Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallFor most households, BT Full Fibre 150 was the sensible package to look for in April 2026; Full Fibre 500 could be better value if it cost only a little more. Full Fibre 900 made sense mainly for unusually heavy use at a competitive price. But the available evidence does not establish a complete, verified April price list, so later BT prices should not be mistaken for April offers. Check the offer for your postcode and compare its full contract cost, scheduled rises and post-contract price before signing.
Which BT package was best for different households?
BT’s deals depend on the address, network availability, customer status and promotion shown at the time. Its broadband pages require a postcode check and say that availability, credit checks and 12- or 24-month contracts can apply. Treat the recommendations below as a guide to choosing a tier, not a claim that every package was available at every UK address.
| Household or need | BT tier to investigate | Why |
|---|---|---|
| One or two light users | Fibre 1, Fibre 2 or Full Fibre 100/150, if offered | A basic tier may be sufficient for browsing, calls and ordinary streaming. |
| Couple streaming and working from home | Full Fibre 150 | A practical default for several everyday activities at once. |
| Family with several simultaneous streams and downloads | Full Fibre 150–300 | Consider 300Mbps if household demand regularly overlaps and the price makes sense. |
| Large household, frequent large downloads or cloud backups | Full Fibre 500 | More headroom for simultaneous heavy use; especially attractive if the upgrade premium is small. |
| Very large household or unusually heavy users | Full Fibre 900 | Worth considering when several people routinely move large amounts of data and the price is close to the mid-tier offer. |
| Full fibre unavailable | Fibre 2, subject to the line estimate | It may be the practical BT option on a part-fibre line, but compare other networks at the address. |
These are practical recommendations, not BT guarantees or a promise of real-world speed. Download capacity is shared among devices. A higher tier will not by itself fix weak Wi-Fi, poor router placement, interference, an older device or a slow server. For remote work, cloud backups and sending large files, compare upload speeds too; a higher download tier is not automatically the answer.
What April 2026 prices can be verified?
The available BT deal-page information is from later in 2026, not an archived April snapshot. It therefore cannot establish the exact April price, upload speed, minimum guarantee, contract term or upfront charge for each package. BT promotions can vary by postcode and customer status, and the later page is not a substitute for an April offer confirmation.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →#1 Best Overall
- DUAL-BAND WIFI 6 ROUTER: Wi-Fi 6(802.11ax) technology achieves faster speeds, greater capacity and reduced network congestion compared to the previous gen. All WiFi routers require a separate modem. Dual-Band WiFi routers do not support the 6 GHz band.
- AX1800: Enjoy smoother and more stable streaming, gaming, downloading with 1.8 Gbps total bandwidth (up to 1200 Mbps on 5 GHz and up to 574 Mbps on 2.4 GHz). Performance varies by conditions, distance to devices, and obstacles such as walls.
- CONNECT MORE DEVICES: Wi-Fi 6 technology communicates more data to more devices simultaneously using revolutionary OFDMA technology
- EXTENSIVE COVERAGE: Achieve the strong, reliable WiFi coverage with Archer AX1800 as it focuses signal strength to your devices far away using Beamforming technology, 4 high-gain antennas and an advanced front-end module (FEM) chipset
- OUR CYBERSECURITY COMMITMENT: TP-Link is a signatory of the U.S. Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency’s (CISA) Secure-by-Design pledge. This device is designed, built, and maintained, with advanced security as a core requirement.
| Package | April 2026 price and terms | Later 2026 BT deal-page snapshot |
|---|---|---|
| Fibre 1 | Not stated in the available April evidence | £26.99/month; £0 upfront; 24-month contract |
| Fibre 2 | Not stated in the available April evidence | £27.99/month; £0 upfront; 24-month contract |
| Full Fibre 150 | Not stated in the available April evidence | Not stated in the cited later-page figures |
| Full Fibre 300 | Not stated in the available April evidence | £32.99/month; £0 upfront; 24-month contract |
| Full Fibre 500 | Not stated in the available April evidence | £30.99/month; £0 upfront; 24-month contract |
| Full Fibre 900 | Not stated in the available April evidence | £33.99/month; £0 upfront; 24-month contract |
The later figures are a dated comparison point, not April prices or a guarantee of what a customer would see. BT’s later page also shows that promotional pricing can make a higher speed tier cheaper than a lower one. Check the actual postcode-specific offer and order summary at BT’s deals page. BT’s main broadband page describes packages as subject to availability, credit checks and contract terms. A conflicting reported 900Mbps price in third-party discussion is another reason not to present one unverified number as the nationwide April rate.
