What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Wizards of the Coast is ending development of Sigil, its 3D virtual tabletop for Dungeons & Dragons, but the service has not shut down yet. According to the company’s FAQ, updated January 28, 2026, players can continue using Sigil through October 31, 2026. After its servers go offline, content created in Sigil will no longer be accessible.
What is happening to Sigil?
Wizards says it is ending development because it could not sustain the ongoing support or quality standard it wanted for Sigil. The company says the experience and user feedback will inform future digital D&D experiences. That means development is ending now, while access is scheduled to continue for a limited time; the two dates are not the same.
Sigil was part of Wizards’ plans for D&D’s 50th anniversary year. In its February 12, 2024 announcement, the company included a 3D virtual tabletop among the planned experiences intended to make play more immersive. That announcement gives context for the project’s ambition, but does not establish that every announced feature or form shipped. Wizards described its anniversary as celebrating more than 50 million fans; that is the company’s stated figure, not an independently audited count.
Why did Wizards decide to end development?
Wizards’ official explanation is that it could not maintain the support and quality it believed players deserved. Hasbro CEO Chris Cocks offered more specific technical criticisms in a May 19, 2026 GamesRadar+ interview: Sigil’s system requirements were too high, and its design had difficulty handling many objects unless a player had a high-end gaming computer.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute#1 Best Overall
- QUICK ENTRY TO DUNGEONS & DRAGONS: Step into the exciting world of D&D with the Dungeons & Dragons Adventure Begins board game. Designed for 2-4 players, ages 10 and up
- COOPERATIVE FANTASY GAME: This fantasy board game is a portal to the monsters, magic, and heroes of Dungeons & Dragons. Players work together as they journey through the lands of Neverwinter
- QUICK GAMEPLAY: Players can choose and customize their heroes, battle iconic D&D monsters, and experience a new adventure every time. So, step forward, brave heroes; adventure awaits
- CHOOSE A JOURNEY FOR YOUR PARTY: Choose a journey and which Boss your party of heroes will fight in the end. Choose from Felbris (Beholder), Orn (Fire Giant), Deathsleep (Green Dragon) and The Kraken
- D&D MINIATURE FIGURES: The game includes 4 plastic mini figures that correspond with the heroes featured in gameplay
Those comments point to two related constraints: access depended on capable hardware, and object-heavy scenes could challenge the system. They describe Hasbro’s assessment, not published performance benchmarks or a quantified account of Sigil’s user base.
When will Sigil shut down, and what can players do until then?
The official FAQ says Sigil remains available through October 31, 2026. Until then, users can continue playing, hosting campaigns, and using the current features. The announced schedule is a future shutdown date, not a report that the servers are already offline.
Rank #2
- Embrace Your Inner Hero: Defend Waterdeep and Undermountain from four legendary D&D monsters—Beholder, Displacer Beast, Mimic, and Red Dragon. Team up to protect citizens and outwit these iconic foes.
- Engaging Cooperative Gameplay: Unite family and friends in a thrilling strategy adventure that boosts critical thinking, problem solving, and teamwork.
- Visually Stunning Components: Featuring a richly illustrated game board, sculpted monster miniatures, hero markers, and a custom d20 for immersive D&D flair.
- Easy to Learn, Endless Variety: Each monster offers unique tactics and challenges, delivering fresh strategies and replayable excitement in every 60-minute session.
- Game Night Ready: For 1–5 players. Includes 1 game board, 4 monster mats and figures, hero badges, citizen standees, dice, cards, and all tokens needed to begin your quest.
Once the servers go offline, Sigil-created content will no longer be accessible. Wizards’ FAQ does not describe an export or migration tool, so players should not assume that campaigns, maps, or other creations will transfer to another platform.
How to preserve notes and images before shutdown
Wizards recommends saving images users want to keep and copying important notes and journal entries outside Sigil. Do this while the service is available, and store the copies somewhere you control and can access without Sigil.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallRank #3
- D&D Board game
- Play time: 45+ minutes
- 1 rulebook, 1 game board, 2 dice, 165 cards, 8 hero standees, 139 die-cut tokens
- Save any campaign images you want to retain.
- Copy important notes and journal entries into files or another system you can access independently.
