October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run ScanOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

The 5 Best Toasters, Tested and Reviewed: Picks for Different Kitchens

The best toaster depends on capacity, bread fit, and useful features. Compare expert picks from RTINGS, Reviewed, TechGearLab, and Food Network.
From TheFinanceBase Team6 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

There isn’t one best toaster for every kitchen. The recommendations in current expert guides split between two- and four-slice models, with different priorities: RTINGS names a four-slice Breville its best overall tested toaster, while Food Network selects a digital Cuisinart as its 2026 overall pick. For most buyers, the right choice depends on how many slices you make at once, the bread you toast, and whether convenience features are worth paying for.

The picks below are attributed to the publications that evaluated them; they are not results of independent testing by The Finance Base. Prices and retailer availability change, so confirm the exact model and current listing before buying.

How these toaster picks differ

These recommendations come from separate publications with different testing methods and selection criteria, so their rankings are not a single head-to-head verdict. Use the table to identify which model best matches your kitchen, then check its exact model name and current dimensions before purchase.

Toaster Publication’s position Best fit Features or caveats noted
Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Smart Toaster RTINGS’ best overall tested toaster Households that want four-slice capacity and convenience features Premium option; RTINGS highlights capacity and convenience features. Exact dimensions and current price are not stated in the cited guide.
Breville Die-Cast Smart Toaster BTA820XL, 2-slice Reviewed’s favorite among two-slice models Buyers prioritizing a two-slice model with inspection and bagel functions Reviewed lists bagel, defrost, “A Bit More,” and “Lift and Look.” Exact dimensions and current price are not stated here.
Breville the “A Bit More” 2-Slice RTINGS’ small-household option One or two people who want to check toast mid-cycle Extra toasting time, a way to raise toast for inspection, and cycle countdown indicators. Do not assume it is identical to other Breville models with similar names.
Breville Bit More 2 Slice TechGearLab’s best two-slice toaster for most people in its guide updated August 14, 2025 Buyers seeking a two-slice recommendation from a guide that reports testing 16 products TechGearLab lists predictable results as a pro. Confirm the precise product generation and listing.
Cuisinart 2-Slice Digital Toaster with MemorySet Food Network’s 2026 best-overall pick People who value a digital interface and saved preferences Food Network notes its memory feature, touchscreen, and range of preferences, while cautioning that the interface suits users comfortable with technology. Verify the current model number.
Cuisinart CPT-122 Reviewed’s more affordable alternative to its favored Breville Buyers comparing lower-cost two-slice options “More affordable” is Reviewed’s comparison, not a guarantee about today’s prices. Check current retailer pricing and exact listing.
Hamilton Beach 2-Slice Toaster; KRUPS Breakfast Set 4-Slice Toaster; SMEG 2-Slice Toaster Food Network’s 2026 value, four-slice, and retro category picks, respectively Readers whose main priority is value, four-slice capacity, or retro styling These are Food Network’s category judgments; model generations, dimensions, and current prices should be checked against the listing.

Which toaster is right for your kitchen?

Choose four slices if several people eat at once

A four-slice toaster can reduce the need to run consecutive batches when breakfast is for more than one person. RTINGS’ overall pick is the Breville Die-Cast 4-Slice Smart Toaster; Food Network’s four-slice category pick is the KRUPS Breakfast Set 4-Slice Toaster. These are separate publications’ recommendations, not comparative test results between the two products. Measure your counter and check the slot dimensions before choosing either.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
BLACK+DECKER 4-Slice Toaster with Extra-Wide Slots
  • EXTRA WIDE TOASTING SLOTS: Fits bagels, thick-cut bread, waffles, and more. Extra-wide self-centering slots adjust to different sizes for even toasting. Tip: Place taller slices vertically for best fit.
  • BAGEL FUNCTION WITH ADDED CONTROL: Use the Bagel button for a crisp cut side. Includes Frozen and Cancel buttons. Tip: Always press the lever down before selecting Bagel or Frozen modes for proper function.
  • EXTRA LIFT LEVER: Raise smaller items like English muffins for easy removal. The lift lever helps prevent burned fingers. Note: Lever locks down only when the toaster is plugged in.
  • EASY CLEAN CRUMB TRAY: Built-in drop-down crumb tray keeps your counter clean and reduces odor from burned crumbs. Located under the toaster. Let the unit cool before cleaning.
  • CUSTOM SHADE SELECTOR: Choose from 7 browning levels with the shade selector dial. Tip: Start with setting 4 on your first use to find your ideal shade, then adjust as needed for lighter or darker results.

