October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

UPI vs. Card Payments for Small Businesses in India: Costs, Settlement and Setup

Compare UPI QR, card POS and gateways by merchant fees, payout timing, setup requirements and the UPI MDR schedule announced for 15 October 2026.
From TheFinanceBase Team11 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a small business in India, UPI QR is often the simpler counter option, while cards and a payment gateway can extend payment choice to customers who need them. The cheaper option depends on the transaction date, category, provider fee and settlement terms—not just whether UPI has zero MDR. As of 13 October 2026, the government’s newly announced UPI MDR schedule is due to begin on 15 October; it is not yet effective. Compare the full amount deducted and the time funds reach your bank before choosing.

UPI or card: what should a small business choose?

There is no universal winner. A QR-first shop with many small walk-in purchases may value UPI’s straightforward counter setup. A business serving customers who rely on cards, taking larger baskets or selling online may need card acceptance as well. A payment gateway can offer UPI and cards in one checkout, but its own fees and payout schedule still matter.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Make the choice by comparing the same things for each option: the total merchant deduction for your transaction types and ticket sizes, when net funds reach your bank, setup and hardware work, payment-method coverage, dispute and refund handling, and the quality of reconciliation. A UPI payment being authorized in real time does not, by itself, tell you when a gateway will pay the proceeds into your bank account.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How much does it cost a small business to accept UPI or card payments?

Compare the merchant’s full cost, not just the network or payment method’s MDR. Depending on the arrangement, the deduction can include MDR, a gateway or platform fee, applicable tax, terminal costs, settlement upgrades, and deductions associated with refunds or disputes. Ask for a written breakdown that applies to your transaction categories and expected ticket sizes.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Square Reader for contactless and chip (2nd Generation)
  • Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.
  • Accept contactless payments, chip cards, Apple Pay, and Google Pay from anywhere, with improved connectivity, extended battery life, and enhanced security. Pay one low rate for every tap or dip.
  • No long-term commitments or contracts, no monthly fees- and with offline payments, keep taking payments for up to 24 hours.
  • Safely and securely accepts payments anywhere. Plus, get data security, 24/7 fraud prevention, and payment-dispute management at no extra cost.
  • Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.

UPI MDR announced for 15 October 2026

The Ministry of Finance’s 15 September 2026 release says person-to-person transfers remain free and merchant UPI payments up to ₹2,000 remain free of MDR. It also says merchants receiving up to ₹1 lakh per month through QR under the P2PM category continue with zero MDR. These are category-specific statements; confirm with your acquiring bank or provider how it classifies your business and whether you qualify.

For standard person-to-merchant transactions above ₹2,000, the announced schedule sets MDR at 0.4%. For transactions of ₹75,000 or more, MDR is capped at ₹300. The release specifies a flat ₹5 MDR for transactions above ₹2,000 in certain essential and thin-margin sectors, including railways, telecommunications, insurance, fuel and agricultural inputs. Covered capital-market payments have a 0.02% MDR capped at ₹300. These rates should not be applied to a transaction without first checking whether its category and merchant eligibility fit the stated rules.

The Ministry estimated that about 96% of merchant transactions would remain unaffected and about 4% would attract MDR. That is an estimate for the announced framework, not a promise about an individual shop’s transaction mix. Google Pay for Business help search-result text gives 15 October 2026 as the start date for MDR plus GST on merchant UPI payments above ₹2,000 under NPCI guidelines. The schedule is therefore forthcoming on 13 October, rather than an amount that should already appear on a merchant’s settlement statement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Square Reader for magstripe (USB-C)
  • Get your money as soon as the next business day.
  • Get set up quickly with no long-term commitments. Download the Square Point of Sale app for free, create an account, and start taking payments anywhere.
  • Run your business all in one place with the free Square Point of Sale app. Track your sales, manage inventory, accept tips, send receipts digitally, and more.
  • Works with Apple devices with a Lightning connector.

The Ministry says MDR is a charge within the merchant payment ecosystem, not a charge on customers making UPI payments, and says banks should ensure merchants do not pass it on to customers. Merchants should therefore plan for the merchant-side deduction rather than treating it as a customer surcharge.

Zero MDR does not always mean zero provider cost

A provider can charge separately for a platform or gateway service even when MDR for a payment category is zero. For example, Cashfree’s public page lists 1.95% per transaction for UPI and other domestic payment modes, with no setup or maintenance fee stated on that page. Its terms say fees are exclusive of applicable taxes. This is one provider’s published offer, not a market-wide price or recommendation; current offers, negotiated rates and contract terms can differ.

