Best verified deal: As of August 18, 2026, Costco listed Office Home 2024 for $149.99 with a $25 Visa eGift Card, for about $124.99 in promotional value before tax and any membership cost. It is a member-only offer for one PC or Mac and is for non-commercial use. If you need Outlook or commercial-use rights, choose Office Home & Business 2024; if you need several devices or users, compare Microsoft 365. No purchase is entirely risk-free, but buying from Microsoft or an identifiable retailer and redeeming through your own Microsoft account avoids many of the risks associated with unusually cheap standalone keys.
The best verified Office 2024 deals
These are U.S. prices observed on August 18, 2026. Prices, stock, membership conditions and promotions can change; check the seller’s live listing before purchasing. The Costco offer has the lowest verified promotional value among these offers, while Microsoft is the clearest direct-purchase option.
| Seller and edition | Price and conditions | Apps and license | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Costco: Office Home 2024 | $149.99 plus a $25 Visa eGift Card; member-only. Costco says price and availability may vary by warehouse. The gift card is promotional value, not an instant checkout reduction. | One-time purchase for one PC or Mac; Word, Excel, PowerPoint and OneNote. | Costco members buying for non-commercial home or school use who do not need Outlook. |
| Microsoft: Office Home 2024 | $179.99. | One-time purchase for one PC or Mac; Word, Excel, PowerPoint and OneNote. | Home or school users who want to buy directly from Microsoft. |
| Microsoft: Office Home & Business 2024 | $249.99. | One-time purchase for one PC or Mac; Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and OneNote. | Freelancers, home offices and small businesses that need Outlook or commercial-use rights. |
| Best Buy: Office Home 2024 | Reliable current price was not stated on the product page capture checked August 18, 2026. Listing says sold by Best Buy. | One device; Word, Excel, PowerPoint and OneNote. | A retailer comparison point; confirm the live price and edition before buying. |
Why Costco is the best verified promotion
At $149.99, the Costco listing is $30 below Microsoft’s $179.99 direct price for Office Home 2024. The additional $25 Visa eGift Card brings the approximate promotional value to $124.99 before tax and any membership cost. You only realize that value if you can use the card, and it does not reduce the amount charged at checkout.
The Costco listing is for Office Home 2024, not Home & Business: it does not include Outlook and is marked for non-commercial use. The license covers one PC or Mac. Check membership eligibility, local availability and the current offer terms on Costco’s listing.
#1 Best Overall
- Classic Office Apps | Includes classic desktop versions of Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and OneNote for creating documents, spreadsheets, and presentations with ease.
- Install on a Single Device | Install classic desktop Office Apps for use on a single Windows laptop, Windows desktop, MacBook, or iMac.
- Ideal for One Person | With a one-time purchase of Microsoft Office 2024, you can create, organize, and get things done.
- Consider Upgrading to Microsoft 365 | Get premium benefits with a Microsoft 365 subscription, including ongoing updates, advanced security, and access to premium versions of Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, and more, plus 1TB cloud storage per person and multi-device support for Windows, Mac, iPhone, iPad, and Android.
Which Office edition should you buy?
| Edition | Included apps | Use and device | Price observed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Office Home 2024 | Word, Excel, PowerPoint and OneNote; no Outlook. | One-time license for one PC or Mac; non-commercial home or school use. | $179.99 from Microsoft; Costco’s promotional offer is described above. |
| Office Home & Business 2024 | Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and OneNote. | One-time license for one PC or Mac; intended for home and business use. | $249.99 from Microsoft. |
Choose Office Home 2024 for home or school
It suits a student, family member or home user who needs the four included apps on one computer, does not need Outlook and will not use the license commercially. A lower price does not make it the right choice for business use: Microsoft identifies the edition as non-commercial.
Choose Home & Business 2024 for work or Outlook
If you need Outlook or will use Office for freelance, professional or small-business work, the $249.99 edition is the relevant one-time-purchase option. It costs $70 more than Office Home at Microsoft’s observed prices, but includes Outlook and is intended for business use.
Office 2024 or Microsoft 365?