Choose a two-slice model for smaller households or limited counter space

For a couple or a one-person household, a two-slice toaster may be sufficient and take up less counter area than a four-slice model. Reviewed favors the Breville Die-Cast Smart Toaster BTA820XL among two-slice models, while RTINGS identifies the Breville the “A Bit More” 2-Slice as a small-household option. TechGearLab’s August 2025 guide names the Breville Bit More 2 Slice its best two-slice toaster for most people. Because similarly named Breville products can be different models, match the full name and generation to the product listing.

Choose digital controls only if you will use them

Food Network’s 2026 overall pick, the Cuisinart 2-Slice Digital Toaster with MemorySet, offers a touchscreen and memory feature for preferences. Those controls may be useful if several people want repeatable settings, but they add an interface to learn. Food Network specifically notes that it is better suited to people comfortable with technology. Verify the current model number before comparing prices or buying.

Rank #2
Elite Gourmet 4-Slice Long Slot Toaster, Extra-Wide Slots, 6 Browning
  • EXTRA WIDE & LONG SLOTS FIT WHAT OTHER TOASTERS WON'T: Two long slots (10" × 1.5") fit full bagel halves flat, thick sourdough, Texas Toast, artisan loaves, English muffins, and waffles. Four full slices toast at once. Best results: always toast 2 slices per slot (one in each), with slices directly opposing each other for balanced heat distribution.
  • 6 BROWNING SETTINGS — FROM BARELY WARM TO PERFECTLY DARK: A full dial from Level 1 (light, barely warm) to Level 6 (deep, dark, crunchy) gives you genuine control over your toast. New toaster tip: run one empty cycle at your preferred setting before first use — this clears manufacturing residue and delivers the most even browning from day one.
  • REHEAT, DEFROST & CANCEL — THREE FUNCTIONS MOST TOASTERS SKIP: Reheat warms previously toasted bread at low heat without re-toasting or burning. Defrost goes straight from freezer to table in one cycle (great for frozen waffles, bagels, and French toast). One-touch Cancel stops and ejects immediately, anytime.
  • BUILT-IN WARMING RACK HEATS PASTRIES WHILE YOU TOAST: Push down the warming rack lever and the rack pops up, ready to warm croissants, buns, rolls, and pitas on top while bread toasts below. Everything arrives at the table warm at the same moment — a feature most toasters at this price simply don't include.
  • CORD STORAGE, SLIDE-OUT CRUMB TRAYS & HIGH-LIFT LEVER: The 36" cord wraps neatly into built-in base storage, keeping your counter clean. Slide-out crumb tray clicks out, empty in seconds, and clicks back in. The high-lift pop-up lever safely raises even small slices above the slot edge for easy retrieval. ETL certified. 1-Year Warranty backed by Elite Gourmet's US-based support team.

Consider value without treating price as a performance score

Reviewed presents the Cuisinart CPT-122 as a more affordable alternative to its favored Breville two-slice model. Food Network names a Hamilton Beach two-slice toaster its 2026 value pick. Those are publication-specific value judgments; prices and stock vary by retailer and date. In RTINGS’ 2024 cohort of 20 toasters, priced from $29 to $399 at the time, it found no clear relationship between price and its toasting-performance scores. That result applies to that tested group and scoring method, not every toaster on sale.

What matters most when comparing toasters

Evenness and repeatability

Look for evidence that a toaster browns bread evenly across a slice and produces similar results across consecutive cycles. A long list of shade settings does not establish either quality. Reviewed identifies even browning and consistency across repeated cycles among its core selection considerations.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Cuisinart Toaster, Extra-Wide Slots, Stainless Steel, 4-Slice
  • VERSATILE TOASTER: The compact design of this Cuisinart 4 Slice Toaster fits comfortably on your countertop and offers custom controls to toast, defrost, and reheat bread, bagels, and pastries to perfection.
  • SUPERIOR OPERATION: With two control panels, dual 6-setting browning dials, and dedicated reheat, defrost, and bagel buttons with LED indicators, toasting is effortless and precise.
  • MUST-HAVE FEATURES: This Cuisinart toaster includes extra-lift carriage lever, slide-out crumb tray for quick cleanup, convenient cord wrap, and instructional booklet.
  • EXTRA-WIDE SLOTS: Stainless steel toaster features 1.5″ wide toasting slots for a wide variety of breads, including sliced bread, French toast (thick & thin), bagels, frozen pancakes, and toaster pastries.
  • LIMITED 3-YEAR WARRANTY: The Cuisinart 4 Slice Toaster comes with a limited 3-year warranty.

