Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The Reserve Bank of India scheduled an open market operation (OMO) sale auction of government securities for October 13, 2026, with a notified aggregate of ₹25,000 crore. A sale absorbs rupee liquidity as buyers pay the RBI for the bonds. The available reporting confirms the scheduled auction, but not how much the RBI accepted or the completed result.
What the RBI announced
The RBI’s scheduled auction covered six Government of India securities. It did not assign a separate sale amount to each one; ₹25,000 crore was the aggregate notified amount across the offer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Security | Coupon | Reported maturity |
|---|---|---|
| 7.88% GS 2030 | 7.88% | March 2030 |
| 6.10% GS 2031 | 6.10% | Not stated in the reported details |
| 7.95% GS 2032 | 7.95% | Not stated in the reported details |
| 7.26% GS 2033 | 7.26% | Not stated in the reported details |
| 7.18% GS 2033 | 7.18% | Not stated in the reported details |
| 7.10% GS 2034 | 7.10% | April 2034 |
The reported maturity range was March 2030 to April 2034. The RBI retained discretion to accept less than the notified aggregate, adjust the total marginally for rounding, and accept or reject bids wholly or partly. The Economic Times/PTI report on the October 13 announcement does not establish the accepted amount or auction outcome.
How an OMO sale drains liquidity
In an outright OMO sale, the RBI sells government securities to market participants. Buyers pay the RBI, moving rupee funds out of the banking system and into the central bank. That is why an OMO sale is used to absorb liquidity. The announced ₹25,000 crore is the auction’s notified aggregate—not proof that the full amount was sold or that exactly that much liquidity was ultimately withdrawn.
#1 Best Overall
Why the RBI was managing surplus funds
The Economic Times reported an estimated banking-system liquidity surplus of about ₹3.88 lakh crore as of October 8, 2026. That is a dated estimate, not a measurement for October 13. The report attributed surplus liquidity in part to foreign-currency inflows linked to FCNR(B) deposit mobilisation and subsequent swaps with the RBI that supplied rupee liquidity to banks. Government spending, including salary and pension payments, was also cited as a source of liquidity.
The RBI had also been using variable rate reverse repo (VRRR) auctions to absorb excess liquidity and align overnight money-market rates with the repo rate. VRRR activity is temporary liquidity absorption, while the OMO announced for October 13 was a sale of securities. The available reporting does not provide enough detail to compare the instruments’ maturities or settlement mechanics.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
How this fits the RBI’s recent bond-sale programme
In September 2026, the RBI announced an aggregate ₹1 lakh crore OMO sale programme in three tranches. Akashvani News reported the September programme. A September 23 report said the September 17 and 21 operations were ₹50,000 crore and ₹25,000 crore sales, respectively, and that the final ₹25,000 crore tranche was scheduled for September 28. This provides context for the October announcement, but does not verify the October auction’s outcome. The Economic Times/PTI report also describes the liquidity backdrop.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →What the announcement does—and does not—say about bond yields
A Moneycontrol report published October 9 quoted an unnamed primary-dealership source predicting that yields might open 4–5 basis points higher after the announcement. This was a market expectation, not an RBI forecast. The reviewed reporting does not verify the actual October 13 yield move, so the forecast should not be treated as an observed result. Moneycontrol’s report contains the attributed expectation.
Rank #3
What to watch for next
To know whether the RBI actually sold the full ₹25,000 crore, readers need the auction result: the amount accepted, which bids were accepted, and any difference between the notified and accepted totals. Until a result is verified, the accurate description is that the RBI scheduled or announced the sale. The accepted amount and the actual market response should not be inferred from the announcement or pre-auction yield commentary.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Rank #4
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




