The best cloud certification for a solution architect is usually the one tied to the platform your target employers use. Choose AWS for AWS architecture roles, Azure Solutions Architect Expert for Azure and hybrid-cloud roles, or Google Professional Cloud Architect for Google Cloud. The practical differences are the prerequisites, exam costs and format, and how much ongoing renewal each credential requires.
As of October 3, 2026, the clearest cost figure in the vendor information compared here is Microsoft’s AZ-305 exam at $165 USD, with regional pricing variation. Google lists its exam at $200 plus tax. The reviewed AWS pages do not state one universal exam price. Those amounts do not include preparation materials or the value of study time.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the three certification paths
| Certification | Best fit | Prerequisites and experience | Exam and cost | Validity and renewal |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate | Early- to mid-career AWS architects and engineers. | No formal prerequisite is listed in the reviewed AWS information; prior cloud or IT experience is recommended. AWS provides preparation materials. | AWS lists the exam, but the reviewed page does not state a universal price. Confirm the current fee and exam details with AWS before booking. | AWS provides recertification options; check the current rule for this specific credential. AWS says its recertification pathways can extend certification validity for three years, but the reviewed information does not establish a single renewal rule for every credential. |
| AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Professional | Experienced AWS architects designing complex, multi-application environments. | Advanced AWS architecture knowledge is expected. The reviewed page does not list a mandatory prerequisite. | The SAP-C02 exam is available through November 17, 2026. The reviewed page does not state a universal fee; verify the current cost and any replacement exam with AWS before scheduling. | AWS offers recertification pathways that can extend validity for three years. Confirm the applicable option for this credential. |
| Microsoft Certified: Azure Solutions Architect Expert | Architects designing Azure and hybrid-cloud solutions in Microsoft environments. | Earn Azure Administrator Associate, then pass AZ-305. | AZ-305 is listed at $165 USD; the price varies by country or region. Microsoft says it assesses identity, governance and monitoring; data storage; business continuity; and infrastructure design. The English exam version was updated April 17, 2026. | Microsoft role-based certifications can be renewed at no cost by passing an online assessment before the certification expires. |
| Google Professional Cloud Architect | Architects designing and managing Google Cloud workloads. | No prerequisite. Google recommends at least three years of industry experience, including at least one year designing and managing Google Cloud solutions. | The standard exam is two hours, with 50–60 multiple-choice or multiple-select questions. Two case studies account for 20–30% of questions. Google lists the fee as $200 plus tax. | Valid for two years. Google describes renewal options involving another exam and eligible learning-path options; check the current requirements before relying on a particular route. |
Vendor exam requirements, fees, exam versions, retirement dates, and renewal policies can change. The details above reflect vendor information available as of October 3, 2026; confirm the current terms on the relevant certification page before paying or planning around a credential.
Which one should you choose?
Choose AWS when your target roles are AWS-first
AWS offers two architecture levels, so the Associate credential is a more natural fit for someone building experience, while Professional is aimed at architects handling complex designs across applications. AWS positions its Professional credential around solving complex problems and optimizing security, cost, and performance. If you are considering that exam, its stated availability through November 17, 2026 makes checking for a replacement exam especially important before booking.
#1 Best Overall
Choose Azure when your work is built around Microsoft and hybrid systems
Azure Solutions Architect Expert is a fit when the roles you want involve designing Azure or hybrid solutions. Its two-step requirement matters to your plan: the Azure Administrator Associate must come first, so account for that additional certification effort rather than budgeting for AZ-305 alone. Microsoft describes the architect role as designing cloud and hybrid solutions that run on Azure.
Choose Google Cloud when your target workloads are on Google Cloud
Google Professional Cloud Architect is the direct option for designing and managing Google Cloud solutions, and it has no formal prerequisite. Google’s role description covers solution design, infrastructure provisioning, security and compliance, process optimization, implementation management, and operational excellence. Its case-study portion also means you should be comfortable applying architectural judgment to a business scenario, not just recalling product features.
Rank #2
How to weigh the cost and time before paying
The exam fee is only one part of the investment. Estimate the full commitment for the credential you are considering, including any prerequisite exam, preparation resources, and time away from paid work or other study. The information compared here does not establish equivalent prices for all exams, and AWS’s reviewed pages do not provide a universal fee; avoid treating an incomplete fee comparison as a complete cost comparison.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →- Check the role before the credential. Review job descriptions for the employers and roles you want. A certification on a platform they do not use may be less relevant than practical experience on their primary cloud.
- Include prerequisites in the budget. For Azure, the administrator certification is required before AZ-305. For AWS Associate, prior experience is recommended, while AWS Professional expects advanced architecture knowledge.
- Compare maintenance effort. Microsoft offers free online renewal assessments before expiration; Google’s credential has a two-year validity period; AWS recertification depends on the applicable pathway. Check each vendor’s current rules as part of your decision.
- Set a spending limit for preparation. AWS points candidates to official training and preparation materials, including practice questions. Microsoft and Google also publish official learning resources. Decide what you need before buying books, courses, or practice exams, and verify that materials match the current exam version.
There is no independent evidence in the information compared here that one of these credentials universally produces better salary or hiring outcomes. Treat a certification as proof of structured platform knowledge, not a guaranteed pay increase or job offer.
Rank #3
Match the exam to your architecture experience
Use the assessment scope to identify gaps before you register. A solution architect needs to connect technical design to business needs, but the tested domains differ by provider. Microsoft names specific AZ-305 domains, Google emphasizes both operational and design responsibilities, and AWS Professional emphasizes complex solutions and optimization. Compare those areas with work you have actually done, then prepare for the gaps rather than assuming a credential title alone signals readiness.
- If you have mostly operational experience, first assess whether you can explain architecture decisions, trade-offs, security, and cost—not only carry out deployments.
- If you already design solutions on a platform, use that hands-on experience to identify areas the vendor exam expects that your projects have not covered.
- If you have not worked on the vendor’s cloud, review its official exam guide and learning path before paying for an exam. A certification can assess product-specific knowledge that general IT experience does not automatically provide.
AWS certification scale is context, not a hiring guarantee
AWS reported more than 1.42 million active AWS Certifications and 1.05 million unique AWS Certified individuals in January 2025. That figure describes the size of AWS’s certification population at that time; it does not show how much a credential changes an individual candidate’s odds of employment or pay.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Rank #4
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches




