Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

Virgin Mobile, Fido and Koodo’s $35/20GB Plans: What the March 2026 Report Said

MobileSyrup’s March 4, 2026 report described $35/20GB BYOP offers from Virgin Mobile, Koodo and Fido, with differences in speed, promotion terms and inclusions.
From TheFinanceBase Team4 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

As reported by MobileSyrup on March 4, 2026, Virgin Mobile and Koodo were offering $35-per-month bring-your-own-phone (BYOP) plans with 20GB of data, while Fido had made a similar, limited-time adjustment to its $35 basic plan. The plans differed in speed and other inclusions, and the report does not establish whether any offer is still available. Treat the details below as a snapshot from that date, not as current carrier pricing.

What MobileSyrup reported on March 4, 2026

MobileSyrup’s March 4, 2026 report said Virgin Mobile and Koodo had doubled the data included at their $35 monthly price point to 20GB. Koodo’s plan was described as offering 5G speeds; Virgin Mobile’s remained at 4G speeds. Fido had made a similar change to its $35 basic plan, and its website described that offer as limited-time.

The report also noted $55-per-month plans with 100GB from Virgin Mobile and Koodo. Koodo’s plan was 5G, while Virgin Mobile’s was 4G. Fido had not launched a matching $55/100GB plan at the time.

How the reported plans compared

The following terms are those reported on March 4, 2026; they are not a live price check. Where the report did not specify a term, it is identified as not stated rather than inferred.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Samsung Galaxy A16 5G 128GB Cell Phone, Unlocked Android Smartphone, Large AMOLED Display, Durable Design, Super Fast Charging, Expandable Storage, US Version, 2025, Blue Black (Renewed)
  • Charger NOT Included, 6.7" Super AMOLED FHD+, 90Hz Refresh Rate, 385 ppi, 800 nits (HBM), 1080x2340px, 5000mAh Battery
  • 128GB, 4GB RAM, microSDXC, Exynos 1330 (5nm), Octa-Core, Mali-G68 MP2 or Mali-G57 MC2 GPU
  • Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 (wide) + 5MP, f/2.2 (ultrawide) + 2MP, f/2.4 (macro), LED flash, panorama, HDR; Front Camera: 13MP, f/2.0, Android 14, up to 6 major Android upgrades, One UI 6.1
  • 3G: HSDPA 850/900/1700(AWS)/1900/2100; 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/12/13/14/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/39/40/41/48/66/71, 5G: 2/5/25/41/66/71/77/78 SA/NSA/Sub6/mmWave - Nano-SIM + eSIM
  • US Model – Global Connectivity – Compatible with Most GSM Carriers like T-Mobile, AT&T, MetroPCS, etc. Will Also work with CDMA Carriers Such as Verizon, Straight Talk.
Carrier or offer Reported monthly price and data Speed or promotion detail Other reported terms
Virgin Mobile $35 for 20GB; $40 for 60GB; $55 for 100GB 4G on the $35 and $55 offers; the report did not specify a speed tier for the 60GB offer. International calling to 27 countries was added on most plans, except Basic. The report did not state whether the $35 offer was limited-time.
Koodo $35 for 20GB; $55 for 100GB 5G on the reported $35 and $55 plans. The report did not state whether the $35 offer was limited-time. It said Koodo did not then have an international-calling add-on similar to Virgin’s promotion.
Fido $35 basic plan with a similar data adjustment to 20GB The report described the offer as limited-time; it did not specify a speed tier. Fido had not launched a matching $55/100GB plan at the time. MobileSyrup said Fido had added an international-calling promotion on February 28, 2026.
Public Mobile $35 for 40GB Not stated in the March 4 report for this offer. MobileSyrup described this as more data than the $35/20GB offers. Availability and other terms were not established in the report.
Freedom Mobile $35 for 10GB Not stated in the March 4 report for this offer. The report said it included North American roaming and Roam Beyond in more than 120 destinations.

All plan terms and comparisons in this table are attributed to MobileSyrup’s March 4, 2026 report. The report did not establish province-by-province availability, activation eligibility, or whether the offers remain in force.

Which $35 plan may fit your needs?

Choose by speed needs, not just the data number

Among the three reported $35 offers, Koodo was the one described as 5G; Virgin Mobile was described as 4G, and the report did not specify Fido’s speed tier. The report does not provide coverage or performance measurements, so the speed label alone cannot tell you how service will perform where you use your phone.

Rank #2
Sale
Samsung Galaxy A17 5G Smart Phone 128GB US 1 Yr Manufacturer Warranty Black
  • YOUR CONTENT, SUPER SMOOTH: The ultra-clear 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display of Galaxy A17 5G helps bring your content to life, whether you're scrolling through recipes or video chatting with loved ones.¹
  • LIVE FAST. CHARGE FASTER: Focus more on the moment and less on your battery percentage with Galaxy A17 5G. Super Fast Charging powers up your battery so you can get back to life sooner.²
  • MEMORIES MADE PICTURE PERFECT: Capture every angle in stunning clarity, from wide family photos to close-ups of friends, with the triple-lens camera on Galaxy A17 5G.
  • NEED MORE STORAGE? WE HAVE YOU COVERED: With an improved 2TB of expandable storage, Galaxy A17 5G makes it easy to keep cherished photos, videos and important files readily accessible whenever you need them.³
  • BUILT TO LAST: With an improved IP54 rating, Galaxy A17 5G is even more durable than before.⁴ It’s built to resist splashes and dust and comes with a stronger yet slimmer Gorilla Glass Victus front and Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer back.

