Spotify’s January 2026 U.S. price update raised Duo and Family by $2 per month each—the biggest increases in dollar terms among the listed plans. Spotify’s current U.S. page lists Individual at $12.99, Student at $6.99, Duo at $18.99, and Family at $21.99 per month. Your own start date for the new charge depends on the notice Spotify sent to your account.
What Spotify plans cost in the U.S.
Spotify’s U.S. Premium page currently lists these monthly rates and account limits. Prices are for the United States; Spotify’s announcement names other markets but does not establish that U.S. rates apply there.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Google Play gift code | $15.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Google Play gift code | $50.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
$300 Apple Gift Card—Email Delivery | $300.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Visa Virtual eGift Card | $28.95 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
Google Play Physical Gift Card | $50.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| Plan | Current U.S. price per month | Included accounts | Household terms |
|---|---|---|---|
| Individual | $12.99 | 1 | No multi-member household limit stated on the plan page |
| Student | $6.99 | 1 | Student eligibility applies; see Spotify’s plan terms |
| Duo | $18.99 | 2 | For two people residing at the same address |
| Family | $21.99 | Up to 6 | For members residing at the same address |
Rates and account details are from Spotify’s live U.S. Premium page, retrieved October 8, 2026; the page can change. Check its terms before choosing a plan, particularly if everyone who will use it does not live at the same address.
How much more each plan costs
MacRumors reported that U.S. Duo previously cost $16.99 per month and Family $19.99. Compared with the current listed rates, each is a $2 monthly increase. The report says Individual and Student rose by $1 each. These comparisons make Duo and Family the largest increases in monthly dollars, not necessarily the largest percentage increases.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →#1 Best Overall
- No returns and no refunds on gift cards. Good for use on the US Google Play Store only. Terms apply - see below.
- Google Play gift codes can be used on the Google Play Store, the official app store for Android, to purchase apps, games, and more.
- New finds, old favorites, one card. Choose a unique gift card design featuring your favorite games or apps. This card can also be used for anything else on Google Play. There’s something for everyone, so find what’s yours. Go Play.
- To redeem, enter code in the Play Store app or play.google.com.
- Easy to use: With a Google Play gift code, you never have to worry about expiration dates or fees.
| Plan | Reported previous U.S. price | Current U.S. price | Reported increase |
|---|---|---|---|
| Individual | Not stated in the cited 2026 report | $12.99/month (Spotify U.S. page) | $1/month (MacRumors) |
| Student | Not stated in the cited 2026 report | $6.99/month (Spotify U.S. page) | $1/month (MacRumors) |
| Duo | $16.99/month (MacRumors) | $18.99/month (Spotify U.S. page) | $2/month (calculated from the reported previous price and current listed price) |
| Family | $19.99/month (MacRumors) | $21.99/month (Spotify U.S. page) | $2/month (calculated from the reported previous price and current listed price) |
The 2026 Spotify announcement does not print plan-by-plan prices. The old Duo and Family rates and the reported $1 changes for Individual and Student come from MacRumors’ January 2026 report; current rates come from Spotify’s page.
Which plan costs less for your household?
Dividing a plan’s monthly price by the number of people who actually use it can help compare options, provided the household meets the plan terms.
Rank #2
- No returns and no refunds on gift cards. Good for use on the US Google Play Store only. Terms apply - see below.
- Google Play gift codes can be used on the Google Play Store, the official app store for Android, to purchase apps, games, and more.
- New finds, old favorites, one card. Choose a unique gift card design featuring your favorite games or apps. This card can also be used for anything else on Google Play. There’s something for everyone, so find what’s yours. Go Play.
- Easy to use: With a Google Play gift code, you never have to worry about expiration dates or fees.
- Endless games to explore: Find and play old and new favorites – from mind-bending puzzles to epic quests and more.
- Duo: At two users, $18.99 works out to about $9.50 per person per month.
- Family: At six users, $21.99 works out to about $3.67 per person per month; at fewer users, the per-person cost is higher.
- Individual: One user pays $12.99 per month at the currently listed rate.
- Student: One eligible student pays $6.99 per month at the currently listed rate.
These are simple calculations from Spotify’s listed U.S. monthly prices, not separate Spotify rates. Duo and Family require members to reside at the same address, so a lower arithmetic cost does not make a household eligible.
When will the new charge appear?
Spotify published its announcement on January 15, 2026, naming the United States, Estonia, and Latvia. It said existing subscribers in those markets would receive an email explaining the change over the following month. The announcement does not give one effective billing date for every subscriber.
Rank #3
- For all things Apple - products, accessories, apps, games, music, movies, TV shows, iCloud+, and more.
- Perfect for App Store purchases and subscriptions—get apps, games, music, movies, TV shows, and more.
- The perfect gift to say happy birthday, thank you, congratulations, and more.
- Available in $15 - 500, Card delivered via email or SMS
- Use it for purchases at any Apple Store location, on the Apple Store app, apple.com, the App Store, iTunes, Apple Music, Apple TV, Apple News+, Apple Books, Apple Arcade, iCloud+, Fitness+, Apple One, and other Apple properties in US only
- Check the email address associated with your Spotify account for Spotify’s price-change notice.
- Review your account or plan information for the date the updated charge applies to you.
- If you cannot find the notice, use Spotify Support’s guidance on price changes and account-specific timing.
Spotify’s announcement directs new subscribers to local pricing and existing subscribers to their notification. Its stated rationale was: “Occasional updates to pricing across our markets reflect the value that Spotify delivers, enabling us to continue offering the best possible experience and benefit artists.” That is Spotify’s corporate explanation, not independent evidence that the particular increase was caused by a specific cost or benefit.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Why the U.S. qualifier matters
The January announcement covered three markets, but it did not publish a single set of prices for all of them. Spotify’s prices vary by plan and local market. Its 2023 U.S. price announcement listed Individual at $10.99, Duo at $14.99, Family at $16.99, and Student at $5.99 per month at that time; those historical figures should not be confused with current rates. Spotify also describes market-specific pricing in its annual-report materials.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- No returns and no refunds on gift cards. Good for use on the US Google Play Store only. Terms apply - see below.
- Google Play gift cards can be used on the Google Play Store, the official app store for Android, to purchase apps, games, and more.
- To redeem, peel or gently scratch label and enter code in the Play Store app or play.google.com.
- Easy to use: With a Google Play gift card, you never have to worry about expiration dates or fees.
- Endless games to explore: Find and play old and new favorites – from mind-bending puzzles to epic quests and more.
Rank #4
- Visa Virtual eGift Cards are designed for online use only. Gift Cards are subject to Terms and Conditions: a.co/5bw3qXJ
- When you access your Visa Virtual eGift Card for the first time, you’ll need to register your name, address, phone number, and email address via activationspot.com. These details should also be used as your billing address for online purchases, as many merchants require address verification for purchase authorization.
- This Visa Virtual eGift Card is non-reloadable. No cash or ATM access. Visa Virtual eGift Cards are emailed active.
- Funds do not expire but your Visa Virtual eGift Card has a ‘valid thru’ date (9 years from date of purchase). If funds remain after this date has passed, please call the Toll Free number found on your Visa Virtual eGift Card for a replacement card. A one-time purchase fee applies at the time of checkout.
- This item is not eligible for refund, resale, or return. Available for sale within the United States only. Not available to residents of Puerto Rico, Hawaii, New Mexico, South Dakota, West Virginia and the US Virgin Islands.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




