Not yet, and nothing in the official record points to a reliable prediction either way. As of October 8, 2026, the bill that matches this headline, H.R. 10282, the Stronger Start for Working Families Act, has been introduced and referred to the House Ways and Means Committee. Its Senate companion, S. 3596, has been referred to the Senate Finance Committee. The official records show no passage by either chamber and no enactment.
Which proposal the headline refers to
Two separate bills carry the same substantive change, one in each chamber. The House version is H.R. 10282. The Senate version is S. 3596. The table below lists the details from the official bill records.
| Item | H.R. 10282 (House) | S. 3596 (Senate) |
|---|---|---|
| Short title | Stronger Start for Working Families Act | Not stated in the summary of the bill record; the substantive change is identical to H.R. 10282 |
| Introduced | September 3, 2026 | January 8, 2026 |
| Sponsor | Rep. Carol Miller (R-WV) | Sen. Margaret Hassan |
| Cosponsors | Reps. Steven Horsford (D-NV), Maria Elvira Salazar (R-FL), Chris Pappas (D-NH) | Sen. Todd Young |
| Referred to | House Committee on Ways and Means | Senate Committee on Finance |
| Recorded status | Introduced and referred; last recorded action September 3, 2026 | Introduced and referred to Finance |
The headline’s “GOP proposal” label fits the lead sponsor, but the cosponsor list is bipartisan. Introduction is only the first step for any bill. A companion bill in the other chamber is not evidence that either version has advanced.
Sources: H.R. 10282 introduced text (PDF), H.R. 10282 bill record, S. 3596 introduced text (PDF), and S. 3596 bill record.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →#1 Best Overall
What the bill would change
The bill is narrower than the headline’s word “expansion” suggests. It changes how the refundable portion of the child tax credit is calculated, not the maximum credit amount. Its text makes three changes.
The earned-income threshold
The bill would amend Internal Revenue Code section 24(d)(1)(B)(i) by replacing “$3,000” with “$1.” That clause sets the earned-income level used in the refundable calculation. If enacted as written, a $1 figure would mean that almost any earned income would clear the threshold. The bill does not estimate how many families would be affected, and no official cost or family-count figure has been published for it in the records reviewed.
Rank #2
The repealed paragraph
The bill would also remove section 24(h)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code. The bill text is the primary source for what that paragraph provides. This article describes only the removal itself.
The effective date
The amendments would apply to tax years beginning after December 31, 2025. That means tax year 2026 and later years. Because 2026 is already underway, any enacted version would apply to a year in progress, not a future year that has not started.
Recommended Free Tools
What the bill does not change
The introduced text does not propose a new headline maximum credit amount. A reader comparing the proposal to the credit amount they see on current guidance should not expect a higher maximum from H.R. 10282.
How the proposal differs from the $2,200 credit already in law
The $2,200 figure comes from a separate 2025 law. Public Law 119-21, section 70104, raised the stated credit amount from $2,000 to $2,200 and removed the prior sunset language. H.R. 10282 does not create that amount. The table compares what is enacted with what is proposed.
Rank #4
| Feature | Enacted law (Public Law 119-21, section 70104) | Proposed law (H.R. 10282, if enacted) |
|---|---|---|
| Stated credit amount | $2,200, up from $2,000 | No new headline maximum in the introduced text |
| Sunset | Prior sunset language removed | Not addressed in the introduced text |
| Earned-income threshold in section 24(d)(1)(B)(i) | Not the subject of section 70104 as summarized in the enacted text | Replace “$3,000” with “$1” |
| Section 24(h)(6) | Not stated for this comparison | Removed |
| Effective date | Enacted in 2025 | Tax years beginning after December 31, 2025 |
| Legislative status | Enacted | Introduced and referred; no passage recorded |
On September 14, 2026, Senate Majority Leader John Thune said in the Congressional Record: “In 2025, we not only made that increase permanent, we boosted the child tax credit even further and indexed it to inflation so its value will never go down.” That is his account of the enacted credit. It is not a forecast about H.R. 10282.
Sources: Public Law 119-21 statutory text and Congressional Record, September 14, 2026.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Where the bill stands
As of October 8, 2026, the official House record shows H.R. 10282 introduced and referred to Ways and Means, with September 3, 2026 as its last recorded action. The official Senate record shows S. 3596 introduced and referred to Finance, dated January 8, 2026. Neither record shows a committee markup, a floor vote, or passage in either chamber. Committee and floor activity can change quickly, so check the records again before relying on this status.
For either bill to become law, it would generally need to clear the following steps:
- Committee action in the chamber where it was referred: Ways and Means for H.R. 10282, Finance for S. 3596.
- Floor passage in the House and in the Senate.
- Agreement on identical text, because the House and Senate versions are separate bills. Either chamber could also act on the other chamber’s version instead.
- Presidential signature.
No step after introduction is recorded for either bill. The official records do not support a passage forecast, and this article does not provide one.
Quick Recap
How to check the status yourself
- Open the H.R. 10282 bill record on govinfo.gov and note the date of the most recent action.
- Open the S. 3596 bill record and compare its latest action date.
- If either record shows a new committee or floor action, read the official text before drawing conclusions. A bill’s introduced text can be amended before any vote.
- Check that the text you are reading is the introduced version, which is the one quoted here. Amended versions carry different designations.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




