stated. It does not provide independent evidence of adoption, sales, conversion, player sentiment, or profitability for developers. No independent study, regulator statement, or court record bears directly on this partnership.

Because the most recent public update located is from October 2024, any change after that date, including a move to general availability, would not appear in these sources.

”

The Bottom Line

Walmart and Unity have announced a way for players to buy physical goods inside Unity experiences, and Walmart has tested the underlying commerce APIs in alpha with Unity. For developers, the offer is real but still early: check current enrollment, regions, platforms, Unity version requirements, and affiliate terms directly with Walmart and Unity before planning a launch around it.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.