- Check that the saved copies open correctly outside Sigil.
The FAQ does not specify a way to export complete campaigns or move creations elsewhere. For anything beyond the suggested images, notes, and journal entries, the company has not established a transfer path in the information cited here.
What has Hasbro said about D&D Maps?
Cocks described D&D Maps as a shift toward a 2D, browser-based map experience. He said the aim is for it to run on an iPad or a low-end Windows PC, and that it would carry forward some concepts from Sigil. He also mentioned future customization possibilities.
Rank #4
- FINISH THE CAMPAIGN—The Hellfire Club was born in Eddie Munson’s basement—a haven for outsiders, free spirits, and dice-slingers. But his final campaign was left unfinished... until now. Keep the flames of Hellfire burning in this collaborative 3–5 player game.
- TURN YOUR ADVENTURES UPSIDE DOWN—Take on challenges hotter than Hellfire with 4 of Eddie’s lost adventures—from gnarly battles with Demogorgons and Demodogs, eerie dockside murders, and the treacherous Vale of Shadows.
- STEP BACK INTO THE 80’S—Take a time machine back to the 80’s with totally tubular collectibles, including retro cards, vibrant character sheets, and a Dungeon Master’s Screen. There’s an entire Nine Hells of 80’s-themed flavor to explore!
- GET THE GANG TOGETHER—Grab your snacks, invite your buddies, and gather round the table to get rocking and rolling on psychedelic adventures. With tips and tricks from the legend Eddie Munson himself, this is a place where everyone is welcome.
- FOR ALL SKILL LEVELS—Whether you’re a seasoned adventurer or completely new to roleplaying, everyone is welcome at the Hellfire Club. Everything you need to play is in this box, including a handy quick-start guide and play guide
This is a broad description of a direction, not a complete product specification. The available statements do not establish Maps’ final features, price, release date, geographic availability, or technical requirements beyond those device examples. Nor do they say that Sigil content will transfer into Maps.
| What is known | Sigil | D&D Maps |
|---|---|---|
| Format | 3D virtual tabletop | 2D, browser-based approach, as described by Hasbro CEO Chris Cocks in GamesRadar+ on May 19, 2026 |
| Hardware and access | Cocks said requirements were too high for some users and described object-heavy use as challenging without a high-end gaming computer | Cocks said it was intended to run on an iPad and low-end Windows PC; final requirements are not stated |
| Customization and objects | Cocks said the design struggled with too many objects | Cocks mentioned future customization possibilities; specific capacity and features are not stated |
| Existing Sigil content | Content will no longer be accessible after the servers go offline, according to Wizards’ FAQ | A transfer mechanism is not stated by Wizards or in Cocks’s cited comments |
Are credits or other rewards still available?
The FAQ describes a six-month Master Tier credit for a specific eligibility period, with a redemption deadline of January 6, 2026. That deadline has passed, so the credit is no longer claimable.
Best Value
- THE START OF A LEGENDARY D&D ADVENTURE—Create your first character, fight monsters, save your friends, and embark on thrilling quests. This is the start of something legendary. This is D&D for everyone.
- FAST FUN FOR FRIENDS AND FAMILY—Heroes of the Borderlands is playable in bite-sized, hour-long sessions, perfect for game night with friends and family.
- SET UP AND PLAY IN MINUTES—Get straight to playing with speedy character creation, a handy quick-start guide, and intuitive, learn-as-you-play components.
- GO ON EPIC QUESTS—Three adventure booklets provide dozens of encounters involving combat, social interaction, and exploration.
- CHOOSE YOUR WAY TO PLAY—Do you fight the goblin, try to reason with it, or sneak past it undetected?
The FAQ also describes a replacement digital-dice code for qualifying preorders of the 2024 Core Rulebook bundle and a Sigil Dragon character-sheet backdrop for registered D&D Beyond users. These are separate rewards; the cited information does not establish that either provides a way to preserve or transfer Sigil campaigns.
What players should take from the announcement
Sigil remains usable until the announced October 31, 2026 endpoint, but players who want to keep material from it should save images and copy key notes and journal entries before then. Hasbro has described D&D Maps as a less demanding, 2D browser-based direction, but it has not established a launch date, full feature set, or migration path for Sigil content.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




