What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
The Auditor-General of Pakistan’s audit report on Punjab’s FY 2023–24 expenditure lists more than Rs1 trillion in reported irregularities, but that headline is not a finding that the entire amount was stolen or lost. The figure combines different kinds of audit observations, including Rs988 billion associated with public funds held in commercial or non-interest-bearing accounts. The amounts and classifications below are reported by The News; the reported cases do not all have established final administrative or legal outcomes.
What the Punjab audit report covers
The Auditor-General of Pakistan’s report index lists the Punjab expenditure accounts report for Audit Year 2024–25, dated May 21, 2025. The News reported that it covers the provincial government’s expenditure for financial year 2023–24. “Audit Year” is the report’s label; it should not be confused with the financial year under review.
The report’s headline is an aggregate of audit observations across categories. An observation can identify a control weakness, an amount requiring recovery, or a matter needing investigation; the headline alone does not establish that each amount represents a cash loss, fraud, or a final finding against a person or department.
How the reported irregularities are classified
The News reported the following categories and amounts from the audit report. They are not presented here as a reconciliation to the headline total: the published account does not establish that the categories add up arithmetically to more than Rs1 trillion or that each is a separate cash loss.
| Reported observation category | Cases | Amount reported |
|---|---|---|
| Public funds retained in commercial banks or non-interest-bearing accounts | 12 | Rs988 billion |
| Fraud and misappropriation | 14 | Rs3.1 billion |
| Recoveries, overpayments and unauthorized payments | 50 | Rs25.4 billion |
| Financial mismanagement | 21 | Rs10.6 billion |
| Mis-procurement | 45 | Rs43 billion |
| HR-related cases | 24 | Rs8.2 billion |
| Performance-related deficiencies | 7 | Rs3.6 billion |
The largest reported component, Rs988 billion, relates to the retention of consolidated fund receipts in commercial banks and public funds in non-interest-bearing accounts. That classification raises questions about the handling and permitted placement of public money; by itself, it does not prove that the money disappeared or was stolen.
Specific amounts cited in the report account
The News also described several accounting and receivables issues in the report:
Rank #2
- Rs282 billion in e-pay receipts that were not reconciled.
- Rs352 billion in loans and advances reported as unrecovered.
- Rs282 billion in long-outstanding dues that were not reported as receivables.
- Rs44 billion in consolidated funds held in commercial bank accounts but not reported.
These are distinct reported examples, not proof that an equivalent amount was permanently lost. Unreconciled receipts require matching records; an unrecovered advance or unreported receivable may call for collection or accounting correction. The account does not establish the final disposition of these particular items.
What “recovery pointed out” means
The report account distinguishes amounts flagged for recovery from amounts said to have been recovered and verified. As quoted by The News, the audit report states: “As a result of the audit, a recovery of Rs25,462.55 million (Rs25.4 billion) was pointed out. Recovery affected from February 2024 to January 2025 was Rs2,239.66 million (Rs2.2 billion) which was verified by Audit.”
Rank #3
Thus, the reported Rs25,462.55 million is the recovery amount pointed out, while Rs2,239.66 million is the amount reported as recovered and verified for February 2024 through January 2025. The latter is a period-specific figure, not a statement of all subsequent recoveries or of the final amount recovered across every observation.
What the report says about spending and controls
The News reported these expenditure shares from the audit account:
Rank #4
| Area | Reported share |
|---|---|
| Communication and Works | 41% |
| Health | 15% |
| Housing, Urban Development and Public Health Engineering | 11% |
| Education | 6% |
| Salaries and employee benefits | 25% |
| Debt repayment | 20% |
| Debt servicing | 5% |
| Repair and maintenance | 2% |
The account also describes control weaknesses in financial management, procurement and contract management, hiring and payroll, asset handling, and budget planning and execution. The reported recommendations included investigating fraud and misappropriation, pursuing recovery of overpayments and unauthorized payments, strengthening controls and recovery mechanisms, complying with Punjab Procurement Rules 2014, using merit-based recruitment, and improving performance and project-outcome monitoring.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What happens to the audit observations
Punjab Information Minister Azma Bukhari said the audit paras would be considered by Special Departmental Accounts Committees (SDACs), with unresolved paras going to the Public Accounts Committee (PAC). She said: “Until unsettled paras are considered by the PAC, any action would be against the law and procedure and premature.” That was Bukhari’s stated position on the process, not an independent legal ruling.
Best Value
- This product will be an excellent pick for you.
- It is durable and long lasting
- It ensures you get the best usage for a longer period
The reported account does not establish whether the SDAC or PAC later resolved the individual observations, whether specific cases resulted in disciplinary or legal action, or what further recoveries were made. The headline amount should therefore be read as the scale of issues reported for scrutiny, not as a final tally of proven theft or settled losses.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