Office 2024 is a one-time purchase tied to a specific release; Microsoft 365 is a recurring subscription with current applications and connected services. They are not feature-for-feature equivalents. Microsoft’s U.S. comparison page listed these subscription prices on August 18, 2026:
| Option | Observed U.S. price | Devices and users | What changes the value |
|---|---|---|---|
| Office Home 2024 | $179.99 once from Microsoft. | One PC or Mac. | Fixed 2024 release; no automatic entitlement to the next major version. |
| Office Home & Business 2024 | $249.99 once from Microsoft. | One PC or Mac. | Includes Outlook and commercial-use rights; no automatic next-version upgrade. |
| Microsoft 365 Personal | $99.99 per year or $9.99 per month. | One person using multiple devices. | Current apps, ongoing feature updates, cloud storage and connected services; recurring payment. |
| Microsoft 365 Family | $129.99 per year or $12.99 per month. | Plan owner plus up to five additional people, under Microsoft’s sharing terms. | Each person gets apps and storage; sharing can make it a better household fit, but the subscription recurs. |
At the listed annual rates, $179.99 for Office Home is roughly the cost of 1.8 years of Microsoft 365 Personal, and $249.99 for Home & Business is roughly 2.5 years. These are simple price comparisons, not guaranteed long-term savings: subscription rates, promotions, tax and future releases can change. Microsoft 365 includes multi-device access and services that a one-device Office 2024 license does not.
Recommended Free Tools
When Microsoft 365 is the better fit
- One person needs Office across several computers, tablets or phones.
- You want ongoing feature updates, cloud-connected services or OneDrive storage.
- Several people need separate app access and storage; Family can be shared with up to five additional people under Microsoft’s terms.
- You already pay for Microsoft 365: check what your subscription includes before buying Office 2024, which will not replace its storage or subscription features.
When a free web app may be enough
If you need basic Word, Excel or PowerPoint work in a browser and do not require full desktop apps or offline use, consider Microsoft’s free web apps. They are not a complete replacement for desktop Office where advanced Excel features, macros, formatting, offline work or compatibility matter.
Rank #2
- Lifetime License for 5 Users: Perpetual access for 5 users to TrulyOffice 2024 on Window, ensuring a versatile 4-in-1 suite, catering to the needs of 5 users.
- Digital Delivery: Please note that this product is not a physical CD. You will be delivered an activation code to access the software digitally. Compatible with Windows 7 or later and macOS 10.14 or later.
- Activation Instructions: Detailed instructions for activating your software are included with the delivery. Follow these steps to download and install your product.
- Full MS Office Compatibility and Comprehensive Productivity: Experience smooth collaboration with full compatibility with MSOffice, support for all major formats, and access to Words, Slides, Sheets, and Cloud with offline and premium features.
- Offline Access, Premium Features and Cloud Access: Access Truly Words, Truly Sheets, Truly Slides and Truly Cloud offline with premium features; safeguard your files with secure cloud storage.
How to avoid risky Office keys
Microsoft warns that separately sold product keys can be stolen, fraudulently obtained, counterfeit, or unauthorized for resale. A key might activate initially and later be blocked. A very low price is not proof of fraud, but it also does not establish that the license is valid or transferable. Offers that rely on an unclear license chain do not meet a low-risk buying standard. See Microsoft’s guidance on invalid Office product keys.
Be cautious when a listing:
- Advertises “lifetime Office” for a tiny fraction of the normal price without clearly identifying the license and seller.
- Sends only a 25-character key without a normal retail purchase or Microsoft-account redemption path.
- Sells “Professional Plus 2024” to consumers without explaining the license. Professional Plus is commonly associated with volume licensing, not an ordinary consumer retail purchase.
- Asks you to run a command prompt script, use an unofficial activator or follow a phone-activation workaround.
- Does not state whether the license is retail, OEM or volume, or promises unlimited devices despite the one-device limit of the retail editions covered here.
- Provides a key that works only through an account controlled by the seller.
- Appears on a marketplace but is sold by a third party rather than the retailer itself. Check who sells the item, not just the platform displaying it.
For a purchase with a clear licensing chain, buy from Microsoft or an identifiable retailer, confirm the edition and device count, and use the retailer’s normal return process. Microsoft’s warning is not a claim that every third-party offer is counterfeit; it is a reason not to treat a dramatically discounted key as automatically safe.
Redeem, install and activate Office safely
- Buy the correct edition from Microsoft or a reputable retailer. Keep the receipt and, if supplied, the product key.
- If your purchase includes a key, use Microsoft’s official Office setup and redemption route, rather than a link or account supplied by an unknown seller.
- Sign in with the Microsoft account you want associated with the license and complete redemption. Microsoft describes a product key as a unique 25-character alphanumeric code; keep it as proof of purchase even after associating the license with your account.
