Ubisoft has announced that it intends to bring all teams back to the office five days a week, with an annual allowance of work-from-home days. The announcement, dated January 21, 2026, is a stated plan rather than a completed change. It does not give a start date or the number of home-working days employees will receive, so the policy’s practical impact on any individual employee is not yet established.
The word “forcing” describes the direction of the policy accurately, but it goes further than the public record does. Ubisoft uses the language of intention (“intends to return all teams”), and no source in the available coverage describes enforcement steps, disciplinary consequences, or local exceptions.
What Ubisoft announced on January 21, 2026
In its January 2026 announcement, Ubisoft said it intended to return all teams to five days per week on site. The company paired that with an annual allowance of work-from-home days. It tied the change to the operation of its new model, saying the aim was to strengthen collaboration, knowledge sharing, and team dynamics. Those reasons are Ubisoft’s own explanation. The announcement does not provide independent evidence that the policy will produce those effects.
The company’s core justification reads: “In-person collaboration is a key enabler of collective efficiency, creativity and success in a persistently more selective AAA market.” This is a corporate statement from the company’s announcement. No named executive’s quotation about the decision was established in the available reporting.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Brand video game Ubisoft.
- Color: Multicolor
- Dimensions: 10.5 x 17 x 1.2 cm.
- Reference: S71010221.
- If what you want is quality at the best price do not keep looking!
What the announcement does not say
Three details that most employees will care about are missing from the public announcement:
- Effective date. The announcement does not say when five-day on-site attendance begins. Coverage that describes the change as already in force is going beyond the source.
- Allowance size. The announcement refers to an annual work-from-home allowance but does not state how many days it contains.
- Implementation rules. The announcement gives no mechanics for how the rule applies to roles, studios, or countries, or how exceptions are requested.
Because these points were unresolved at the time of the announcement, any figure for allowance days or start dates should be checked against a later official Ubisoft statement before it is repeated as fact.
Rank #2
- Wield the powers of the gods like Achilles' sword and Daidalos' wings to battle powerful enemies and solve ancient puzzles.
- Fight iconic mythological beasts like Cyclops and Medusa in dynamic combat in the air and on the ground.
- Use your skills and diverse weapons, including self-guided arrows, telekinesis, and more, for devastating damage.
- Discover a stylized open world across seven unique regions, each inspired by the gods.
How the policy has changed since 2021
The January 2026 plan is the latest step in a tightening sequence. Each stage is described below as the company stated it at the time.
| Statement | Source and date | Office requirement | Home-working provision | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hybrid as the future for most team members | Ubisoft company article, 2021 | Leaders decide which roles or people can be fully office-based or fully remote; managers define arrangements with teams, which could include shared office days | Varies by role and team; not set as a fixed number of days | Historical context, not the current policy |
| Move toward three office days per week | Ubisoft Universal Registration Document covering fiscal year 2024–25 (published 2025) | Three days per week in the office | Not stated in the reported summary | Stated as an intention announced during fiscal year 2024–25; the report said employees would receive tailored support and time before new rules took effect |
| Five days per week on site for all teams | Ubisoft announcement, January 21, 2026 | Five days per week on site for all teams | Annual allowance of work-from-home days; number not stated | Intention only; effective date not stated |
The 2024–25 report’s wording matters because it shows that the three-day model was a stated direction, not a permanent endpoint. The January 2026 announcement then moved the requirement to five days. Readers should treat these as company statements of direction at specific dates, not as evidence about how the policy was applied in practice.
Rank #3
- Designed to bring together families, friends, and neighbors, MONOPOLY is perfect for game nights! Play with up to six players in your living room or online from around the world.
- Feel the essence of tabletop gaming in every move as you buy, sell, trade, and scheme your way to riches. You can now manipulate your token, moving it around and making jumps.
- With next-gen quality and a detailed 3D city, MONOPOLY brings the classic franchise to a new level. Move around the board to explore the city and its different neighborhoods, or spy on your opponents before your next move.
- Not enough time for a full game? Twist the game with house rules or choose a new objective from five special goals! Speed Die mode is also available, allowing you to progress faster around the board.
- Internet connection, Ubisoft Account, PlayStationNetwork account, and PlayStationPlus subscription (sold separately) required to access online multiplayer/features.
Why the change matters for employees
For staff, the key comparison is how many days must be spent on site and how many home-working days remain available. Under the three-day direction described in the 2025 report, a hybrid arrangement with two non-office days was the stated model. Under the January 2026 plan, the on-site requirement is five days, and the only home-working option described is the annual allowance, whose size has not been published.
Two things are not established by the available sources. First, whether the same rules will apply across all Ubisoft locations, since the company has operations in several countries and local employment rules can differ. Second, whether any local arrangements, negotiated terms, or individual exceptions will be permitted. The company has not said, and the available material does not establish either point. Any statement that the policy applies identically everywhere should be treated as unverified.
Rank #4
- Cast, hook, and rebels! choose your tackle and hone your skills in three different modes in this arcade-style fishing game
- Challenge yourself with Career mode, featuring 80 missions to take you from Casual angler to legendary fisher
- Perfect your techniques to unlock 10 different venues with varied fish in four seasons and different weather conditions
- Play with up to four friends or family and challenge them into catching different types of fish
- Nintendo Switch system: use motion controls with the Joy-Con Controllers to cast (classic controls also available)
What the policy does not establish
The public record shows the plan and the company’s reasons. It does not establish the policy’s effects. There is no independent evidence in the available material about employee retention, productivity, or creative output under the five-day model. Claims in either direction, whether that the policy is helping or damaging the studio, go beyond what the announcement supports.
Reporting to read with care
PC Gamer’s January 21 report covered the announcement at the time and quoted Ubisoft’s stated rationale. Its discussion of employee disruption and its characterization of the wider industry context are the publication’s own reporting and commentary, not statements from Ubisoft. Readers should separate those two kinds of material when judging the story.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Includes Buddy Pass: Invite 2 friends to play with you for FREE for 14 days.
- Play alone or with friends from any platform in this 1- to 3-player co-op PvE FPS.
- 69 guns, 25 gadgets, 18 operators with progression levels, 12 large dynamic maps, 13 mutating enemies, and free post-launch content.
- Test your skills with 4 adjustable difficulty levels and a thrilling Endgame ranked mode.
- Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege Players: Get 4 EXCLUSIVE Epic gearsets across both games and instantly unlock all 18 Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Extraction operators in Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Siege.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




