Bridgestone and Jaguar Land Rover (JLR) both suffered publicly reported cyber incidents during September 2025, but available evidence does not prove that either attack began or was detected on the same calendar day. Bridgestone Americas reported interruptions at manufacturing and retreading facilities in North and Latin America before saying network connections were restored and production was ramping up by 17 September. JLR said it shut down systems proactively, causing severe disruption to retail and production, and later outlined a phased restart.
What is actually known about the timing?
The incidents overlapped in September 2025. Public statements and reporting identify the same general period, not an identical intrusion or discovery date. Bridgestone did not disclose when its intrusion was first detected. JLR’s first public statement was dated 2 September, but that date does not establish when the incident started.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
There is also no established evidence that the two incidents were connected. Bridgestone’s intrusion remained unattributed in the reporting reviewed, and claims by criminal groups or loose collectives should not be treated as confirmation.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsHow the two incidents differed
| Question | Bridgestone Americas | Jaguar Land Rover |
|---|---|---|
| Publicly reported timing | September 2025; exact detection date not disclosed | Initial statement issued 2 September 2025 |
| Geographic or facility scope | Several North American and Latin American manufacturing and retreading facilities | Global retail and production operations were described as severely disrupted |
| Operational effect | Production interruptions, followed by restoration of facility connections and a ramp-up by 17 September | Systems were proactively shut down; manufacturing recovery proceeded in controlled phases |
| Customer-data finding | Whether attackers accessed information was not disclosed | JLR said on 2 September that it had no evidence at that stage that customer data had been stolen |
| Public attribution | Not established | Not established in the cited updates |
| Published recovery milestone | Central-network connections restored and production ramping up by 17 September | Manufacturing restart scheduled from 8 October, beginning at two West Midlands facilities |
What happened at Bridgestone?
Manufacturing interruptions
Bridgestone Americas described the event as a limited cyber incident affecting certain manufacturing facilities. Reporting on 17 September said production was interrupted at several North American and Latin American manufacturing and retreading sites. The company operates more than 50 facilities and employs more than 55,000 people in the region; those figures describe its regional scale, not the size or cost of the incident.
#1 Best Overall
- Full Depth 3d Sipes Provide Strong Wear Performance And Grip On Snowy Roads
- Groove Channel Evolving Sipes And Snow Vices Promote Snow Compaction And High-speed Water Flow
- Open Shoulder Slots Provide Efficient Water Evacuation From The Footprint In Wet Conditions
- Evolving Sipes Provide Improved Wet And Snow Performance¹
Network restoration
By 17 September, Bridgestone said connections between affected facilities and its central computer network had been restored and that production was ramping up. It did not publish a complete timetable for restoring all production capacity.
Details still undisclosed
- The date the intrusion was first detected.
- How attackers entered the environment.
- What information, if any, attackers accessed.
- The financial impact or number of records involved.
- Any verified attacker identity or responsibility claim.
A Bridgestone Americas spokesperson said the company would continue monitoring for signs of issues related to the “limited cyber incident,” while prioritising the safety and security of its systems.
Rank #2
- The next evolution of All-Season—a quiet, long-lasting touring tire with true all-weather protection
- Superior Wet and Dry Grip
- 24 Peak Mountain Snowflake Certified for snow performance
What happened at Jaguar Land Rover?
Initial shutdown and disruption
In its 2 September statement, JLR said it had been affected by a cyber incident and had proactively shut down systems while working to restart global applications. It said retail and production activities were severely disrupted. JLR also said, using time-specific wording, that there was no evidence at that stage that customer data had been stolen. That statement was not a final forensic conclusion about all possible data impact.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Government support
On 5 September, a UK National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) spokesperson said, “We are working with Jaguar Land Rover to provide support in relation to an incident.” The spokesperson urged organisations to use the NCSC’s free guidance, services and tools to reduce the chances of a cyber attack and improve resilience.
Rank #3
- Go Up to 50 Miles After a Puncture
- Country of Origin : Japan
- Quiet Ride and Confident Handling
- Touring Tire With All-Season Performance
Phased recovery
On 29 September, JLR said sections of its digital estate were operating and that some manufacturing operations were expected to resume in the following days through a controlled, phased restart.
On 7 October, JLR announced that manufacturing restart would begin on 8 October at its Electric Propulsion Manufacturing Centre and Battery Assembly Centre in the West Midlands, with additional plants and production lines expected to follow. It also described supplier-support measures, including a help desk, manual invoice payments and work to re-establish automated supplier payment systems.
Rank #4
- The next evolution of All-Season—a quiet, long-lasting touring tire with true all-weather protection
- Superior Wet and Dry Grip
- 35 Peak Mountain Snowflake Certified for snow performance
Did the Bridgestone attack stop production?
It interrupted production at several facilities, according to reporting on the company’s September update. The evidence supports a disruption and a subsequent ramp-up, not a claim that every Bridgestone plant stopped or that the entire company’s output was halted. A complete duration and final capacity-restoration figure were not published in the material available.
Recommended Free Tools
What should customers, suppliers and investors take from the incidents?
For customers
JLR’s 2 September wording addressed what it knew at that time; it should not be rewritten as proof that no customer data was ever affected. Bridgestone did not disclose a comparable customer-data determination.
Best Value
- Original Equipment (OE) tire on select vehicles. See Sizes and Specifications for Original Equipment fitments.
- Fit type: Vehicle Specific
- Load capacity: 1168 pounds
- Full service tread depth for enhanced wear
For suppliers
JLR’s recovery plan shows why a cyber shutdown can extend beyond a company’s own applications: supplier invoicing and automated payment systems also required temporary workarounds and restoration.
For investors and business partners
Operational disruption can be material even when a company has not confirmed data theft. The public record here provides no independently verified incident-cost, records-affected or full-duration figure for either event, so those measures should not be inferred.
Bottom line on the “same day” claim
The careful answer is no verified same-day start. Bridgestone’s and JLR’s incidents coincided during September 2025, but the sources do not establish identical onset or detection dates, and they do not show that the incidents were linked. Bridgestone experienced facility-level production interruptions and reported a network-restoration ramp-up by 17 September; JLR experienced severe retail and production disruption after a proactive shutdown and documented a phased manufacturing restart beginning 8 October.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




