Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsAs of April 23, 2025, TechCrunch’s PitchBook-based roundup named 19 U.S.-based fintech companies that had raised $50 million or more so far that year. It is a snapshot from that date—not a full-year 2025 tally or a current funding tracker. The reported totals also are not directly comparable: some combine equity with debt or credit facilities, while others include secondary transactions.
Which U.S. fintech startups raised at least $50 million?
TechCrunch published the list on April 23, 2025, using PitchBook data and a threshold of $50 million or more. The 19 companies span consumer and business finance, payments, crypto, wealth management, fraud prevention, healthcare payments, and nonprofit fundraising. The table summarizes the amounts and structures TechCrunch reported; amounts are not necessarily equity-only.
| Company | Reported amount | Reported financing or context | Fintech area |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plaid | About $575 million | Company-issued common stock; approximately $6.1 billion post-money valuation. Plaid clarified it was not a Series E round. | Financial data and payments infrastructure |
| Felix | $75 million | Series B | Cross-border payments |
| Rain | $75 million | Series B | Payments |
| Ethic | $64 million | Series D | Wealth and asset management |
| Luna Technologies | $63 million | Series C | Fintech; specific subcategory not stated in the roundup |
| Tapcheck | $225 million | $25 million Series A extension plus a $200 million credit facility | Earned-wage access |
| Mercury | $300 million | Primary and secondary funding | Business banking |
| Mesh | $82 million | Series B; the company said the financing was secured using PayPal USD | Crypto payments |
| Flex | $225 million | $25 million in equity plus a $200 million credit facility | Business finance |
| ONE Amazon | $105 million | Financing structure not specified in the roundup | Consumer finance |
| Zolve | $251 million | $51 million in Series B equity plus $200 million of debt | Consumer banking |
| Bitwise | $70 million | Financing structure not specified in the roundup | Crypto and digital assets |
| Sardine | $70 million | Financing structure not specified in the roundup | Fraud prevention and compliance |
| Raise | $63 million | Financing structure not specified in the roundup | Fintech; specific subcategory not stated in the roundup |
| Candid Health | $52.5 million | Series C | Healthcare revenue-cycle management |
| Phantom | $150 million | Series C | Crypto wallet and financial services |
| Highnote | $90 million | Series B | Payments infrastructure |
| Fundraise Up | $70 million | Minority growth investment | Nonprofit fundraising |
Source for the list and reported terms: TechCrunch’s April 23, 2025 roundup. A company’s stated valuation is not an amount raised: Plaid’s approximately $6.1 billion figure is its reported post-money valuation, separate from the roughly $575 million stock issuance.
Why the headline amounts are not all equivalent
A funding headline can combine different kinds of capital. Equity generally represents an investment in ownership; debt and credit facilities are borrowing arrangements that must be repaid under their terms. Secondary transactions involve existing shares changing hands rather than the company issuing new shares. These distinctions matter if you are comparing startup fundraising by size or trying to understand how much new equity capital went to a business.
#1 Best Overall
- Equity and company-issued stock: Plaid’s reported common-stock issuance was company-issued capital, not a secondary sale of existing shares. The company said it was not a Series E.
- Debt and credit facilities: Tapcheck’s $225 million total included $25 million in equity financing and a $200 million credit facility. Flex’s $225 million package combined $25 million in equity with a $200 million credit facility. Zolve’s $251 million package included $51 million in Series B equity and $200 million of debt. In each case, the reported package total is larger than the equity portion.
- Primary and secondary funding: Mercury’s $300 million total included both primary and secondary funding, so it should not be read as entirely new company-issued equity.
- Growth investment: Fundraise Up’s $70 million was described as a minority growth investment, rather than a named venture round.
- Round labels: Series B or Series C identifies a financing round, but the label alone does not establish whether a reported total includes only equity or other components.
For example, Flex qualifies for TechCrunch’s roundup based on the combined $225 million package, but its reported $25 million equity component by itself is below the $50 million threshold. The same kind of distinction is important when reading Tapcheck and Zolve’s totals.
How the list compares with other 2025 funding reports
A different data provider or reporting window can produce a different count without either list necessarily being wrong. Tracxn’s Q1 2025 U.S. fintech report lists Phantom at $150 million, Mesh at $82 million, Sardine at $70 million, Candid Health at $53 million, and Zolve at $51 million. Its figures corroborate several deals while differing in some reported amounts, and it also includes other companies and rounds, including deals of exactly $50 million. It does not independently establish TechCrunch’s count of 19.
Rank #2
Differences can reflect the period covered, how a provider classifies fintech, which transactions it includes, and whether the cutoff is “more than $50 million” or “$50 million or more.” TechCrunch’s wording is $50 million or more; its headline uses “over $50M.” Treat the count as that outlet’s PitchBook-based selection, not a universal census of every qualifying U.S. fintech deal.
For broader market context, TechCrunch reported figures attributed to CB Insights of $10.3 billion in global fintech startup funding in Q1 2025 and an average Q1 deal size of $17.7 million. Those global quarterly figures describe a wider market than the U.S.-company roundup and are not directly comparable to its company-level totals.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
What this snapshot can—and cannot—tell you
The list shows which sizeable financings TechCrunch identified by April 23, 2025, and the range of fintech segments attracting capital. It does not rank companies by financial strength, profitability, product quality, or investment performance. Nor does a large financing total mean a company raised that amount entirely in equity or has that amount available as cash.
It also is not a complete calendar-year result. KPMG’s H2 2025 Pulse of Fintech uses PitchBook data through December 31, 2025, and reports broader regional quarterly activity in the Americas. Because its geographic coverage, transaction categories, and period differ, it is useful as later market context—not as a direct update to this specific U.S. startup list.
Quick Recap
Rank #4
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




