In October 2024, Zomato’s board approved a plan to raise $1 billion by selling shares to institutional investors, weeks before rival Swiggy was expected to make its stock market debut. The $1 billion was the announced plan, not a final rupee amount. In November 2024, Zomato completed a qualified institutional placement (QIP) that Mint reported at ₹8,500 crore. This article explains what was announced, why the company gave for it, how it compared with Swiggy’s proposed IPO, and where the reporting is still only estimates or analyst interpretation.
What Zomato announced on October 22, 2024
On October 22, 2024, Zomato said its board had approved a plan to raise $1 billion through shares sold to institutional investors. TechCrunch reported the announcement. The headline figure is a ceiling for a planned transaction, and the amount actually raised depended on what the company later executed. For readers tracking the company, that distinction matters: a board approval signals intent and authority, but it does not tell you the final price, the number of shares, or the date the money arrived.
What the November outcome was
Mint later reported that Zomato raised ₹8,500 crore by allocating 33.64 crore shares at ₹252.62 apiece in a QIP. According to Mint, the issue opened on November 25, 2024 and closed on November 28, 2024. As a cross-check, 33.64 crore shares multiplied by ₹252.62 comes to roughly ₹8,499 crore, which is consistent with the reported ₹8,500 crore total.
The QIP was a sale of new shares to qualified institutional buyers rather than a public offering to retail investors, so its terms were set through the placement itself. The October headline and the November result should be read as two stages of the same financing, not as two separate raises.
#1 Best Overall
Why Zomato said it was raising capital
Zomato’s stated reason was competitive. Co-founder and CEO Deepinder Goyal said the company wanted to keep a level playing field with rivals that continued to raise capital. TechCrunch quoted him as saying:
“We believe that capital by itself does not give anyone the right to win (and that service quality is the key determinant of success), but we want to ensure that we are on a level playing field with our competitors, who continue to raise additional capital.”
Rank #2
TechCrunch also reported that Goyal cited “the competitive landscape and the much larger scale of our business today.” Those are the company’s own words as reported in October 2024. They explain the logic the company offered, but they do not show how the money would be deployed, which the company addressed only later (see below).
Competition in food delivery and quick commerce
The October reporting placed the raise within two markets. In food delivery, Zomato and Swiggy compete directly. In quick commerce, the fast grocery and essentials delivery segment, the reporting named Swiggy, Zepto, and BigBasket as competitors and identified Blinkit as Zomato’s quick-commerce subsidiary. A larger capital base can fund inventory, warehouse expansion, and promotions in both markets, but the reporting did not quantify how much of the raise would go to any of these uses.
Rank #3
Swiggy’s IPO: what was proposed and when
Swiggy was the immediate timing context. In April 2024, Swiggy’s shareholders approved a proposed IPO that Reuters reported at $1.25 billion. Reuters noted that no IPO date had been disclosed at that point. Later in October 2024, TechCrunch reported that Swiggy was expected to raise about $1.4 billion in November. These are reports from different planning stages, and the figures are not interchangeable.
| Swiggy IPO component (as proposed) | Amount reported | Source and date |
|---|---|---|
| Total proposed IPO (April 2024 approval) | $1.25 billion | Reuters, April 2024 |
| Proposed fresh issue (new shares, company capital) | ₹37.50 billion (about $450.01 million) | Reuters, April 2024 |
| Proposed offer for sale (existing shareholders sell) | ₹66.64 billion (about $799.67 million) | Reuters, April 2024 |
| Expected raise in November (planning estimate) | About $1.4 billion | TechCrunch, October 2024 |
The Reuters split matters for comparison. A fresh issue adds new money to the company. An offer for sale only transfers existing shares to new buyers and sends the proceeds to the selling shareholders. Only the fresh-issue portion adds capital to Swiggy’s balance sheet. The April figures are proposals, and the October figure was an estimate; neither should be treated as Swiggy’s final IPO size.
Comparing the two financings
The two companies’ transactions differ in structure, so the headline numbers are not directly comparable. The table below sets out the axes that matter, using only what the cited reporting states.
| Question | Zomato (QIP) | Swiggy (IPO) |
|---|---|---|
| Transaction type | Qualified institutional placement of new shares (Mint, November 2024) | Initial public offering (Reuters, April 2024 approval) |
| Key date | Board approval announced October 22, 2024; issue opened November 25 and closed November 28, 2024 | Shareholder approval reported April 2024; IPO date not disclosed at that point |
| Proposed amount | $1 billion (October 2024 plan) | $1.25 billion (April 2024); about $1.4 billion (October 2024 estimate) |
| Completed amount | ₹8,500 crore (Mint, November 2024) | Not stated in the cited reporting |
| Fresh capital versus existing-shareholder sale | Reported as new share allocation (33.64 crore shares at ₹252.62) | Proposed split: ₹37.50 billion fresh issue; ₹66.64 billion offer for sale |
| Intended use of proceeds | Strengthen the balance sheet, according to Mint; company said funds would not go to minority investments or acquisitions (Mint, November 2024) | Not stated in the cited reporting |
Company statements versus analyst interpretation
The company’s on-record rationale is competitive scale and the need to match rivals’ access to capital. Other explanations circulated in coverage, and those should be read as analysis, not confirmed intent. TechCrunch reported Jefferies analysts’ view that the raise could relate to foreign institutional ownership and to a possible inventory model for Blinkit. That is an interpretation by analysts, and the reporting does not establish it as Zomato’s purpose. Similarly, speculation about reserves for market positioning should be treated as commentary.
Best Value
The one use-of-funds statement attributed to the company comes from the November report. It is a more specific claim than the October rationale, and it was reported after the plan was announced. Readers should not read it back into the October announcement.
How to read a headline raise like this
- Separate the plan from the outcome. A board-approved amount and a completed placement can differ in size, timing, and share price.
- Check whether new money or existing shares changed hands. Only fresh shares add to the company’s own capital.
- Date every figure. Proposed IPO sizes, estimates, and completed transactions appear at different points in the same story.
- Attribute motives. Company statements, press-reported analyst views, and speculation carry different weight.
What this reporting does not establish
The cited reporting covers the October 2024 announcement, the April 2024 Swiggy proposal, and the November 2024 Zomato QIP. It does not establish Swiggy’s final IPO amount, current operating results for either company, or any later change to ownership or corporate structure. For those, primary filings and company disclosures from after November 2024 are the appropriate sources.
Because the figures above are transaction-specific, they should not be treated as market-wide statistics. Each number is tied to the organization that reported it and the date it was reported.
The fair summary of this story is that Zomato’s $1 billion was a board-approved plan, its completed placement was reported at ₹8,500 crore, and the company’s stated reason was competition for capital in a market where rivals were also raising money.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →The Bottom Line
When a headline gives a large fundraising figure ahead of a rival’s listing, check the stage the number belongs to, whether the money is new or resold, and who is making the claim about purpose before drawing conclusions about either company.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




