What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Most UPI users will not pay an extra fee. From 15 October 2026, Taxmann reports that a 0.4% merchant discount rate (MDR) applies to specified person-to-merchant (P2M) payments above ₹2,000. The Ministry of Finance says MDR is a merchant-side charge, not a fee on customers; person-to-person transfers remain free. The Ministry’s release confirms the framework but does not state the 15 October start date, so that date is attributed here to Taxmann.
Will UPI payments above ₹2,000 be charged?
Some merchant payments above ₹2,000 fall under MDR; the threshold does not mean every UPI payment above that amount attracts a customer fee. The Ministry of Finance’s 15 September 2026 release describes the rates and categories. Taxmann reported that the revised MDR starts on 15 October 2026. The Ministry release confirms a 14 September government notification and a 15 September NPCI circular, but the release text does not specify the 15 October date.
MDR is a fee within the merchant payment ecosystem. The Ministry says it is distributed among payment-system participants, including banks and payment application providers, rather than collected by the government or NPCI. The announced framework was introduced under the Payment and Settlement Systems Act, 2007, following UPI Steering Committee deliberations.
Which UPI transactions have MDR?
| Transaction or merchant category | Announced MDR treatment |
|---|---|
| Person-to-person (P2P), any amount | Free under the framework; no transaction, platform, or other charge may be imposed on individuals for sending or receiving money through UPI. |
| P2M payment up to ₹2,000 | Zero MDR. |
| Qualifying small merchant | Zero MDR on all transactions for merchants receiving up to ₹1 lakh per month through UPI QR codes under the stated P2PM small-merchant category. |
| Specified P2M payment above ₹2,000 | 0.4% MDR, capped at ₹300 for transactions of ₹75,000 and above. |
| Specified essential or thin-margin sector above ₹2,000 | Flat ₹5 MDR. The Ministry lists railways, telecommunications, insurance, fuel, and agricultural inputs. |
| Specified capital-market payment | 0.02% MDR, capped at ₹300. The Ministry lists mutual funds, securities, stockbrokers, and dealers. |
The category and eligibility rules matter alongside the amount. A payment to a qualifying small merchant can remain zero-MDR even above ₹2,000; a payment in a listed special sector may use its specific rate rather than the standard 0.4% rate. The Ministry release describes these rates as applying to specified transactions and categories.
#1 Best Overall
- Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.
- Accept contactless payments, chip cards, Apple Pay, and Google Pay from anywhere, with improved connectivity, extended battery life, and enhanced security. Pay one low rate for every tap or dip.
- No long-term commitments or contracts, no monthly fees- and with offline payments, keep taking payments for up to 24 hours.
- Safely and securely accepts payments anywhere. Plus, get data security, 24/7 fraud prevention, and payment-dispute management at no extra cost.
- Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.
Will I have to pay extra for UPI?
The Ministry says no: MDR is not a UPI customer charge, and banks were advised to ensure merchants do not pass the cost to customers. UPI application providers are prohibited from imposing platform or hidden fees under the announced policy. These are stated safeguards; they do not establish that every merchant’s actual conduct has been independently observed.
The government estimates that approximately 96% of merchant transactions will remain unaffected. That is the Ministry of Finance’s estimate published on 15 September 2026, not a measured post-implementation result.
Rank #2
- Pay one transparent rate per swipe for Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express.
- Works in conjunction with most downloadable Square point-of-sale apps on your device. Customers can pay, tip and sign directly on your device. Track payments in cash, gift cards and more. Also lets you send receipts via e-mail or text message, makes it easy to apply discounts, keeps a data and sales history log and more.
- Accepts magstripe credit card payments, including those from Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express (fees apply).
- App sends deposits to your bank account within 1 to 2 business days, or enjoy instant deposits (fees apply).
Does MDR apply to person-to-person transfers?
No. The Ministry says all P2P UPI transactions remain free regardless of the amount transferred. The MDR framework concerns specified merchant transactions, not transfers between individuals.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Are UPI payment limits the same as the ₹2,000 threshold?
No. The ₹2,000 figure is part of the MDR rules for specified merchant payments; it is not a daily UPI transfer limit. The Ministry says daily transaction limits generally range from ₹1 lakh to ₹5 lakh depending on category. Those limits are security and risk-management safeguards and are separate from MDR eligibility.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- An intuitive interface to easily accept payments and manage your sales.
- Strong, reliable Wi-Fi connection. Free SIM card and mobile data so you can process payments anywhere.
- Great battery capability with an additional charging station.
- A truly portable device. Stay in control of your business, wherever you go.
- Support when you need it. Get in touch with our US-based support through phone, email and chat.
Rank #4
- Fully Compliant - Complies With All Major Industry Standards, Including Iso/Iec 7816, Usb Ccid, Pc/Sc, And Microsoft Whql. As Well As, Emv 2011 Ver 4.3 Level 1 And Gsa Fips 201.
- Seamless Integration - With Identiv-Specific Smartos You’Ll Get Easy, Complete Support Of All Major Contact Smart Card Ics And Technologies In One Simple Reader.
- Universal Compatibility - Works With Virtually All Contact Chip Cards And Pc Operating Systems, Including Windows, Macos, Linux And Android.
- Fast And Convenient- Shorten Your Transaction Time With A Reader That’S Optimized For Speed. It’S Ultra-Compact And Robust Design Is Streamlined For Mobile Operation, Making This Reader The Best Choice For Convenience, Security And Reliability.
- Ergonomic and cost efficient design
Rank #3
- Accept all major credit and debit cards and pay one low rate
- No hidden fees and no long-term contracts
- Mobile card reader that accepts payments anywhere & anytime
- Use the free SumUp App on your smartphone or tablet to start accepting transactions
- Simply pay 2.6% +10 per in-person transaction
Sources and effective-date qualification
- Ministry of Finance via Press Information Bureau, “UPI Continues to Remain Free for Peer to Peer Transactions and 96% of Merchant Transactions,” 15 September 2026: rates, transaction categories, customer safeguards, government estimate, and notification/circular chronology.
- Taxmann Advisory and Research Team, “UPI-Merchant Discount Rate (MDR): Who gets paid and who pays the tax?”, 3 October 2026: reports 15 October 2026 as the start date.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




