October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run ScanOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

Did Frostpunk 2 Make Its Money Back? What 350,000 Sales Actually Mean

11 bit studios said Frostpunk 2 sales had covered development costs in September 2024. The 350,000-copy milestone signals cost recovery, not a disclosed profit figure.
From TheFinanceBase Team2 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Yes—by September 26, 2024, 11 bit studios said Frostpunk 2 sales had covered the game’s development costs. That supports saying the game had reached the company’s stated cost-recovery threshold, but it does not establish a specific profit, margin, or audited title-level result. The 350,000-copy milestone is a dated launch figure, not a current sales total.

What 11 bit studios said about Frostpunk 2’s costs

Frostpunk 2 launched for PC on September 20, 2024. In a September 23 sales report, 11 bit studios said the game had sold more than 350,000 copies by 8:00 a.m. that day. Three days later, the studio announced that sales had covered development costs, saying that this would let it continue improving and expanding the game. The September 26 Steam announcement is the source of the cost-recovery claim.

The company’s September 23 report described estimated sales revenue as exceeding production and marketing costs. That is the key qualification behind the word “profitable”: the announcement reports a revenue-versus-cost threshold, not a profit amount. It does not state how much profit the game generated, provide a margin, or present an audited calculation of Frostpunk 2’s standalone earnings. The company’s investor-relations filing index lists the September 23, 2024 sales report.

What the 350,000-copy figure does—and doesn’t—tell you

The figure is a unit-sales milestone measured shortly after launch. It is not a revenue figure: copies may sell at different prices, and gross sales do not by themselves show how much the publisher retained after returns, distribution arrangements, taxes, or other costs. The company’s statement answers a narrower question: it said estimated sales revenue had crossed its stated production and marketing cost threshold.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Frostpunk 2 Deluxe Edition Collector's Box Set, PC Game with Shadowbox, Steam Key, Patches, Postcards, Keychain, Stickers
  • COLLECTOR'S EDITION: Premium box set includes a multi-layered shadowbox featuring the iconic Frostpunk 2 artwork with illuminated goggles design
  • DIGITAL CONTENT: Includes Steam key for Frostpunk 2 Deluxe Edition PC game with all exclusive digital content
  • EXCLUSIVE MEMORABILIA: Features two high-quality postcards from New London with unique artwork and atmospheric designs
  • COLLECTIBLE ACCESSORIES: Comes with a metal keychain and your choice of one of two exclusive embroidered patches representing different factions
  • BONUS ITEMS: Includes specially designed Frostpunk 2 themed stickers to customize your gaming setup or collection display

So, “Frostpunk 2 made its money back” is a fair shorthand for the studio’s September 2024 disclosure. “Frostpunk 2 earned a specific profit” is not supported by that disclosure.

How sales changed after launch

In its November 2024 financial-results release, 11 bit studios reported 441,000 copies sold net of returns by September 30, 2024. The Deluxe Edition represented 53.7% of those sales. The company noted that some Deluxe Edition revenue would be recognized over time as the included paid DLCs were released. Those details make the later figure more informative than the initial launch milestone, but it still does not disclose the game’s title-level profit. The company’s September 2024 results release also reports the group’s financial performance for the first nine months of 2024; those company-wide results should not be read as earnings from Frostpunk 2 alone.

Rank #2
Frostpunk The Board Game - Manage Society in an Ice-Age Apocalypse! Cooperative Survival Strategy Game for Adults, Ages 16+, 1-4 Players, 120-150 Minute Playtime, Made by Rebel Studio
  • POST-APOCALYPTIC SURVIVAL GAME: In Frostpunk, players will take on the role of leaders of a small colony of survivors in a post-apocalyptic world that was hit by a severe ice age. Their duty is to effectively manage both its infrastructure and citizens.
  • STRATEGY BOARD GAME: Make the Laws, send out expeditions to uncover the fate of humanity in the frozen wastes, face the consequences of your actions in front of those you swore to protect.
  • MULTIPLE PATHS TO VICTORY: The players will decide the fate of their people. Will you treat them like another resource? Are you going to be an inspiring builder, a fearless explorer, or a bright scientist? Is your rule going to be a sting of tyranny or an era of law and equality?
  • HIGHLY VARIABLE: The core gameplay is brutal, challenging, and complex, but easy to learn. The citizens won’t just be speechless pieces on the board. Society members will issue demands and react accordingly to the current mood, so every decision and action bears consequences.
  • NUMBER OF PLAYERS AND AVERAGE PLAYTIME: This board game is designed for 1 to 4 players and is suitable for ages 16 and older. Average playtime is approximately 120-150 minutes.

In a 2026 summary of 2025, the company said Frostpunk 2 sales were approaching 880,000 copies during that period. “Approaching” is the company’s wording; it is not an exact current total. The 2025 summary and publishing-schedule release provides that later context.

Rank #4
Frostpunk: Playmat
  • THIS IS AN ACCESSORY FOR FROST PUNK THE BOARD GAME: This playmat is designed for use with the Frost Punk board game, which is sold separately.
  • PREMIUM QUALITY PLAYMAT: This neoprene playmat measures 11.6" by 10" (29.5 cm by 25.6 cm and has stitched corners. It can be placed underneath the main board and provides durable protection for your game.
  • THE PERFECT PLAY SURFACE FOR YOUR FROST PUNK GAMES: The game mat features immersive snowy landscape, and organizational hex overlay for game setup.
  • IMMERSE YOURSELF DEEPER INTO FROST PUNK: The Frost Punk Board Game playmat is illustrated with snowy landscape that represents the surroundings of the place where the Generator was built.
  • NUMBER OF PLAYERS AND AVERAGE PLAYTIME: Frost Punk The Board Game is designed for 1 to 4 players and is suitable for ages 16 and older. Average playtime is approximately 120-150 minutes.
Rank #3
Frostpunk: The Board Game - Gamer All-in Pledge/Bundle - Sundrop
  • Frostpunk: The Board Game
  • Frostpunk: The Board Game Miniatures expansion
  • Frostpunk: The Board Game Resources expansion
  • Frostlander expansion
  • Frostpunk: The Board Game Dreadnought expansion
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What a personal-finance reader should take away

  • Cost recovery: 11 bit studios said sales had covered development costs by September 26, 2024, and its sales report described estimated revenue exceeding production and marketing costs.
  • Profit remains unquantified: The cost-recovery announcement gives no title-level profit or margin. Do not substitute 11 bit studios’ company-wide earnings for a game-specific result.
  • Sales figures need dates and definitions: The 350,000-plus figure was reported shortly after launch; the 441,000 figure was net of returns through September 30, 2024; the later figure was only described as approaching 880,000 during 2025.
  • Revenue timing matters: Some Deluxe Edition revenue was to be recognized as its included paid DLCs were released, so reported copies and recognized revenue need not move in lockstep.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.