Companies in technology, banking, manufacturing and other sectors have announced or considered job cuts while increasing their focus on artificial intelligence (AI), automation or efficiency. But “AI-linked” does not always mean AI directly caused the layoffs: company explanations range from automation to broader restructuring, and some cuts are still only under consideration.
Which companies are cutting jobs as they shift investment toward AI?
Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists the examples below. It combines announced cuts with planned, expected and contemplated reductions; the status and timing matter as much as the number. The figures are Reuters-reported, not independently verified here against each company’s original announcement.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Company | Reuters-reported cuts and status | Reported context |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup reports 16,000 corporate cuts announced in January 2026. | Reuters describes an overhaul tied to AI and efficiency. The roundup also lists a separate July 2026 reduction in Amazon’s AGI group, without a number. |
| HSBC Holdings | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup says HSBC is weighing 20,000 cuts, about 10% of its workforce; these are contemplated, not completed. | The reported possibility comes as an AI overhaul unfolds. |
| Standard Chartered | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup reports more than 7,000 cuts over four years. | Reuters describes the plan as AI-driven operational streamlining and profitability optimization. |
| HP Inc. | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup reports a plan for 4,000–6,000 global cuts by the end of 2028. | Reuters associates the plan with AI and operational streamlining. |
| Microsoft | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup reports 4,800 cuts announced in July 2026, or 2.1% of the workforce. | The cuts affect commercial and Xbox businesses. |
| Dow | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup reports 4,500 cuts announced in January 2026. | Reuters notes automation and AI streamlining. |
| Block | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup reports more than 4,000 cuts announced in February 2026, nearly half the workforce. | The company described an AI-focused restructuring. |
| Cisco | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup reports fewer than 4,000 cuts announced in May 2026, with expected pretax charges of up to $1 billion. | CEO Chuck Robbins told employees that “the companies that will win in the AI era will be those with focus, urgency, and the discipline to continuously shift investment,” as AP reported on May 14, 2026. That statement is the CEO’s explanation, not independent proof of why each role was cut. |
| Intuit | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup reports approximately 3,000 cuts announced in May 2026, about 17% of the workforce. | The announcement accompanied operational streamlining and increased AI focus. |
| SEB | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup reports up to 2,100 cuts by the end of 2027. | The cuts are part of a restructuring to use AI. |
| Atlassian | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup reports 1,600 cuts announced in March 2026, around 10% of the workforce. | The announcement came alongside a push into AI and enterprise sales. |
| Meta | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup reports a March 2026 possibility of cuts reaching 20% of the workforce; this is a reported possibility, not a completed reduction. The roundup separately lists more than 1,000 Reality Labs cuts in January 2026 and about 600 Superintelligence Labs cuts in October 2026. | The reported possibility came amid an AI focus and planned $600 billion data-center investment by 2028. The separate division entries should not be merged with the possible workforce-wide figure. |
Reuters’ October 12 roundup also includes these entries. Where it does not establish a date or whether a cut was announced, planned or contemplated in the information available here, that status is not stated.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →| Company | Reuters-reported figure and qualification | Context or status |
|---|---|---|
| Wisetech | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists 2,000 cuts. | Status and rationale are not stated here. |
| Allianz | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists up to 1,800 cuts. | Status and rationale are not stated here. |
| Proximus | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists 1,200 cuts by 2030. | The time horizon is multi-year; further status and rationale are not stated here. |
| Cloudflare | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists more than 1,100 cuts. | Status and rationale are not stated here. |
| Snap | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists about 1,000 cuts. | Status and rationale are not stated here. |
| Autodesk | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists about 1,000 cuts. | Status and rationale are not stated here. |
| Nike | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists 775 cuts. | Status and rationale are not stated here. |
| Telstra | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists 650 cuts. | Status and rationale are not stated here. |
| Fair Isaac (FICO) | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists about 570 cuts. | Status and rationale are not stated here. |
| Freshworks | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists about 500 cuts. | Status and rationale are not stated here. |
| Danske Bank | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists 420 cuts. | Status and rationale are not stated here. |
| DNB | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists about 400 cuts. | Status and rationale are not stated here. |
| Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists cuts of up to 15% of the workforce. | Status and rationale are not stated here. | |
| MercadoLibre | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists 119 cuts. | Status and rationale are not stated here. |
| Kroger | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup reports about 3,000 corporate cuts in October 2026. | Reuters describes an AI- and efficiency-drive overhaul. |
| British American Tobacco | Reuters’ October 12, 2026 roundup lists a February 2026 productivity program without a specified number. It separately lists a June 2026 plan for 5,500 job cuts and the transfer of 3,500 roles to third parties. | These are separately dated entries and should not be combined into one cut figure. |
Does “AI-linked” mean workers were replaced by AI?
Not necessarily. An announcement can mention AI because a company is redirecting investment, changing its structure or pursuing efficiency, without showing that a particular role was automated or replaced by an AI system. The Associated Press reported on May 14, 2026 that companies’ explanations are often broad and that AI is rarely the only reason they cite.
#1 Best Overall
It helps to distinguish three kinds of claims:
- AI or automation explicitly cited: A company or report connects the cuts to AI adoption, automation or an AI-related operating change. That is evidence of the stated rationale, but not proof that AI alone caused each redundancy.
- Layoffs alongside AI investment: A company announces cuts while emphasizing AI investment or strategy. The overlap does not establish that the investment directly displaced the affected employees.
- Efficiency or restructuring without AI cited as the catalyst: A reduction may be framed as simplification or cost control rather than AI-driven job replacement.
Uber illustrates the last distinction. Axios reported on September 2, 2026 that Uber planned cuts equal to 10% of its workforce to simplify operations; the company did not cite AI as the catalyst. Axios reported the company had approximately 36,600 employees globally as of June 30, 2026, based on a public filing. CEO Dara Khosrowshahi described the changes as intended to “make Uber simpler and faster, and create more capacity to invest in our future.” That is an operational-simplification rationale, not evidence of AI replacing those workers.
How many jobs are being cut because of AI?
The reported company figures do not establish a reliable total of jobs lost specifically because of AI. Reuters’ roundup spans different dates and time horizons, and it mixes announced cuts with planned, expected and contemplated reductions. The explanations also differ: some cite AI or automation directly, while others describe broader efficiency or restructuring.
Rank #2
Adding the figures together would therefore produce a misleading total. It would count uncertain plans as if they had happened, risk combining separately reported entries, and imply a common cause that the announcements do not establish. The sources reviewed also do not quantify AI’s net effect on employment, including any new roles created as demand for AI grows.
What should workers and households take from these announcements?
A company-wide headline is not a forecast of an individual employee’s job security. Cuts can be limited to particular business units, spread over several years or still under consideration. For personal planning, distinguish a confirmed employer notice from a broad sector trend, and look for the affected division, location, timetable and whether the company has described the action as a proposal or a decision.
AP’s May 14, 2026 reporting captures both worker concern about job prospects and executives’ expectation that AI demand may create new roles. The reporting does not quantify the balance between jobs displaced and jobs created, so neither a net-loss figure nor a guaranteed hiring offset can be inferred from these announcements.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




