Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

Tesla’s $4.3 Billion LG Battery Deal: What the U.S.-Made LFP Cells Will Power

LG Energy Solution’s Lansing facility began production in August 2026, but the reported Tesla supply period for Megapack 3 cells starts in August 2027.
From TheFinanceBase Team3 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Tesla is the buyer in LG Energy Solution’s reported $4.3 billion agreement for U.S.-made lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery cells. The cells are intended for Tesla Megapack 3 energy-storage systems made in Houston—not Tesla passenger cars. LG’s Lansing, Michigan, facility began production in August 2026, while the reported Tesla supply period begins August 1, 2027.

What the $4.3 billion agreement covers

The U.S. Department of the Interior identified Tesla as the customer for LG Energy Solution’s agreement involving LFP prismatic cells manufactured in Lansing, Michigan. The department described the cells as American-made and said they will power Tesla Megapack 3 systems produced in Houston. Yonhap and Reuters reported the agreement’s value as $4.3 billion. Yonhap’s March 17, 2026 report quotes the department: “American-made cells will power Tesla’s Megapack 3 energy storage systems produced in Houston, creating a robust domestic battery supply chain.”

LG’s original customer disclosure in July 2025 did not name the buyer, according to Yonhap and Reuters. The later government identification clarified that the customer is Tesla. The available descriptions do not establish that Tesla owns the Lansing facility or that the arrangement is a joint venture; LG describes it as its own facility.

These batteries are for grid storage, not Tesla cars

Megapack is Tesla’s large-scale energy-storage system. In this agreement, LG’s cells are intended for Megapack 3 units produced in Houston, making the deal part of the stationary energy-storage supply chain. The government statement does not describe the cells as supplies for Tesla passenger vehicles.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
SHI Key Fob Battery Replacement for Tesla Model X & X Plaid
  • Premium Batteries by SHI (Smarter Home Ideas) Replacement is compatible with Tesla model X smart key fobs ONLY.
  • Fast & Easy Self-Installation: Replace key fob battery in minutes; no programming required. Check the detailed guide below in the description.
  • Industrial-Strength Battery: Superior performance and lifespan; compatible with the Tesla X car models.
  • More Value: Long-lasting performance for your key fob, remote, and more (tons of uses).
  • Disclaimer: Only compatible with Tesla model X. Key fob battery use by date is: 12/31/2033 (8-year shelf life).

LFP is a lithium-ion battery chemistry using lithium iron phosphate as its cathode material. The cells in this agreement are described as prismatic, referring to their rectangular cell format. Those descriptions identify the cell type; they do not disclose the system’s design, battery performance, or the number of cells Tesla will receive.

Plant production and Tesla deliveries have different timelines

Milestone What is reported
Lansing facility production LG says production began August 18, 2026; its announcement was published August 19, 2026. LG Energy Solution’s announcement
Reported Tesla supply period August 1, 2027, through July 31, 2030, according to Yonhap’s report of LG’s disclosed supply period. Yonhap

The Lansing line starting production in 2026 does not mean Tesla’s reported supply period started then. The facility serves more than one cell market: LG says it produces LFP cells for energy-storage systems and nickel manganese cobalt (NMC) cells for Toyota vehicles. Its Vertech division integrates storage cells into complete systems for utility, grid-scale, and commercial and industrial uses. LG has not disclosed how much Lansing output is allocated to Tesla.

Rank #2
Key Fob Replacement Batteries for Tesla Model X & X Plaid Remote Key
  • Keyless entry remote fob not included: This listing is for OEM Original replacement batteries as provided by Manufacturer for (Smart Key) Remote Fobs. Bundle of Two (2) CR2354 Remote Fob Battery and Opening/Pry Tool.
  • Compatible with Tesla Model X and Model X Plaid only
  • Not compatible with Model S, 3, or Y
  • OEM-Quality- Easy Process: Includes dual-purpose opening tool to help open the remote control (without scratching or damaging the remote control case) and remove the battery.
  • Avoid a Service Appointment for Battery Replacement: Remote reprogramming is not required and Battery replacement is simple.