How to compare the real contract cost
Do not compare only the initial monthly figure. For each offer, record the price in each period, any upfront fee, compulsory add-ons, guaranteed credits and the price after the minimum term. A reward card only reduces your cost if you qualify and redeem it.
Total minimum-term cost = (monthly price in period one × months at that price) + (monthly price after each scheduled rise × months at that price) + upfront fees + mandatory add-ons − guaranteed credits or rewards.
Rank #2
- Dual-band Wi-Fi with 5 GHz speeds up to 867 Mbps and 2.4 GHz speeds up to 300 Mbps, delivering 1200 Mbps of total bandwidth¹. Dual-band routers do not support 6 GHz. Performance varies by conditions, distance to devices, and obstacles such as walls.
- Covers up to 1,000 sq. ft. with four external antennas for stable wireless connections and optimal coverage.
- Supports IGMP Proxy/Snooping, Bridge and Tag VLAN to optimize IPTV streaming
- Access Point Mode - Supports AP Mode to transform your wired connection into wireless network, an ideal wireless router for home
- Advanced Security with WPA3 - The latest Wi-Fi security protocol, WPA3, brings new capabilities to improve cybersecurity in personal networks
Effective monthly cost = total minimum-term cost ÷ contract months.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Ask BT for the scheduled prices in pounds and pence, the dates they start, the minimum term and what happens when it ends. BT’s deal terms explain annual rises and potential higher out-of-contract pricing; its annual price-change information is at BT Tell Me More. The later deals page lists examples such as Full Fibre 300 at £32.99 initially, then £36.99 from 31 March 2027 and £40.99 from 31 March 2028; Full Fibre 500 at £30.99, then £34.99 and £38.99 on those dates; and Full Fibre 900 at £33.99, then £37.99 and £41.99. These are later-page terms, not evidence of what an April 2026 customer was quoted; use the price schedule attached to the offer you are assessing.
Separate the minimum-term calculation from the out-of-contract price. BT’s terms say the price after 24 months can rise by up to £8 if a customer does not recontract. Confirm the specific package’s figure rather than applying that maximum to every deal. Standard price guides may show maximum or standard charges, while a public promotion or logged-in renewal offer shows a different price. BT’s price guide is useful for distinguishing those types of figure, not as proof of an April promotion.
Rank #3
- NIGHTHAWK WIFI 6 ROUTER FOR YOUR WHOLE HOME: Delivers fast, reliable WiFi across every room of your apartment or small home for streaming, gaming, video calls, and smart home devices, all running at the same time without slowing each other down.
- WORKS WITH YOUR EXISTING INTERNET SERVICE: Pairs with your existing modem or gateway via ethernet. Compatible with most cable, fiber, DSL, and satellite providers. Some gateways and modem router combos may require bridge mode. No coax needed.
- SET UP AND MANAGE YOUR NETWORK WITH THE NIGHTHAWK APP: Download the free Nighthawk app on iOS or Android for guided setup. Manage WiFi, run speed tests, pause devices, and set up guest networks from anywhere. Active internet required.
- READY FOR THE DEVICES YOU ALREADY OWN: Your phones, laptops, and TVs work right out of the box. WiFi 6 delivers speeds up to 1.8 Gbps across 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands. Backward compatible with WiFi 5 and earlier.
- COVERAGE IN EVERY ROOM: Covers up to 1,500 sq. ft. for up to 20 connected devices. Walls, floors, and interference can reduce range. Larger or multi-story homes may benefit from a NETGEAR Orbi mesh WiFi system.
Price rises: which rules apply?