- On the PC or Mac covered by the license, sign in to that same Microsoft account and download Office from the account’s services or product section.
- Install Office, open Word or another included app, and sign in with the same account if prompted to activate.
- Check the edition shown in your Microsoft account or the application’s account page, and retain your receipt and key securely.
Microsoft’s product-key guidance is available on its Office Home & Business 2024 page.
If activation fails
- Check that the key is for the edition you bought and that you are signed in with the account used at redemption.
- If another Office installation is interfering, remove the conflicting installation before reinstalling. Microsoft notes that its uninstall troubleshooter may not remove Office 2024 in some situations, so manual removal may be needed. Follow Microsoft’s installation troubleshooting guidance.
- Contact the retailer promptly for a refund or replacement if the key is invalid or stops working. Do not try unofficial scripts or activators; Microsoft advises contacting the seller when a key does not work.
What a one-time purchase does—and does not—include
“One-time purchase” means you pay once for the specified Office 2024 edition; it does not give you the next major Office release automatically. Microsoft says a future major-version upgrade would require another purchase. Office 2024 can still receive applicable updates and security support during its support period; it is not the same as an ongoing Microsoft 365 feature-update subscription. See Microsoft’s Office 2024 and Office LTSC 2024 FAQ.
Support terms depend on the product. Microsoft gives Office LTSC 2024 an end-of-support date of October 9, 2029, but the consumer Office 2024 editions are covered under Microsoft’s Modern Lifecycle Policy. Do not assume the LTSC fixed end date is the consumer edition’s support promise; check Microsoft’s current lifecycle information for the product you own.
Rank #3
- ONLY FOR WINDOWS 10 & 11 | NOT FOR MAC, CHROMEBOOK, ANDROID OR IPHONE
- NO CD / NO USB STICK. INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS AND KEY WILL BE SENT VIA AMAZON MESSAGE ! PLEASE CHECK : My Account > Message Center > Buyer/Seller Messages
- This suite includes the following products: Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, OneNote & Access
- Please follow the installation instructions and contact our support team for free TeamViewer installation/activation service if you encounter any problems.
- Please check your Amazon inbox for order updates under My Account > Message Center > Buyer/Seller Messages
Check device and operating-system compatibility
Microsoft lists Windows 10 or Windows 11 for PC, and recent macOS versions for Mac, for Office Home 2024. The listed PC requirements include a 1.6 GHz two-core processor, 4 GB RAM for 64-bit Windows (2 GB for 32-bit), 4 GB available disk space and a 1024×768 display; Microsoft lists DirectX 10 graphics hardware acceleration. For Mac, the listed disk-space requirement is 10 GB and the display requirement is 1280×800. macOS support follows Microsoft’s rolling supported-version policy, so verify your particular macOS version on the Office Home 2024 requirements page before purchase.
Office’s listed Windows 10 compatibility is separate from Windows 10’s security-support status: Microsoft’s general support for Windows 10 ended on October 14, 2025. An Office app being technically compatible does not restore support for the operating system.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Office Home 2024 and Home & Business 2024 are available for Mac as well as PC. Outlook is included only in Home & Business among these two editions; Access is not available on Mac. Check the current requirements for your particular device before buying.
Who should buy Office 2024?
- Choose Office Home 2024 if you need Word, Excel, PowerPoint and OneNote for non-commercial use on one computer, do not need Outlook, and prefer a one-time payment. The Costco offer is the best verified promotional value here if membership and the gift card work for you.
- Choose Office Home & Business 2024 if you need Outlook or business-use rights, want a one-time purchase, and one computer is enough.
- Choose Microsoft 365 Personal if one person needs apps on several devices, cloud storage or ongoing updates.
- Choose Microsoft 365 Family if several people need their own apps and storage; compare its recurring cost with the number of separate licenses you would otherwise need.
- Skip suspicious standalone keys if the seller, license type, account redemption path or refund process is unclear. A low price does not compensate for a license whose validity you cannot establish.
A one-time retail license is intended for one PC or Mac, not a household’s multiple computers. Do not assume unlimited transfers after replacing a device; transfer rights depend on the applicable Microsoft license terms and circumstances. Buy separate licenses or compare Microsoft 365 if one device will not be enough. For Microsoft’s installation and reinstallation guidance, see Microsoft’s Office installation troubleshooting page.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




