Apple products are designed primarily in California, but they are manufactured through a worldwide network of suppliers and contract manufacturers. China remains the company’s largest manufacturing base, while India, Vietnam, Taiwan, Japan, South Korea, the United States and other countries handle assembly or components.
That distinction matters when judging claims about Apple’s prices, profits and supply-chain risks. An iPhone labeled “Made in China” or “Made in India” usually identifies its final assembly location—not the country where every chip, camera, display, battery or piece of glass was produced.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Apple iPhone 14, 128GB, Midnight - Unlocked (Renewed) | $300.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Apple iPhone 16, 128GB, Pink - Unlocked (Renewed) | $552.01 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Apple iPhone 15, 128GB, Black - Unlocked (Renewed) | $403.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Apple iPhone 13, 128GB, Midnight - Unlocked (Renewed) | $262.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
Apple iPhone 16e, 128GB, Black - Unlocked (Renewed) | $388.00 | Buy on Amazon |
Where are Apple products made?
Apple does not operate one factory that makes every iPhone, Mac or Apple Watch. Instead, it designs products and manages a large supplier network, with final assembly performed mainly by Asian manufacturing partners.
In its 2025 Form 10-K, Apple said a significant majority of its manufacturing is performed, wholly or partly, by outsourcing partners primarily in China mainland, India, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Vietnam and the United States.
#1 Best Overall
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
| Product | Known manufacturing or assembly locations |
|---|---|
| iPhone | Final assembly in China mainland and India |
| iPad | Asian supplier network, including China and Vietnam |
| Mac | Mostly made through Asian partners; Mac Pro production in Austin, Texas |
| Apple Watch | Assembly identified by Apple in China mainland |
| AirPods and accessories | Supplier manufacturing in China, Vietnam and other Asian locations |
| Cover glass | Corning’s Harrodsburg, Kentucky, facility is intended to make glass for every iPhone and Apple Watch sold worldwide |
| Apple silicon | Produced through semiconductor partners, including TSMC’s Arizona facility and sites elsewhere |
The locations above do not mean that every unit of a product is made in every listed country. Production varies by model, supplier, market and time.
Where is the iPhone made?
iPhones are assembled in both China mainland and India. China remains Apple’s largest iPhone manufacturing base, but India has become a significant second assembly center.
That means two statements can be true at the same time:
- China is still central to iPhone production.
- Apple is expanding iPhone assembly in India to diversify its supply chain.
Claims that Apple has moved all iPhone production to India—or stopped making iPhones in China—are not supported by Apple’s current filings and supply-chain information.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →What does “Made in China” or “Made in India” mean?
The country printed on an iPhone generally refers to where final assembly took place. It is not a complete map of the phone’s origins.
Rank #2
- 6.1" Super Retina XDR OLED, HDR10, Dolby Vision, 1000nits (typ), 2000nits (HBM), 2556x1179px at 460ppi, 3561mAh Battery
- 128GB 8GB RAM, Apple A18 (3nm), Hexa-core (2x4.04 GHz + 4x2.20 GHz), Apple GPU 5-core, 16‑core Neural Engine
- Rear camera: 48MP, f/1.6, wide + 12MP, f/2.2, ultrawide, Front Camera: 12MP, f/1.9, wide, iOS 18, upgradable to iOS 18.5
- 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/14/17/18/19/20/25/26/28/29/30/32/34/38/39/40/41/42/48/53/66/71, 5G: n1/2/3/5/7/8/12/14/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/40/41/48/53/66/70/71/75/76/77/78/79 - Dual eSIM
- Unlocked for freedom to choose your carrier. Compatible with both GSM & CDMA networks. The phone is unlocked to work with all GSM Carriers & CDMA Carriers Including AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Sprint., Etc.