Ofcom’s rules distinguish newer contracts from older ones. For contracts taken out since January 2025, in-contract increases must be set out clearly in pounds and pence rather than being expressed as an inflation-linked percentage formula. Older contracts can still contain inflation-linked rises. Check the contract generation and the exact terms, rather than assuming every BT customer gets the same increase. See Ofcom’s guidance on telecoms price-rise rights.
Ofcom says a provider generally must give at least 30 days’ notice and offer a penalty-free exit opportunity if a rise was not properly included in the original contract. The contract checklist at Ofcom’s broadband and phone contract guidance explains what to check before agreeing.
Full Fibre versus part fibre
Full Fibre (FTTP)
Full Fibre runs fibre to the premises. It generally supports higher speeds and stronger upload performance than a connection that relies on copper for its final section, although the package, equipment and local conditions still matter.
Rank #4
- 𝐅𝐮𝐭𝐮𝐫𝐞-𝐑𝐞𝐚𝐝𝐲 𝐖𝐢-𝐅𝐢 𝟕 - Designed with the latest Wi-Fi 7 technology, featuring Multi-Link Operation (MLO), Multi-RUs, and 4K-QAM. Achieve optimized performance on latest WiFi 7 laptops and devices, like the iPhone 16 Pro, and Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra.
- 𝟔-𝐒𝐭𝐫𝐞𝐚𝐦, 𝐃𝐮𝐚𝐥-𝐁𝐚𝐧𝐝 𝐖𝐢-𝐅𝐢 𝐰𝐢𝐭𝐡 𝟔.𝟓 𝐆𝐛𝐩𝐬 𝐓𝐨𝐭𝐚𝐥 𝐁𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐰𝐢𝐝𝐭𝐡 - Achieve full speeds of up to 5764 Mbps on the 5GHz band and 688 Mbps on the 2.4 GHz band with 6 streams. Enjoy seamless 4K/8K streaming, AR/VR gaming, and incredibly fast downloads/uploads.
- 𝐖𝐢𝐝𝐞 𝐂𝐨𝐯𝐞𝐫𝐚𝐠𝐞 𝐰𝐢𝐭𝐡 𝐒𝐭𝐫𝐨𝐧𝐠 𝐂𝐨𝐧𝐧𝐞𝐜𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧 - Get up to 2,400 sq. ft. max coverage for up to 90 devices at a time. 6x high performance antennas and Beamforming technology, ensures reliable connections for remote workers, gamers, students, and more.
- 𝐔𝐥𝐭𝐫𝐚-𝐅𝐚𝐬𝐭 𝟐.𝟓 𝐆𝐛𝐩𝐬 𝐖𝐢𝐫𝐞𝐝 𝐏𝐞𝐫𝐟𝐨𝐫𝐦𝐚𝐧𝐜𝐞 - 1x 2.5 Gbps WAN/LAN port, 1x 2.5 Gbps LAN port and 3x 1 Gbps LAN ports offer high-speed data transmissions.³ Integrate with a multi-gig modem for gigplus internet.
- 𝐎𝐮𝐫 𝐂𝐲𝐛𝐞𝐫𝐬𝐞𝐜𝐮𝐫𝐢𝐭𝐲 𝐂𝐨𝐦𝐦𝐢𝐭𝐦𝐞𝐧𝐭 - TP-Link is a signatory of the U.S. Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency’s (CISA) Secure-by-Design pledge. This device is designed, built, and maintained, with advanced security as a core requirement.
Part Fibre (FTTC)
Part Fibre runs fibre to a street cabinet and uses copper from there to the home. The final speed can depend substantially on line length and condition, and upload performance is lower than comparable full-fibre service. BT explains the distinction in its broadband deal terms. If BT full fibre is unavailable, compare the estimated line speed for Fibre 2 with any full-fibre service from another network before choosing.
What BT extras should you count?
- Router and Wi-Fi: Check which router is included and whether whole-home coverage or Complete Wi-Fi requires an extra charge. A faster broadband line does not guarantee coverage in every room.
- Security: BT says Cyber Threat Protect is included with its broadband plans and claims it blocks more than four million scams per day. That is BT’s claim, not independent measurement, and it should not be treated as complete cybersecurity.
- Home phone: BT says broadband does not include a working landline call service unless Digital Home Phone is added. If you rely on a landline number, verify whether it will continue to work and what the service costs before ordering.
