The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Alibaba Cloud said on September 23, 2026, that it plans to expand its data center footprint in Hong Kong over the next 12 months. The announcement gave no Hong Kong-specific capacity figure, facility location, commissioning date or list of affected services. It is one part of a broader infrastructure plan spanning eight markets, not a quantified commitment to add a particular amount of Hong Kong capacity.
What Alibaba Cloud announced for Hong Kong
At its Apsara Conference announcement, Alibaba Cloud included Hong Kong among five markets where it plans to expand existing data center footprints during the following 12 months. The company did not say how much new capacity Hong Kong would receive or identify the site or sites involved. Alibaba Cloud’s announcement describes the plan but does not provide a Hong Kong project breakdown.
The distinction matters: this is a planned footprint expansion, not a disclosed new facility with a stated capacity or opening date. The company’s release also does not specify changes to cloud products, customer pricing or service availability in Hong Kong.
How the Hong Kong move fits the global plan
Alibaba Cloud grouped Hong Kong with planned footprint expansions in Malaysia, Germany, the United Arab Emirates and France. Separately, it said it plans to establish its first cloud regions in Türkiye, Finland and the Netherlands over the same 12-month period. Expanding an existing footprint and establishing a first region are different commitments; the announcement does not give market-by-market capacity figures or dates.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →#1 Best Overall
- Save valuable floor space: 6U wall mount server cabinet Dimensions: 13.78" H x21.65" W x17.72" D.Maximum mounting depth is 14.2"
- Keep critical network equipment secure: glass door and side panels are lockable to prevent unauthorized access. Front door can be installed on either side of the front of the cabinet to satisfy your door swing orientation preference
- Easy equipment configuration: Fully adjustable mounting rails and numbered U positions, with square holes for easy equipment mounting with top and bottom punch-out panels for easy cable access
- Durability: Made of high quality cold rolled steel holds up to 110lb (50kg) (Easy Assembly Required)
- PCI & HIPPA and EIA/ECA-310-E compliant
At the time of the announcement, Alibaba Cloud reported operating 107 availability zones across 31 regions worldwide. Those are company-reported global figures, not a count of data centers or availability zones in Hong Kong. A region and an availability zone are distinct parts of cloud infrastructure, and the release does not state Hong Kong’s totals.
What the expansion signals—and what it does not
Alibaba Cloud said the purpose of expanding its global footprint is to add computing capacity and bring localized cloud and AI services closer to customers and partners. Dr. Feifei Li, the company’s chief technology officer and president of international business, said: “We are expanding our global cloud footprint to bring computing resources closer to customers and partners, while continuing to evolve our AI technologies to help enterprises deploy models, optimize multi-model workloads and create new AI-powered applications.”
That statement explains the company’s rationale; it is not evidence that Hong Kong customers will receive a specific performance improvement, new service or price change. The announcement does not quantify the expected customer impact, and it does not establish a competitive advantage over other providers. A business evaluating cloud platforms should compare current local service availability, data location and governance, resilience, deployment options and price rather than infer those details from an expansion plan.
Rank #2
- Save valuable floor space: 12U wall mount server cabinet Dimensions: 24.25" H x21.65" W x17.72" D. MAXIMUM MOUNTING DEPTH is 14.2".
- Keep critical network equipment secure: glass door and side panels are lockable to prevent unauthorized access; Front door can be installed on either side of the front of the cabinet to satisfy your door swing orientation preference
- Easy equipment configuration: Fully adjustable mounting rails and numbered U positions, with square holes for easy equipment mounting with top and bottom punchout panels for easy cable access
- Durability: Made of high quality cold rolled steel holds up to 110lb (50kg) (Easy Assembly Required)
- PCI & HIPPA and EIA/ECA-310-E compliant
Alibaba’s longer-term infrastructure targets
In a September 25, 2026 corporate recap, Alibaba Group said its target is to surpass 20 GW of global data center capacity operated by Alibaba Cloud by 2032. That is a forward-looking target, not current deployed capacity or a Hong Kong allocation. The recap places the regional expansion within a wider AI infrastructure strategy, but does not say how much of the target depends on Hong Kong.
Alibaba had also announced on February 24, 2025, a plan to invest at least RMB 380 billion (US$53 billion) over three years in cloud computing and AI infrastructure. This was a company investment plan, not a report that the full amount had been spent; Alibaba did not identify a portion allocated to the Hong Kong expansion.
Hong Kong has seen an earlier expansion
In a February 13, 2017 release, Alibaba Cloud said it had more than doubled capacity at its Hong Kong data center, citing increased demand for secure and scalable computing services in Asia Pacific. The release did not provide absolute capacity figures before or after that expansion. It is historical context, not a measure of the 2026 plan.
Rank #3
- Sturdy:4u server rack is construct from cold rolled steel, with a weight capacity of 110lbs(50kg); Electrostatic powder coat prevents rust and corrosion,quality finish
- Direct use:Open and use, not having to assemble it.Network rack can be placed flat or mounted on the wall,also can be installed vertically under the table
- Design Features:maximum mounting depth of 14 in,cables can be fixed on the side panel;Open frame server rack achieves effortless inspection, replacement and assemble
- Installation:wall mount network rack is easy to install,with instructions or videos for reference;Equipped with multiple accessories, suitable for different needs
- Application:EIA/ECA-310-E Compliant;wall mounted 4u rack fits all 19" racks and cabinets to hold various IT, network, and AV equipment;wall mount rack available in 4U, 6U, and 8U to choose
Details businesses still need to verify
The September 2026 announcement leaves several practical questions unanswered. Until Alibaba Cloud provides further details, businesses should treat these as unknown rather than assume the planned footprint expansion changes their deployment options.
- Which Hong Kong facility or facilities will be expanded.
- How much incremental capacity is planned and when it will be commissioned.
- Which cloud services, if any, will be added or changed.
- Whether customers will see changes in availability, pricing or data-location options.
For the global market list and company-reported footprint figures, see Alibaba Group’s September 25, 2026 Apsara Conference recap. The Hong Kong-specific precedent appears in Alibaba Cloud’s February 13, 2017 announcement. Alibaba’s 2025 investment plan is described in its February 24, 2025 SEC filing.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