Slot fit and bread types

Check slot width and length against the bread you actually eat, especially thick slices, bagels, or frozen items. A bagel or defrost setting can be useful, but it does not tell you whether a particular loaf will fit. The BTA820XL is listed by Reviewed with bagel and defrost functions; Food Network’s digital Cuisinart offers a range of preferences. Confirm the exact controls and slot dimensions for the generation sold by the retailer.

Controls, retrieval, and cleanup

Features such as “Lift and Look,” raising toast to inspect it, extra toasting time, or a countdown indicator can make a toaster easier to use. They matter most if you often adjust doneness or need to retrieve small items safely. A removable crumb tray helps with cleanup; check whether the specific model includes one rather than assuming it does from the brand or price.

Rank #4
Amazon Basics 4 Slice Toaster, 7 Browning Settings, Extra Wide Slots for Bagels and Specialty Breads, Removable Crumb Tray, Cancel/Defrost/Bagel Buttons, 1500W, Black & Silver
  • Capacity: Toast up to 4 slices at once for quick family breakfasts
  • Customizable: 7 precise browning levels deliver your personalized toast
  • Extra-Wide: 5.25" x 1.25" slots fit thick bagels and artisan breads with ease
  • Smart Design: Illuminated control buttons provide clear visibility and elegant operation
  • Frozen Mode: Special defrost setting transforms frozen bread into perfectly toasted treats

Counter footprint and current price

Compare the appliance’s dimensions with your available counter space, including room to operate controls and remove toast. Then compare current retailer prices with the features you will use. Historical prices in reviews can be useful context, but they are not reliable present-day quotes.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to interpret the testing behind these recommendations

The named guides report different testing scopes. Good Housekeeping’s 2026 guide says its Kitchen Lab tested 21 slot-style toasters since 2023 and 81 models over the preceding 10 years. TechGearLab’s guide, updated August 14, 2025, reports a 16-product test. RTINGS’ 2024 methodology article covers 20 toasters and 650 slices. These counts describe the publications’ own work and should not be read as one shared test or a direct ranking across all models.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
bella Fits-Anywhere™ Slim Toaster, 4 Slice Extra Long & Wide Slot, Oatmilk
  • Slim Design, Big Impact: With a sleek 6.14" profile, the bella 4-Slice Slim Toaster fits comfortably on any countertop without taking up much space. Part of our Fits-anywhere kitchenware collection, it’s the perfect blend of style and practicality
  • Two Long Slots for Versatile Toasting: The extra-wide, 10-inch long slot accommodates two slices of bread side by side or thick artisan breads like bagels, sourdough, baguettes, and Texas-style toasts. No more squeezing or cutting—just perfect toast, every time
  • Toasted Perfection: Six shade settings with a convenient cancel function allow you to customize your bread to your exact preference, from lightly golden to dark and crispy. Achieve your ideal toast with just a simple turn of the dial
  • Easy Cleanup & Clutter-Free Countertop: The removable crumb tray slides out for quick cleaning, ensuring your smart toaster stays tidy and operates efficiently. Plus, the cord wrap feature keeps your countertop neat and free from tangled cords
  • Effortless Access: Retrieving smaller slices like English muffins is a breeze with the high-lift lever, giving you easy access without burning your fingers. It’s thoughtful details like these that make this appliance a must-have for every kitchen

RTINGS says it built its “Toasting Range” box tests on the Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers’ methodology for household electric toasters. Its 2024 account also describes discovering voltage drop at an early test location: it measured 107 V where approximately 120 V was expected, and about 1,400 W on a toaster advertised by Breville at 1,800 W. After moving its setup closer to the electrical panel, RTINGS reports the same toaster could draw 1,700 W. These measurements describe that lab setup and product example; they are not a general prediction of household outlet performance.

RTINGS also states that its scores did not show a clear price/performance relationship within its 20-toaster cohort. Its scoring did not include quality-of-life features, so the finding does not mean convenience, build, or interface differences are irrelevant to a buyer.

Before buying

  • Decide whether you need two or four slots based on how many people you serve and how often you make multiple batches.
  • Match slot dimensions and settings to your usual bread, including bagels or thicker slices.
  • Prioritize repeatable browning over a high setting count.
  • Check the full model name, generation, dimensions, and current retailer price; similar product names can refer to distinct lines.
  • Treat each publication’s award as its own assessment, not proof that a retailer listing or another guide independently tested the product.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.