- TV, sports and mobile bundles: Include only services you would otherwise buy. A bundle can be convenient, but its total cost may exceed standalone broadband.
- Installation and rewards: Verify any engineer or activation charge and the conditions attached to bill credits or reward cards in the offer summary.
Is BT better value than another provider?
There is no defensible nationwide winner without a postcode, package specification and comparison date. Openreach infrastructure may also be used by other retail providers, so BT’s availability does not mean BT is the only choice. Compare the same connection type, realistic speed, upload, contract duration, price-rise schedule, upfront costs and post-contract price.
| Provider or option | Why compare it | Check before choosing |
|---|---|---|
| Sky | May suit households combining broadband with Sky TV. | Postcode offer, total bundle cost and price-rise terms. |
| Vodafone | Price-led alternative where its own or partner full-fibre network is available. | Network availability and future charges; Vodafone states a £3.50 annual rise on relevant 24-month broadband contracts. |
| Plusnet | Potentially simpler or lower-cost broadband-only service on compatible infrastructure. | Upload speed, router features, support and available tiers. |
| EE | Relevant if an EE mobile relationship or bundle benefits you. | Whether the combined cost beats standalone broadband. |
| Virgin Media | Separate network with its own speed and bundle options. | Coverage, upload needs and its specific price-rise and contract terms. |
| TalkTalk | Potential price-led option on selected networks. | Availability, service terms and whether its support and features meet your needs. |
| CityFibre-based and local providers, including Hyperoptic or Community Fibre | In some areas, local full-fibre providers may offer competitive prices or different upload and speed options. | Whether the network reaches your address and the specific contract terms. |
For live comparisons, check the providers’ own postcode offers: Sky, Vodafone, Plusnet, EE, Virgin Media, TalkTalk, Hyperoptic, and Community Fibre. Availability and offer terms can change; these links do not establish a national price ranking.
Best Value
- Dual band router upgrades to 1200 Mbps high speed internet (300mbps for 2.4GHz plus 900Mbps for 5GHz), reducing buffering and ideal for 4K stream
- Full Gigabit Ports - Gigabit Router with 4 Gigabit LAN ports, ideal for any internet plan and allow you to directly connect your wired devices
- Boosted Coverage - Four external antennas equipped with Beamforming technology extend and concentrate the Wi-Fi signals
- MU-MIMO technology - (5GHz band) allows high speeds for multiple devices simultaneously
- Access Point Mode - Supports AP Mode to transform your wired connection into wireless network, an ideal wireless router for home
What existing BT customers should do at renewal
- Check the contract end date in MyBT or on your bill, then note the current package, speed and total monthly payment.
- Check BT’s public offer at your postcode and the logged-in renewal offer. Do not assume an existing customer can take the new-customer promotion.
- Compare the total minimum-term costs of at least two alternatives, including scheduled increases, add-ons and any early termination charge.
- Ask whether the renewal changes the router, Wi-Fi service, phone service or minimum term, and what the price will be after the contract.
- Keep the order summary and written terms showing the agreed price schedule and any reward or credit conditions.
A useful question to ask BT is: “I’m comparing the total cost of BT with other providers at my address. What is your best renewal price, including all scheduled increases, and what will I pay after the minimum term?” Ofcom says providers must tell customers when their contract is ending and provide information about available deals; see Ofcom consumer advice.
Switching provider and checking eligibility
For ordinary broadband and landline switches, the new provider can usually arrange the transfer through Ofcom’s One Touch Switch process. Do not cancel the old service prematurely unless the new provider tells you to; check for early termination charges if you are still in contract, and confirm the switch date and final bill. A different physical network may require a different installation arrangement. See Ofcom’s switching guidance.
If you receive a qualifying benefit, check social tariffs before choosing a standard promotion. Ofcom says these tariffs are generally £10–£24, usually unlimited, should not rise mid-contract, and may allow eligible customers to switch without an exit fee. The person receiving the benefit generally needs to be the main account holder. Check the current eligibility and provider list at Ofcom’s social tariff guide.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Recommended Free Tools