Read the provider’s current pricing page, your signed agreement and a sample settlement statement together. Check whether the quoted percentage is applied to the transaction amount, whether tax is added, and which other deductions are taken before payout. A headline rate alone does not establish the final amount your business receives.

Rank #3
Square Terminal - Credit Card Machine to Accept All Payments | Mobile POS
  • With Square Terminal, you can ring up sales, accept payments, and print receipts, all with one device. Use it at the counter or ring up customers anywhere in your store.
  • Accept all major credit and debit cards and pay one low rate with no hidden fees and no long-term contracts.
  • Process chip cards in just two seconds.
  • Get your money as soon as the next business day.
  • Use it cordlessly with the built-in battery, designed to last all day.

Card costs need a category-specific quote

Do not use one historical debit-card ceiling or a single gateway headline rate as the price for every card. The Reserve Bank of India directed acquiring banks to unbundle merchant discount charges and educate merchants about fees across debit, credit and prepaid card categories. Ask the acquiring bank or provider to quote the categories and network arrangements you will accept, then check whether the quote also includes a gateway fee or a point-of-sale terminal charge.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Cost item UPI QR or gateway Card POS or gateway What to verify
Network/acquiring MDR For merchant UPI, the announced framework distinguishes transaction amount and category; rates described above are due to start 15 October 2026. Not stated as one universal rate; RBI calls for unbundled debit, credit and prepaid MDR disclosures. Get the applicable category, eligibility, effective date and rate in writing.
Provider or platform fee Cashfree publicly lists 1.95% per transaction for UPI and other domestic modes; this is that provider’s published offer, not a market rate. Not stated as a universal rate; ask the provider to itemize it separately from card MDR. Confirm fee base, taxes, contract terms and any negotiated or promotional pricing.
Setup, maintenance or hardware Cashfree’s cited public page says there are no setup or maintenance fees; other providers’ charges are not established here. Terminal rental or purchase cost depends on the acquiring arrangement; no universal amount is established. Request all one-time and recurring charges, including device support and replacement terms.
Faster settlement Provider-specific; Cashfree and Razorpay describe optional faster settlement, subject to terms. Provider-specific; the available sources do not establish a universal card payout price. Ask whether accelerated payout costs extra and whether eligibility or limits apply.

Historical incentives should not be mistaken for current pricing. A PIB release dated 24 March 2025 described an estimated ₹1,500 crore government outlay for a scheme incentivizing low-value BHIM-UPI P2M payments up to ₹2,000 from 1 April 2024 through 31 March 2025. That was a time-bound historical scheme, not evidence of an ongoing merchant rebate.

When will you receive money from a UPI or card payment?

There are two separate events: the customer’s payment is authorized or completed, and the provider later settles collected funds into the merchant’s designated bank account. UPI is designed for real-time payment, but that does not guarantee that a gateway will transfer the money to the merchant’s bank in real time. Provider terms govern the payout.

Rank #4
Square Reader for magstripe (with Lightning connector)
  • Pay one transparent rate per swipe for Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express.
  • Works in conjunction with most downloadable Square point-of-sale apps on your device. Customers can pay, tip and sign directly on your device. Track payments in cash, gift cards and more. Also lets you send receipts via e-mail or text message, makes it easy to apply discounts, keeps a data and sales history log and more.
  • Accepts magstripe credit card payments, including those from Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express (fees apply).
  • App sends deposits to your bank account within 1 to 2 business days, or enjoy instant deposits (fees apply).

What the documented payout examples say

Provider example Published settlement information Important condition
Cashfree Default settlement is T+2, where T is the transaction date. Instant settlement can make funds accessible within 15 minutes of capture. Instant access is subject to bank approval and risk or business factors; the provider says it can apply on bank holidays.
Razorpay Domestic default settlement is T+2. Its instant settlement option can reduce the period to a few minutes. Captured payments go to the bank account supplied for KYC. Bank holidays push settlement to the next working day; instant settlement requires activation or a request.
Other providers and direct merchant arrangements Not stated as a universal timing. Use the provider’s merchant agreement and confirm the applicable payout schedule.

NPCI’s indexed FAQ answer says a merchant receives money immediately after customer confirmation into the merchant pool or bank account as set out in the agreement. Because that FAQ page’s content was not directly accessible in the reviewed material, treat the statement cautiously and rely on your own acquiring or gateway agreement for the actual payout timing.