What the headline value does—and does not—tell you

The reported $4.3 billion is the agreement’s headline value, but it is not enough to work out a per-cell price, Tesla’s contracted volume, or the share of Lansing production reserved for the company. Those terms are not stated in the cited reports. The sources also do not give delivery milestones beyond the reported supply window, so the headline value should not be treated as a disclosed annual payment or a measure of Tesla’s share of plant capacity.

LG says the Lansing facility is designed to reach more than 35 GWh of annual battery-making capacity at full scale and expects 1,700 employees at full-scale production. These are company-stated facility targets, not current output or headcount, and neither figure is a Tesla-specific allocation. LG Energy Solution’s August 2026 announcement

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Car Key Battery for Tesla Model S (CR2032 3V Batteries Pack of 2)
  • Select Your Vehicle Above**
  • Car Key Battery Replacement for the 2012-2025 Tesla Model S. Includes two (2) BatteryGuru CR2032 3V car remote batteries.
  • Compatible with Tesla Model S, 3 and Y. NOT compatible with the Model X.
  • Recommended before or after seeing the "Key battery needs replacing" message on the cars dashboard. NOT COMPATIBLE WITH MODEL X SUV.
  • Avoid a service appointment for a replacement battery. This is an easy replacement and install.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Why the deal matters to U.S. battery supply

The agreement connects U.S. cell manufacturing in Lansing with Megapack production in Houston, while serving the energy-storage market rather than Tesla’s vehicle lineup. That creates a domestic supply route for at least the cells covered by the reported arrangement. It does not, on the information disclosed, establish how much of Tesla’s demand it will cover or whether all cells made at Lansing will remain in the United States.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
SHI Key Fob Battery Replacement for Tesla Model X & X Plaid
SHI Key Fob Battery Replacement for Tesla Model X & X Plaid
More Value: Long-lasting performance for your key fob, remote, and more (tons of uses).
$7.95
Bestseller No. 2
Key Fob Replacement Batteries for Tesla Model X & X Plaid Remote Key
Key Fob Replacement Batteries for Tesla Model X & X Plaid Remote Key
Compatible with Tesla Model X and Model X Plaid only; Not compatible with Model S, 3, or Y
$16.99
Bestseller No. 3
Car Key Battery for Tesla Model S (CR2032 3V Batteries Pack of 2)
Car Key Battery for Tesla Model S (CR2032 3V Batteries Pack of 2)
Select Your Vehicle Above**; Compatible with Tesla Model S, 3 and Y. NOT compatible with the Model X.
$9.99
Bestseller No. 5
Key Fob Replacement Batteries for Tesla Model X & X Plaid, Pack of 2
Key Fob Replacement Batteries for Tesla Model X & X Plaid, Pack of 2
Compatible with Tesla Model X and Model X Plaid only; Not compatible with Model S, 3, or Y
$19.99
Best Value
Key Fob Replacement Batteries for Tesla Model X & X Plaid, Pack of 2
  • Compatible with Tesla Model X and Model X Plaid only
  • Not compatible with Model S, 3, or Y
  • Avoid expensive dealer service charges and easily replace your key fob battery yourself - only takes a few minutes - no programming required
  • Easy do-it-yourself guide to changing your key fob battery in the description
  • Includes (2) original premium Deluxe CR2354 3V batteries. Does not include actual key fob
Rank #4
Key Fob Battery Replacement for Tesla CR2354, Pack of 2
  • PERFECT FIT FOR TESLA MODEL X – This 2-pack CR2354 3V lithium battery for Tesla Model X is designed for easy replacement in your Tesla key fob.
  • OEM QUALITY YOU CAN TRUST – Our CR2354 3V battery matches the original Tesla Model X key fob battery, ensuring reliability and longevity.
  • QUICK & EASY INSTALLATION – Replace your Tesla key fob battery without hassle and get your Tesla key working like new.
  • STEP-BY-STEP INSTALL VIDEO – Follow our simple video tutorial to replace your Tesla key fob battery in minutes and get your Tesla car key functioning properly.
  • DESIGNED SPECIFICALLY FOR TESLA MODEL X – These CR2354 3V lithium batteries are tailored for use with the Tesla Model X key fob, ensuring a perfect fit.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.