Consider how much data you actually need

At the same reported monthly price, Public Mobile’s 40GB offer had twice the data of the 20GB offers, according to MobileSyrup. That is a larger allowance on paper, but the article does not establish whether the Public Mobile deal was available to you or spell out its full terms. Freedom Mobile’s reported $35 offer had 10GB, but included roaming features that may matter more to someone who travels than a larger domestic data allowance.

Value international calling and roaming separately

Virgin Mobile’s international calling to 27 countries applied to most plans, not Basic, according to the report. MobileSyrup said Fido had a similar promotion beginning February 28, 2026; it did not say that Koodo offered a comparable add-on at that time. The report also said a Canada-US-Mexico data, talk and text option cost nearly $10 more per month. It did not identify that option’s exact price or map every roaming inclusion to each plan, so confirm the specific countries and services before relying on them.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Samsung Galaxy A17 5G Smart Phone 128GB, US 1 Yr Manufacturer Warranty Blue
  • YOUR CONTENT, SUPER SMOOTH: The ultra-clear 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display of Galaxy A17 5G helps bring your content to life, whether you're scrolling through recipes or video chatting with loved ones.¹
  • LIVE FAST. CHARGE FASTER: Focus more on the moment and less on your battery percentage with Galaxy A17 5G. Super Fast Charging powers up your battery so you can get back to life sooner.²
  • MEMORIES MADE PICTURE PERFECT: Capture every angle in stunning clarity, from wide family photos to close-ups of friends, with the triple-lens camera on Galaxy A17 5G.
  • NEED MORE STORAGE? WE HAVE YOU COVERED: With an improved 2TB of expandable storage, Galaxy A17 5G makes it easy to keep cherished photos, videos and important files readily accessible whenever you need them.³
  • BUILT TO LAST: With an improved IP54 rating, Galaxy A17 5G is even more durable than before.⁴ It’s built to resist splashes and dust and comes with a stronger yet slimmer Gorilla Glass Victus front and Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer back.

Check the real cost and terms before switching

A $35 headline price does not establish your total bill or confirm that you qualify. Before choosing a plan, check the carrier’s current offer and your checkout details for:

  • Availability where you live: The report did not establish provincial or regional availability. Confirm the offer for your location.
  • Promotion period: Fido’s reported offer was limited-time. For Virgin Mobile and Koodo, the report did not state whether their $35 prices were temporary.
  • Eligibility and activation conditions: The report did not establish who could activate each offer or whether any conditions applied.
  • Data and speed terms: Confirm the allowance, speed tier and what happens after you use the included data; these details were not all specified in the report.
  • Calling and roaming: Check which countries are included, whether the benefit applies to your plan, and whether it covers data as well as calls or texts.
  • Full monthly cost: Compare the amount shown at checkout, not only the advertised plan price. The report does not provide a complete breakdown of taxes, fees or other charges.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What BYOP means for your budget

These were reported as bring-your-own-phone offers. In practical terms, you need a suitable phone you already own or must acquire one separately; the report does not include a handset in the plan price. If you need to buy a phone, include that cost in your comparison rather than treating the monthly plan price as the whole cost of switching.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 4
Samsung Galaxy A15 5G, 128GB, Blue Black - Unlocked (International Version) (Renewed)
Samsung Galaxy A15 5G, 128GB, Blue Black - Unlocked (International Version) (Renewed)
6.5 Super AMOLED, 1080x2340 (FHD+), 90Hz Refresh Rate, Android 14, One UI 6, Bluetooth 5.3
$119.99
Bestseller No. 5
Moto G 5G | 2024 | Unlocked | Made for US 4/128GB | 50MP Camera | Sage Green
Moto G 5G | 2024 | Unlocked | Made for US 4/128GB | 50MP Camera | Sage Green
The 50MP sensor combines 4 pixels into 1, for an effective photo resolution of 12.5MP.
$177.28
Best Value
Moto G 5G | 2024 | Unlocked | Made for US 4/128GB | 50MP Camera | Sage Green
  • Immersive 120Hz display* and Dolby Atmos: Watch movies and play games on a fast, fluid 6.6" display backed by multidimensional stereo sound.
  • 50MP Quad Pixel camera system**: Capture sharper photos day or night with 4x the light sensitivity—and explore up close using the Macro Vision lens.
  • Superfast 5G performance***: Unleash your entertainment at 5G speed with the Snapdragon 4 Gen 1 octa-core processor.
  • Massive battery and speedy charging: Work and play nonstop with a long-lasting 5000mAh battery, then fuel up fast with TurboPower.****
  • Premium design within reach: Stand out with a stunning look and comfortable feel, including a vegan leather back cover that’s soft to the touch and fingerprint resistant.
Rank #4
Samsung Galaxy A15 5G, 128GB, Blue Black - Unlocked (International Version) (Renewed)
  • 6.5 Super AMOLED, 1080x2340 (FHD+), 90Hz Refresh Rate, Android 14, One UI 6, Bluetooth 5.3
  • 128GB, 4GB RAM, Expandable MicroSD, Mediatek Dimensity 6100+ (6 nm), Octa-core, Mali-G57 MC2 GPU, Fingerprint (side-mounted)
  • Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 + 5MP, f/2.2 + 2MP, f/2.4, Front Camera: 13MP, f/2.0, 5000mAh Battery
  • 2G: 850/900/1800/1900, 3G: 850/900/1700/2100/1900/2100, 4G: LTE 1/2/3/4/5/7/12/13/14/20/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/39/40/41/48/66/71, 5G: 2/5/41/66/77/78 - Single SIM - Single SIM
  • No Warranty. Compatible with Most GSM Carriers like T-Mobile, AT&T, MetroPCS, etc. Will Also work with CDMA Carriers Such as Verizon, Sprint.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.