Starbucks Rewards’ Canadian redesign launched on March 10, 2026. It replaced the previous earning structure with three status levels—Green, Gold and Reserve—where higher status earns Stars faster and changes how long they remain valid. Existing Star balances were retained, and launch status assignments were based on 2025 membership.
What changed in Starbucks Rewards Canada?
The redesign shifts the program toward earning rates tied to membership level. Members earn Stars through eligible purchases, and Stars earned during the qualification period count toward status even if they are redeemed. Starbucks announced the changes on January 29, 2026; the program launched March 10, 2026. Starbucks Canada’s announcement and its Canadian Rewards FAQ explain the rollout and mechanics.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Starbucks eGift Card - $100 - Siren | $100.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Starbucks Physical Gift Card | $25.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Starbucks Physical Gift Card | $50.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Starbucks eGift Card | $50.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
Starbucks Physical Gift Card | $40.00 | Buy on Amazon |
At launch, Starbucks used members’ 2025 activity to assign initial levels, rather than counting only Stars earned after March 10. Existing Stars remained in accounts.
How do Green, Gold and Reserve compare?
| Level | Stars earned per dollar | Qualification and status | Star expiration | Birthday reward window | Additional benefits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Green | 1 Star | Entry level; status lasts 12 months | Stars expire after six months. Qualifying activity can extend expiring Stars one month at a time. | Birthday reward included; window not stated in the cited Canadian FAQ. | Personalized offers, games, selected early access and one Free Mod Mondays offer per month. |
| Gold | 1.5 Stars | 500 Stars in a 12-month qualification period; status lasts 12 months | Stars do not expire while you hold Gold. | Seven days | At least four additional Double Star Days annually, plus the faster earn rate. |
| Reserve | 1.7 Stars | 2,500 Stars after reaching Gold; status lasts 12 months | Stars do not expire while you hold Reserve. | 30 days | At least six additional Double Star Days annually and access to exclusive experiences. |
The 12-month status period matters: Gold is reached at 500 qualifying Stars, while Reserve requires 2,500 Stars after Gold. The qualification rules allow Stars earned in that period to count toward status even if you spend them on rewards. See the official FAQ for current account rules.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Redemption: Instore
- No returns and no refunds on gift cards.
When do Starbucks Stars expire?
Green Stars are valid for six months. To extend Stars that are about to expire, make a qualifying purchase, redeem a reward or complete a qualifying digital reload in the month before expiration. That activity extends expiring Stars by one month, and the extension can be repeated. Gold and Reserve members’ Stars do not expire for as long as they hold the relevant level.
What can you redeem with Stars?
Canadian terms set redemption tiers by both Stars required and eligible item value. Store participation and eligible items can vary, and a dollar cap limits the value covered by a reward. Where the terms permit, you can pay the difference above the cap. The Canadian Rewards terms govern eligibility and restrictions.
Rank #2
- A Starbucks Card is Always Welcome.
- Starbucks Cards redeemable at most SB locations.
- It’s a great way to treat a friend. It’s a convenient way to pre-pay for your own regular purchases.
- Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be used as a method of payment for this item.
- Physical gift cards are delivered active via mail.
| Stars | Eligible redemption | Maximum covered value |
|---|---|---|
| 25 | Eligible beverage modifier | Up to $1 off |
| 60 | $2 off a qualifying item, excluding gift cards | $2 off |
| 100 | Eligible brewed coffee or tea, bakery item, packaged snack, or specified plastic cup | Up to $6 before tax |
| 200 | Eligible handcrafted beverage or hot breakfast item | Up to $10 before tax |
| 300 | Eligible packaged salad, lunch sandwich or packaged coffee | Not stated in the terms |
| 400 | Select merchandise or packaged Starbucks Reserve coffee | Up to $20 before tax |
The 60-Star tier is a discount, not a promise of a free item: it takes $2 off a qualifying purchase. Rewards generally cannot be used for gift cards, delivery orders, alcohol or multi-serve items. Check the current terms and the participating store’s available options before redeeming; Starbucks may change program benefits.
How can you earn bonus Stars?
A qualifying digital reload of $30 or more earns 10 bonus Stars; a qualifying digital reload of $50 or more earns 25. Reloads made through the Starbucks app or website count, including auto-reload. These bonuses apply to qualifying digital reloads—not automatically to buying a gift card. Reload thresholds and offer terms are listed in the Canadian FAQ.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Rank #3
- A Starbucks Card is Always Welcome
- Starbucks Cards redeemable at most SB locations
- It’s a great way to treat a friend. It’s a convenient way to pre-pay for your own regular purchases.
- Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be used as a method of payment for this item.
- Physical gift cards are delivered active via mail.
What benefits come with each level?
Green
Green members receive a birthday reward, personalized offers, games, early access to selected items and a monthly Free Mod Mondays offer. The FAQ describes Free Mod Mondays as one customization per month, with a maximum $2 discount applied to the most expensive modifier in an order. Offers are announced in the app or by email, and individual offer terms may limit use.
Gold
Gold adds a seven-day birthday redemption window, non-expiring Stars while you hold the level, a 1.5-Star-per-dollar earning rate and at least four additional Double Star Days each year.
Rank #4
- Redemption: Instore
- No returns and no refunds on gift cards.
Reserve
Reserve adds a 30-day birthday redemption window, a 1.7-Star-per-dollar rate, at least six additional Double Star Days and access to exclusive experiences. Starbucks’ launch announcement described potential all-expenses-paid trips to coffee destinations; availability and eligibility should be confirmed in current official communications.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Is the higher status worth pursuing?
The practical value depends on how often you buy eligible items, which rewards you redeem and whether you can use the tier-specific benefits. Higher levels earn Stars faster and protect Stars from expiration while the status is held, but the available facts do not establish a single value for every member’s spending pattern. Compare the Stars you earn and redeem with the item caps and restrictions, rather than assuming a higher level makes every purchase cheaper.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallBest Value
- This item contains 4 separate $10 gift cards
- Starbucks Cards redeemable at most SB locations
- It’s a great way to treat a friend. It’s a convenient way to pre-pay for your own regular purchases.
- Physical gift cards are delivered active via mail.
- This item is not eligible for refund, resale, or return.
Starbucks said the redesign responds to member feedback and is intended to offer more flexibility and additional benefits for loyal members. The company reported more than 38 million active Rewards members across North America in 2026; that figure is not a Canada-only count. Starbucks Coffee Canada, Inc., 2026.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