An iPhone assembled in China or India may contain:
- A processor fabricated by TSMC
- Memory supplied from South Korea, Japan, the United States or elsewhere
- Display components from China, South Korea or Japan
- Camera sensors from Sony or other suppliers
- Modem and radio components from Qualcomm and other companies
- Glass, magnets, batteries and circuit-board parts made in several countries
Apple’s supplier list identifies manufacturing activity across a broad group of countries, including China, India, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Vietnam, the United States, Europe and Southeast Asia.
Are Apple products made in the United States?
Some Apple components and products are made in the United States, but Apple’s current announcements do not establish U.S. iPhone final assembly.
Apple has manufactured the Mac Pro in Austin, Texas. Apple also announced that Mac mini production in Houston, Texas, is scheduled to begin later in 2026; it should not be described as already active as of August 9, 2026.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
U.S. production also includes important components. Apple says Corning’s expansion in Harrodsburg, Kentucky, is intended to produce cover glass for every iPhone and Apple Watch sold worldwide. Apple has also highlighted U.S. semiconductor production, including Apple chips made at TSMC’s Arizona facility, as well as magnets, servers and other supply-chain investments.
Those initiatives are different from manufacturing an entire iPhone in the United States. A U.S.-made screen or processor does not make the final phone U.S.-assembled.
Rank #3
- 6.1inch Super Retina XDR display. Aluminum with color-infused glass back. Ring/Silent switch
- Dynamic Island. A magical way to interact with iPhone. A16 Bionic chip with 5-core GPU
- Advanced dual-camera system. 48MP Main | Ultra Wide. Super-high-resolution photos (24MP and 48MP). Next-generation portraits with Focus and Depth Control. 4X optical zoom range
- Emergency SOS via satellite. Crash Detection. Roadside Assistance via satellite
- Up to 26 hours video playback. USB C, Supports USB 2. Face ID
How much does an iPhone cost to make?
Apple does not disclose the exact manufacturing cost of an individual iPhone. The most useful public numbers are third-party bill-of-materials estimates based on teardowns and estimated supplier pricing.
A TechInsights/iFixit-based estimate reported by 9to5Mac valued the physical components in a 256GB iPhone 16 Pro at approximately $549.73, commonly rounded to about $550.
| Component category | Estimated cost |
|---|---|
| A18 Pro chip | $90.85 |
| Display | $37.97 |
| Battery | $4.10 |
| 5G modem | $26.62 |
| Memory | $21.80 |
| Storage | $20.59 |
| Rear-camera system | $126.95 |
| Main enclosure | $20.79 |
| Other components | $200.06 |
| Estimated component total | $549.73 |
The U.S. retail price for that configuration was $1,099, as reported in the same 9to5Mac coverage. The comparison is tempting, but it does not mean Apple spends exactly $550 to manufacture and sell each phone.
What the $550 iPhone estimate leaves out
A bill of materials primarily estimates the value of the physical parts. Apple’s total cost is higher because it also has to pay for the process of turning those parts into a finished, supported product.
Costs that may not be fully reflected include:
- Factory labor and final assembly
- Manufacturing equipment, facilities and depreciation
- Packaging, shipping and logistics
- Software development, industrial design and engineering
- Research and development
- Warranty repairs, returns and customer support
- Marketing, retail operations and payment processing
- Taxes, tariffs and foreign-exchange effects
- Apple’s financing and corporate expenses
So “Apple makes a $1,099 iPhone for $550” is an oversimplification. The defensible version is: a public teardown estimate valued the physical components in a particular 256GB iPhone 16 Pro at about $550, while Apple’s complete delivered cost is higher and is not publicly disclosed.
Rank #4
- This pre-owned product is not Apple certified, but has been professionally inspected, tested and cleaned by Amazon-qualified suppliers.
- There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length.
- This product is eligible for a replacement or refund within 90 days of receipt if you are not satisfied.
- Product may come in generic Box.
What about the iPhone 17 Pro Max?
TechInsights’ public summary of its iPhone 17 Pro Max teardown identifies major cost drivers but does not publish a complete dollar bill of materials.
- The camera subsystem represents more than 27% of the estimated bill of materials.
- The A19 Pro processor represents approximately 15%.
