Virgin Plus and Fido added a $5 monthly discount to their 60GB plans in July 2024, matching Koodo’s then-current $49 offer. The discount was for 24 months—not a permanent price cut—and Fido customers needed autopay to reach $49. Those prices are historical: 60GB plan pricing changed again in 2025 and 2026.
What was the July 2024 offer?
On July 16, 2024, MobileSyrup reported that Virgin Plus and Fido each added a $5-per-month discount for 24 months to a 60GB plan. The promotion brought their prices in line with Koodo’s $49 offer at the time. MobileSyrup’s July 16, 2024 report described the plans and their terms.
| Carrier | Price and qualification reported in July 2024 | After the 24-month discount |
|---|---|---|
| Virgin Plus | $54 per month, reduced by a $5 monthly discount to $49 | Reported to return to $54 |
| Fido | $59 listed price; $54 with autopay, then $49 when the additional $5 monthly discount was applied with autopay | Reported to return to $54 |
| Koodo | $49 per month for 60GB; the cited report did not specify a matching 24-month discount for this offer | Not stated in the cited report |
The comparison is about the specific promotions reported in July 2024. It should not be read as a current quote or as evidence that the plans had identical features.
How long did the $5 discount last?
The reported Virgin Plus and Fido discounts lasted 24 months. After that, both were described as reverting to $54 per month. For Fido, reaching the $49 promotional price also depended on autopay. The report did not establish the full terms for every customer account, so anyone assessing an old offer should check their service agreement or bill for its exact expiry date and post-promotion price.
#1 Best Overall
- Charger NOT Included, 6.7" Super AMOLED FHD+, 90Hz Refresh Rate, 385 ppi, 800 nits (HBM), 1080x2340px, 5000mAh Battery
- 128GB, 4GB RAM, microSDXC, Exynos 1330 (5nm), Octa-Core, Mali-G68 MP2 or Mali-G57 MC2 GPU
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 (wide) + 5MP, f/2.2 (ultrawide) + 2MP, f/2.4 (macro), LED flash, panorama, HDR; Front Camera: 13MP, f/2.0, Android 14, up to 6 major Android upgrades, One UI 6.1
- 3G: HSDPA 850/900/1700(AWS)/1900/2100; 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/12/13/14/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/39/40/41/48/66/71, 5G: 2/5/25/41/66/71/77/78 SA/NSA/Sub6/mmWave - Nano-SIM + eSIM
- US Model – Global Connectivity – Compatible with Most GSM Carriers like T-Mobile, AT&T, MetroPCS, etc. Will Also work with CDMA Carriers Such as Verizon, Straight Talk.
Why did the carriers cut the price?
The stated competitive context was Koodo’s $49 offer for 60GB. Virgin Plus and Fido’s additional $5 discounts matched that price for a limited period. MobileSyrup also reported that Virgin Plus and Fido had removed their $50-for-50GB options when the $49-for-60GB plans appeared. Its references to lower-value alternatives from Freedom and Public Mobile described the market at that time, not today’s offers.
How did 60GB pricing change afterward?
The $49 figure was not a lasting market price. Later reports show how quickly carrier offers shifted:
Rank #2
- YOUR CONTENT, SUPER SMOOTH: The ultra-clear 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display of Galaxy A17 5G helps bring your content to life, whether you're scrolling through recipes or video chatting with loved ones.¹
- LIVE FAST. CHARGE FASTER: Focus more on the moment and less on your battery percentage with Galaxy A17 5G. Super Fast Charging powers up your battery so you can get back to life sooner.²
- MEMORIES MADE PICTURE PERFECT: Capture every angle in stunning clarity, from wide family photos to close-ups of friends, with the triple-lens camera on Galaxy A17 5G.
- NEED MORE STORAGE? WE HAVE YOU COVERED: With an improved 2TB of expandable storage, Galaxy A17 5G makes it easy to keep cherished photos, videos and important files readily accessible whenever you need them.³
- BUILT TO LAST: With an improved IP54 rating, Galaxy A17 5G is even more durable than before.⁴ It’s built to resist splashes and dust and comes with a stronger yet slimmer Gorilla Glass Victus front and Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer back.
- June 18, 2025: MobileSyrup reported that Virgin Plus and Koodo raised their 60GB prices by $5 to match Fido, putting all three at $45 per month after autopay discounts. Read the June 18, 2025 report.