Questions to ask before relying on a settlement promise

  • Does “T” mean authorization, capture or the provider’s receipt of the transaction?
  • What is the daily cutoff, and do weekends or bank holidays count toward the cycle?
  • Is the stated timing for every payment method or only for captured and eligible payments?
  • Does instant settlement cost extra, require activation or depend on risk review or bank approval?
  • Which fees, taxes, refunds, disputes or reserves are netted before the payout reaches your account?

What do you need to set up UPI QR or card payments?

Choose the setup that matches where customers pay. A QR display is a different undertaking from adding a gateway to a website or obtaining a card terminal. In every case, the provider’s onboarding and KYC requirements apply; incomplete submissions can delay or hold onboarding.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Set up a UPI QR at a counter

  1. Choose an acquiring bank or payment provider. Ask for its merchant QR, onboarding steps, fee schedule and settlement terms. Keep business identity and bank-account ownership information ready, and confirm any tax or other documentation it requires.
  2. Choose the QR format. A static QR lets the customer enter the amount. A dynamic QR can carry a preset amount, which is useful when the sale amount is known at checkout. Cashfree describes both formats.
  3. Display the QR where customers can scan it. A printed QR or stand is presentation hardware only; it is not itself a merchant account or proof that a payment succeeded.
  4. Verify each payment through the merchant’s approved confirmation channel. Reconcile confirmations against the merchant app or bank statement. Do not treat a customer’s screen or a displayed QR as confirmation that funds were received.
  5. Check the payout and fee records. Compare transaction records with settlements so you can identify deductions and any mismatch between customer payment confirmation and bank payout.

Add UPI and cards to an online checkout

  1. Select a gateway and complete merchant onboarding. Prepare business identity, account ownership and, where relevant, website or product details and tax information. Confirm the exact document list with the provider.
  2. Ask which methods are enabled and how they are priced. A gateway may expose UPI and cards in one checkout. Cashfree says UPI is built in for its existing gateway customers without separate activation, but that does not remove onboarding or KYC requirements.
  3. Review payout terms before launch. Establish the default cycle, cutoff, holiday handling, instant-settlement conditions and any applicable fees.
  4. Plan reconciliation and exception handling. Confirm what reports are available and how the provider records failed, refunded or disputed transactions before depending on the gateway for accounting.

Arrange card-present acceptance

  1. Obtain a card-acquiring arrangement from a bank or provider and ask which card brands and debit, credit and prepaid categories it supports.
  2. Confirm terminal terms, including rental or purchase cost, connectivity, support, replacement and any recurring charges. The available sources do not establish a universal terminal model or price.
  3. Request the itemized MDR schedule for the card categories and network arrangements relevant to your customers; do not assume all card transactions receive the same rate.
  4. Check settlement and reconciliation for card transactions as well as UPI, including payout timing, deductions, refund handling and the reports your bookkeeping process needs.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to compare the options for your business

Use the same expected sales mix when asking providers for quotes. A rate that appears low for one ticket size or transaction category may not produce the lowest total cost for a different mix. Compare both walk-in and remote sales if you accept payments in more than one setting.

Best Value
SumUp Solo Credit Card Payment Card Reader with Charging Station. Full Touch-Screen Interface with Free SIM Card and Mobile Data (SumUp Solo)
  • An intuitive interface to easily accept payments and manage your sales.
  • Strong, reliable Wi-Fi connection. Free SIM card and mobile data so you can process payments anywhere.
  • Great battery capability with an additional charging station.
  • A truly portable device. Stay in control of your business, wherever you go.
  • Support when you need it. Get in touch with our US-based support through phone, email and chat.
Decision factor UPI QR Card POS Online payment gateway
Best fit to evaluate Counter sales where a displayed QR suits the checkout flow. In-person sales where customers need card acceptance. Website or integrated checkout that needs remote payment methods.
Setup work Obtain and display a merchant QR; choose static or dynamic format. Acquire an arrangement and suitable terminal; confirm supported categories. Complete onboarding and integrate or enable the checkout methods.
Cost comparison Check transaction amount/category MDR from 15 October 2026 and any separate provider charge. Obtain unbundled debit, credit and prepaid pricing plus terminal and provider costs. Itemize method-specific MDR, gateway/platform fees, applicable taxes and payout upgrades.
Settlement Do not equate customer confirmation with gateway bank payout; check merchant terms. Settlement timing is acquiring-provider specific; obtain it in writing. Provider examples include default T+2 and optional faster settlement, with differing conditions.
Operational checks Confirmations, failed payments and matching QR receipts to bank records. Terminal support, card-category coverage, refunds, disputes and reconciliation. Method coverage, integration, refunds, disputes, payout deductions and reporting.