- The estimated bill of materials is about 3% higher than the estimated bill of materials for the Samsung Galaxy S25 Ultra.
The detailed figures are behind TechInsights’ paid report. Articles presenting a precise, official “iPhone 17 Pro Max manufacturing cost” should therefore be treated cautiously.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Why the manufacturing location matters to your finances
For consumers, production geography affects more than the wording on a box. Apple’s reliance on overseas suppliers can expose product prices and availability to tariffs, shipping costs, labor disruptions, currency movements, export controls and regional shortages.
Manufacturing diversification can reduce the risk of a problem in one country stopping all production. It does not eliminate supply-chain risk: an iPhone assembled in India can still depend on components manufactured in China, Taiwan, South Korea, Japan, the United States or elsewhere.
It also helps explain why the retail price is not simply the cost of the parts plus Apple’s profit. The price pays for a global production system, years of development, software, distribution, stores, support and the costs of products that do not sell or require service.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallBest Value
- 6.1" Super Retina XDR OLED, HDR10, 800 nits (HBM), 1200 nits (peak), 2532x1170px at 460ppi, 4005mAh Battery
- 8GB RAM, Apple A18 6-core CPU (2 performance + 4 efficiency cores), Apple GPU 4-core, 16‑core Neural Engine
- Rear camera: 48MP, f/1.6, wide, Front Camera: 12MP, f/1.9, wide, iOS 18.3.1, upgradable to iOS 18.5
- Connectivity: Global 4G LTE, Sub-6 GHz 5G, LTE, Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.3, NFC, USB-C, Wireless Charging (7.5W). (does not have mmWave 5G or MagSafe or physical SIM card) - Dual eSIM Only
- Unlocked for freedom to choose your carrier. Compatible with both GSM & CDMA networks. The phone is unlocked to work with all GSM Carriers & CDMA Carriers Including AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Straight Talk., Etc.
Common claims to question
| Claim | More accurate explanation |
|---|---|
| Every Apple product is made in China. | China is a major manufacturing base, but Apple uses suppliers and facilities across Asia, the United States, Europe and Southeast Asia. |
| Designed in California means made in America. | Design, software and engineering can be U.S.-based while assembly occurs overseas. |
| An iPhone made in India contains only Indian parts. | India may be the final assembly location; components can come from many countries. |
| The iPhone costs exactly $550 to make. | $550 is a third-party component estimate for one iPhone 16 Pro configuration. |
| The retail price minus the bill of materials is Apple’s profit. | The difference also covers assembly, logistics, R&D, software, support, marketing, retail and other expenses. |
| Apple is bringing iPhone final assembly to the United States. | Apple has announced U.S. production of components and Mac mini production in Houston, but not U.S. iPhone final assembly. |
FAQ
Where are most iPhones made?
Most iPhones are assembled through Apple’s Asian manufacturing network, chiefly in China mainland, with India now serving as a significant second assembly center.
Does “Made in China” mean every iPhone part comes from China?
No. The label generally identifies final assembly. An iPhone can include chips, memory, displays, camera sensors, glass and other parts made across several countries.
How much does Apple spend to make an iPhone 16 Pro?
Apple does not publish the exact figure. A third-party estimate reported by 9to5Mac put the physical components in a 256GB iPhone 16 Pro at about $549.73, but that excludes or may not fully capture labor, assembly, research, shipping, support and other costs.
Are iPhones made in the United States?
Apple has announced U.S. production of certain components and has made the Mac Pro in Texas, but its current announcements do not establish final iPhone assembly in the United States.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →The Bottom Line
Bottom line: Apple products are designed primarily in California but made through a global supplier network. China remains the largest iPhone manufacturing base, India is an important second assembly location, and the United States is expanding its role in selected components and products—not currently in iPhone final assembly. The often-repeated $550 figure is a third-party estimate of the parts in one 256GB iPhone 16 Pro, not Apple’s complete manufacturing cost or its profit per phone.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




