October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

FTX News: Latest Updates on the Exchange’s Future

FTX’s latest located announcement concerns a fifth creditor distribution scheduled for July 31, 2026. Here is what it says about class payments, eligibility, and the exchange’s future.
From TheFinanceBase Team4 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

As of October 8, 2026, the latest FTX announcement located was about creditor repayments—not a restart of the FTX.com exchange. Published July 17, it announced a fifth distribution scheduled for July 31, 2026. The available sources do not announce an exchange relaunch.

What is the latest FTX news?

FTX Trading Ltd. and the FTX Recovery Trust announced on July 17, 2026, that an approximately $900 million fifth distribution to eligible creditors would begin July 31. The announcement named BitGo, Kraken, and Payoneer as distribution service providers and said eligible creditors should expect funds from their selected provider within one to three business days of July 31.

The latest item in the FTX press-release index reviewed for this article was that July 17 announcement. It said dates for subsequent distributions would be announced in due course; it did not give a date for another round. That index does not establish whether a separate court filing or other update exists elsewhere.

Is FTX.com reopening?

No relaunch is announced in the latest FTX release or the other cited current materials. The Chapter 11 plan disclosure statement says the plan was not conditioned on restarting the FTX.com exchange and describes cash distributions to creditors. That answers what the plan requires; it does not establish that a future relaunch is impossible.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The current developments described in these sources concern claims administration and creditor payments, not a reopening schedule, exchange services, or a new customer trading platform.

How much did each claim class receive in the fifth distribution?

FTX reported the following class-specific percentages as of the fifth distribution. “Incremental” is the amount for that round; “cumulative” is the total percentage reported after it. The figures apply to allowed claims in the stated classes, not to every former customer or every disputed claim. FTX noted that actual percentages may differ slightly because of rounding.

Claim class Fourth distribution, announced March 31, 2026 Fifth distribution, announced July 17, 2026
Class 5A: Dotcom Customer Entitlement Claims 18% incremental; 96% cumulative 9% incremental; 105% cumulative
Class 5B: U.S. Customer Entitlement Claims 5% incremental; 100% cumulative 5% incremental; 105% cumulative
Class 6A: General Unsecured Claims 15% incremental; 100% cumulative 3% incremental; 103% cumulative
Class 6B: Digital Asset Loan Claims 15% incremental; 100% cumulative 3% incremental; 103% cumulative
Class 7: Convenience Claims 120% cumulative; incremental amount not stated in the March 31 announcement 120% cumulative; incremental amount not stated in the July 17 announcement

The fourth-round figures and its approximately $2.2 billion announced distribution amount come from FTX’s March 31, 2026 announcement. The percentages in the table are not a single recovery rate for all FTX creditors: class, round, and allowed-claim status matter, and a class percentage does not determine an individual payment.

Who qualified for the July 31 payment?

FTX’s distribution FAQ says only holders of allowed claims are eligible. For the fifth round, the claim had to be allowed by the June 16, 2026 record date, and required plan steps had to be completed by that date. The FAQ lists KYC, a valid tax form, sanctions screening, and successful onboarding with a distribution provider among those requirements. It says a holder who missed required steps by the record date would not receive that round’s distribution; it also describes potential forfeiture deadlines for missing tax-form or provider-onboarding requirements.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A published class percentage therefore cannot confirm whether a particular person qualified, the amount they were paid, or whether a payment remains available. Those details depend on the claim and the holder’s completion of the process. For an individual case, check the FTX Customer Portal, the plan documents, and the official case-administrator resources rather than relying on a general repayment figure.

Why can’t I access Step 9 in the FTX Customer Portal?

FTX’s FAQ says Step 9, the Distribution Dashboard, is unavailable for claims that were traded or elected into the Bahamas process. Portal access can therefore differ by claim history and process; an unavailable dashboard alone does not establish a claim’s ultimate status.

FTX EU matters are separate from the U.S. Chapter 11 process and the Bahamas process. According to the FAQ, FTX EU is to determine fiat balances after completion of its sale, while qualifying pending cryptocurrency withdrawals may have been claimed in the U.S. bankruptcy process. Do not treat those processes as interchangeable; use the official guidance for the jurisdiction and claim involved.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How can claimants avoid FTX repayment scams?

Kroll reported that an August 2023 cybersecurity incident involved unauthorized access to its cloud-based systems and that information belonging to some claimants in multiple crypto-related bankruptcy matters may have been accessed. Kroll advised claimants to watch for impersonation and phishing and to verify information through its official FTX case resources. FTX’s July 2026 announcement also warned about phishing and stated: “This is another reminder that FTX will never ask you to connect your wallets.”

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Use the FTX Customer Portal or Kroll’s official FTX case resources to verify a claim-related message.
  • Do not give anyone your password, seed phrase, or private keys for claims processing.
  • Do not connect a wallet in response to a request claiming to be part of an FTX distribution.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.