A practical quote checklist

  • Ask for a sample calculation on representative ticket amounts and transaction categories, including the announced UPI effective date and eligibility treatment.
  • Separate network/acquiring MDR from gateway or platform fees, taxes, terminal costs and other recurring charges.
  • Ask whether the quoted rate changes by card type, transaction category, channel or monthly volume.
  • Get the standard payout cycle, cutoff, bank-holiday rule and optional instant-settlement price in writing.
  • Confirm how refunds, failed payments, chargebacks or disputes appear in settlement and reporting.
  • Check which support channel handles payment failures and settlement mismatches, and what records are available for reconciliation.

What can go wrong, and how should you respond?

A payment appears complete, but the bank payout has not arrived

First distinguish payment confirmation from settlement. Check the transaction’s capture status, the provider’s stated cycle and cutoff, and whether a weekend or bank holiday affects the payout. Then compare the expected net amount with the settlement report, accounting for fees, tax and other listed deductions. If the payment is absent beyond the contractual schedule, contact the provider with its transaction reference and the payout record.

The amount received is lower than expected

Do not assume a zero-MDR category means there can be no other deduction. Compare the transaction category and amount with the applicable MDR schedule, then inspect the provider’s separate fee and tax terms. For cards, check the actual debit, credit or prepaid classification and the unbundled quote rather than applying a remembered historical cap to all transactions.

Onboarding or QR/gateway activation is delayed

Check whether the provider has received all requested business, bank ownership, website or product and tax details, as applicable. Requirements vary by provider and business, so ask for its exact outstanding items rather than relying on a generic document list. For an existing Cashfree gateway customer, the provider says UPI is built in without separate activation; this does not mean merchant onboarding or KYC can be skipped.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A customer says they paid, but the merchant cannot verify it

Use the provider’s merchant app or other official confirmation and reconcile against the bank record. A static or dynamic QR is only the means to initiate payment, and a payment display stand is not proof of transfer. Follow the provider’s process for unresolved or failed transactions before marking the sale paid.

What should small businesses take from the recent UPI policy change?

The key operational point is to date every UPI cost assumption. The Ministry of Finance’s 15 September 2026 release sets out a forthcoming schedule, and Google Pay for Business help text identifies 15 October as the start date for MDR plus GST on qualifying merchant payments above ₹2,000. For a business deciding on 13 October, model upcoming costs rather than treating the schedule as already charged. If reviewing a later statement, confirm that the transaction date, category and merchant eligibility match the rules in force for that period.

For cards, the relevant discipline is different: obtain a current itemized acquiring offer rather than extrapolating from an older debit-card ceiling. For both payment types, make the final comparison on net settlement and operational fit—not just the customer-facing payment action.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
Square Reader for contactless and chip (2nd Generation)
Square Reader for contactless and chip (2nd Generation)
Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.; Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.
$47.20
Bestseller No. 2
Square Reader for magstripe (USB-C)
Square Reader for magstripe (USB-C)
Get your money as soon as the next business day.; Works with Apple devices with a Lightning connector.
$9.88
Bestseller No. 3
Square Terminal - Credit Card Machine to Accept All Payments | Mobile POS
Square Terminal - Credit Card Machine to Accept All Payments | Mobile POS
Process chip cards in just two seconds.; Get your money as soon as the next business day.; Use it cordlessly with the built-in battery, designed to last all day.
$298.99
Bestseller No. 4
Square Reader for magstripe (with Lightning connector)
Square Reader for magstripe (with Lightning connector)
Pay one transparent rate per swipe for Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express.
$9.88
Bestseller No. 5
SumUp Solo Credit Card Payment Card Reader with Charging Station. Full Touch-Screen Interface with Free SIM Card and Mobile Data (SumUp Solo)
SumUp Solo Credit Card Payment Card Reader with Charging Station. Full Touch-Screen Interface with Free SIM Card and Mobile Data (SumUp Solo)
An intuitive interface to easily accept payments and manage your sales.; Great battery capability with an additional charging station.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.