October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

Lightspeed Raises More Than $9 Billion Across Six Funds

Lightspeed Venture Partners announced more than $9 billion in commitments across six funds, including a $3.3 billion vehicle for follow-on investments. Here’s what the raise does—and does not—tell investors.
From TheFinanceBase Team3 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Lightspeed Venture Partners announced more than $9 billion in committed capital across six funds in December 2025, calling it the largest raise in the firm’s 25-year history. The headline reflects commitments to investment vehicles—not money already deployed, a guarantee of returns, or a measure of what investors will earn.

How much did Lightspeed raise?

Lightspeed said it raised more than $9 billion across six vehicles. Its December 17, 2025 announcement named several of those vehicles and their sizes, while also reporting a separate category of single-investor vehicles. The figures describe the announced fund structure; they should not be added together to reconstruct the headline total because the public announcement does not provide full fund documentation. Lightspeed’s announcement carried by Korea Newswire called it the largest raise in the firm’s history.

Vehicle or category Announced amount What the available description says
Fund XV-A $980 million Named vehicle; strategy details not stated in the announcement cited here.
Fund XV-B $1.2 billion Named vehicle; strategy details not stated in the announcement cited here.
Select VI $1.8 billion Named vehicle; strategy details not stated in the announcement cited here.
Opportunity Fund III $3.3 billion Intended for follow-on investments in Lightspeed’s fastest-growing portfolio companies, according to TechCrunch’s December 15, 2025 report.
Co-Investment Fund I $600 million Named vehicle; further terms not stated in the announcement cited here.
Single-investor vehicles $1.25 billion closed during 2025 Reported separately by Lightspeed; this is not presented here as a sixth named fund.

The announcement described six vehicles in total, but the public list above does not name or fully explain every component. Treat “more than $9 billion” as the firm’s headline commitment figure, not as a sum that can be independently verified from the named amounts.

What the raise says about Lightspeed’s investment plans

Follow-on capital for existing companies

The largest named vehicle was the $3.3 billion Opportunity Fund III. TechCrunch reported that it is intended to back follow-on rounds in the firm’s fastest-growing portfolio companies. That makes it distinct in purpose from a fund focused chiefly on initiating new investments: follow-on capital can support companies in which Lightspeed already owns a stake as they raise additional financing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

AI as a stated priority

Lightspeed said it had invested more than $5.5 billion in over 165 AI-native companies. Those are the firm’s own cumulative investment figures, not independently audited totals for these new funds. Founder and partner Ravi Mhatre described AI as “the most transformative technology shift in a generation” and said Lightspeed had invested behind that view for years. The firm’s stated thesis and past investment activity indicate a focus; they do not establish how much of the newly announced capital will go to AI.

TechCrunch cited Anthropic, xAI, Databricks, Mistral, Glean, Abridge, and Skild AI as examples of Lightspeed portfolio companies. It also noted investments in Rubrik, Netskope, and Navan, which had recently made public-market debuts at the time of its December 2025 report. Portfolio examples show the breadth of the firm’s investments, but do not by themselves indicate the performance of the new funds.

Rank #2

How to interpret the $9 billion headline

For readers assessing the announcement, the key distinction is between capital committed to funds and capital invested in companies. A fundraise gives a venture firm the capacity to make investments under its mandate; it does not mean that all the capital has been deployed, that every announced vehicle will invest at the same pace, or that any investment will produce a return.

  • Commitments are not returns. The announced amount says nothing by itself about profits, losses, or what limited partners will ultimately receive.
  • Fund size is not a performance ranking. The public material cited here does not establish comparable net returns for these funds or competing firms.
  • Strategy matters. A follow-on fund, an early-stage fund, and a co-investment vehicle can pursue different opportunities; their headline sizes are not directly interchangeable.
  • Deployment details remain undisclosed. The sources do not establish the complete investor list, exact deployment timetable, final sector or geographic allocations, or fund returns.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

A separate India fund target was reported in 2026

In a separate development, TechCrunch reported on September 24, 2026, that Lightspeed was targeting $250 million for a new India fund focused on early-stage AI. The report said the fund had commitments for 80% of that target, citing an investor letter reviewed by the publication. This was a reported target—not a confirmed final close—and it should not be folded into the December 2025 global raise. Read TechCrunch’s report on the India fund.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.