- February 26, 2026: Koodo and Fido temporarily cut 60GB plans from $45 to $40, while Virgin Plus remained at $45 when the report was published. Read the February 26, 2026 report.
- April 22, 2026: MobileSyrup listed Fido and Virgin Plus at $44 for 60GB 5G and Koodo at $45 for 60GB, with differences in plan features and roaming options. Read the April 22, 2026 report.
These are dated snapshots, not a guarantee of current availability. The prices and terms in the cited articles can change, and a plan’s headline price alone does not show whether a customer qualifies for a credit.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What to check before choosing a similar plan
Compare the total cost and the service you actually get, rather than treating a matching data allowance as an identical product. Before switching or accepting a promotion, verify:
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Immersive 120Hz display* and Dolby Atmos: Watch movies and play games on a fast, fluid 6.6" display backed by multidimensional stereo sound.
- 50MP Quad Pixel camera system**: Capture sharper photos day or night with 4x the light sensitivity—and explore up close using the Macro Vision lens.
- Superfast 5G performance***: Unleash your entertainment at 5G speed with the Snapdragon 4 Gen 1 octa-core processor.
- Massive battery and speedy charging: Work and play nonstop with a long-lasting 5000mAh battery, then fuel up fast with TurboPower.****
- Premium design within reach: Stand out with a stunning look and comfortable feel, including a vegan leather back cover that’s soft to the touch and fingerprint resistant.
Rank #4
- 6.5 Super AMOLED, 1080x2340 (FHD+), 90Hz Refresh Rate, Android 14, One UI 6, Bluetooth 5.3
- 128GB, 4GB RAM, Expandable MicroSD, Mediatek Dimensity 6100+ (6 nm), Octa-core, Mali-G57 MC2 GPU, Fingerprint (side-mounted)
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 + 5MP, f/2.2 + 2MP, f/2.4, Front Camera: 13MP, f/2.0, 5000mAh Battery
- 2G: 850/900/1800/1900, 3G: 850/900/1700/2100/1900/2100, 4G: LTE 1/2/3/4/5/7/12/13/14/20/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/39/40/41/48/66/71, 5G: 2/5/41/66/77/78 - Single SIM - Single SIM
- No Warranty. Compatible with Most GSM Carriers like T-Mobile, AT&T, MetroPCS, etc. Will Also work with CDMA Carriers Such as Verizon, Sprint.
Rank #3
- YOUR CONTENT, SUPER SMOOTH: The ultra-clear 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display of Galaxy A17 5G helps bring your content to life, whether you're scrolling through recipes or video chatting with loved ones.¹
- LIVE FAST. CHARGE FASTER: Focus more on the moment and less on your battery percentage with Galaxy A17 5G. Super Fast Charging powers up your battery so you can get back to life sooner.²
- MEMORIES MADE PICTURE PERFECT: Capture every angle in stunning clarity, from wide family photos to close-ups of friends, with the triple-lens camera on Galaxy A17 5G.
- NEED MORE STORAGE? WE HAVE YOU COVERED: With an improved 2TB of expandable storage, Galaxy A17 5G makes it easy to keep cherished photos, videos and important files readily accessible whenever you need them.³
- BUILT TO LAST: With an improved IP54 rating, Galaxy A17 5G is even more durable than before.⁴ It’s built to resist splashes and dust and comes with a stronger yet slimmer Gorilla Glass Victus front and Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer back.
- Effective monthly price: Check which discounts are already included and whether autopay is required.
- Credit duration and expiry: Confirm how many months a promotional credit lasts and what the regular price becomes afterward.
- Eligibility: Look for bring-your-own-device, new-activation, line-count or other conditions. Fido’s official promotions page, as captured for the cited report, listed a primary 60GB line at $50 per month and a second 60GB line at $45 after a $5 bill credit, subject to autopay, bring-your-own-phone and new-activation conditions. Check Fido’s promotions page for current terms.
- Plan features: Check whether data runs on 4G or 5G, whether hotspot use is included, and whether calling and texting are Canada-only or extend to the United States or Mexico. The April 2026 comparison noted differences in features and roaming.
- Full bill cost: Confirm taxes, one-time setup charges and any other fees with the carrier before agreeing. The cited reports do not establish these amounts for every customer.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




