What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
CWRT’s current website describes its Start Up Loan as serving new and early-stage businesses in Warwickshire, not as a nationwide loan. The cited sources do not verify an announcement that opened these loans to companies nationally. CWRT’s separate Business Loan has a broader geographic description, but that does not establish nationwide eligibility for its Start Up Loan.
Are CWRT Start Up Loans available nationwide?
That is not established by the available published information. CWRT’s current homepage describes its Start Up Loan as being for new and early-stage businesses in Warwickshire. The national-opening announcement referred to in the headline was not located in the cited sources, so its date, scope and application conditions cannot be confirmed. Check the original announcement or ask CWRT directly before relying on nationwide availability.
CWRT is described by the British Business Bank as a not-for-profit, FCA-authorised specialist business finance provider primarily serving Coventry and Warwickshire. British Business Bank: CWRT profile
What CWRT currently publishes about its loans
| Product | Published geography and business stage | Amount and term | Uses and rate information |
|---|---|---|---|
| Start Up Loan | New and early-stage businesses in Warwickshire, according to CWRT’s current homepage | Up to £25,000; repayment over 24–60 months | Start-up costs, working capital and growth. The homepage does not state an interest rate. |
| Business Loan | Businesses across the Midlands, including those seeking to start, grow or create positive social or economic impact; CWRT says it may support businesses further afield subject to application criteria | £25,001–£250,000; repayment over 12–60 months | Eligibility and permitted purposes depend on application criteria; the homepage does not state an interest rate. |
These are CWRT’s current product descriptions, not a guarantee of eligibility or approval. Read the lender’s current loan information and confirm the criteria that apply to your business before applying.
#1 Best Overall
Why the 2025 funding announcement does not prove national Start Up Loan access
On 8 September 2025, the British Business Bank announced CWRT as an accredited delivery partner under its Community ENABLE Funding programme. It said up to £13 million had been allocated to CWRT for loans above £25,000 to underserved smaller businesses across the West Midlands. This is a separate, regional programme; it does not establish that CWRT’s Start Up Loan is available nationally. British Business Bank announcement, 8 September 2025
In that announcement, the Bank reported that CWRT had lent £30.37 million since 2010. Separately, the Bank’s CWRT profile reports almost 1,000 businesses supported with loans totalling £32.5 million, 2,924 jobs safeguarded, 3,222 new jobs created and an estimated £153.65 million in local economic value as at the end of March 2025; its footnote says those figures exclude Start Up Loans. The measures and reporting contexts differ, so they should not be combined as though they were the same total. British Business Bank: CWRT profile
Rank #2
How to assess older CWRT loan details
Some public-sector pages describe older terms that differ from CWRT’s current homepage. A GOV.UK listing published on 20 March 2017 describes loans of £1,000–£150,000 for organisations based or operating mainly in Coventry and Warwickshire that could not secure sufficient finance elsewhere. It lists uses including premises, machinery and equipment, working capital, bridging finance and other business proposals. That historical listing is not evidence of current Start Up Loan eligibility. GOV.UK: Business loan scheme (CWRT), published 20 March 2017
A Warwickshire County Council guide accessed in 2026 gives older CWRT terms of £500–£25,000, 6% interest, repayment over 1–5 years and no early repayment fees. Those terms are not confirmed as current by CWRT’s homepage, which currently states a maximum of £25,000 and a 24–60 month term but does not publish an interest rate. Confirm today’s rate, fees, repayment terms and eligibility with CWRT rather than assuming the older guide still applies. Warwickshire County Council: Finance and grants for Warwickshire businesses
What to confirm before applying
- Whether CWRT currently accepts Start Up Loan applications from businesses based outside Warwickshire, and whether any geographic rule depends on where the business operates.
- Which product applies to your circumstances: the Start Up Loan or the separate Business Loan.
- The applicable loan amount, interest rate, fees, repayment term and permitted uses.
- Whether you meet the current application criteria; a published loan ceiling does not mean every applicant will qualify.
CWRT’s own product page is the appropriate place to start: CWRT. The available public descriptions do not resolve whether a nationwide Start Up Loan offer exists.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Rank #4
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




