The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Cate Blanchett said that no one was paid to make The Lord of the Rings, joking that she received free sandwiches and got to keep her elf ears. That is her reported answer in a 2024 interview—not a verified payroll record for Blanchett or the entire cast.
What did Cate Blanchett say about her Lord of the Rings pay?
During an August 2024 appearance on Watch What Happens Live, host Andy Cohen guessed that The Lord of the Rings was the film for which Blanchett received her biggest paycheck. She disagreed. Variety reported her response: “No, no one got paid anything to do that movie.” She then joked, “I basically got free sandwiches, and I got to keep my [elf] ears.” The brackets around “elf” are Variety’s editorial clarification, not part of the spoken wording. Variety’s report recounts the exchange.
The Independent reported that the exchange took place during the show’s “Plead the Fifth” segment, while Blanchett and Gina Gershon were promoting Borderlands. The Independent’s account provides that interview context.
How much did Cate Blanchett get paid?
Blanchett did not state a dollar amount. Her reported remark was that nobody was paid anything, followed by a joke about sandwiches and her elf ears. The available reports establish what she said; they do not provide her contract or an independently verified account of her compensation.
Did the Lord of the Rings cast get paid?
Blanchett’s remark should not be treated as proof that every cast member received literally no compensation. The reports do not include a complete cast payroll or contract records, and individual accounts from other actors describe different figures.
| Actor | Reported pay statement | What the figure covers |
|---|---|---|
| Orlando Bloom | $175,000, as recapped by The Guardian in 2025 | All three films |
| Sean Astin | $250,000, as reported by The Guardian in 2025 | The report does not specify the number of films covered |
The Guardian also quoted Elijah Wood describing the fees as “not massive” and the trilogy commitment as a “real gamble.” These are individual accounts, not audited contract data or a cast-wide pay scale. The Guardian’s 2025 report recounts the figures and Wood’s comments. The Los Angeles Times has also noted Bloom’s comments about low compensation. The Los Angeles Times report discusses the broader pay conversation.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- The Lord Of The Rings
- The Motion Picture Trilogy
Rank #3
What the reported figures can—and cannot—tell you
- Blanchett’s answer was an interview remark, not a disclosed contract figure.
- Bloom’s reported $175,000 figure is expressly for the trilogy; Astin’s reported $250,000 figure has no film count specified in the cited account.
- The figures come from actors’ accounts as reported by news outlets, not a verified payroll record.
- A handful of individual accounts cannot establish what every cast member earned or what compensation terms applied.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




