Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →USDA’s retail ground-beef sampling for bird flu was a completed 2024 effort, not a new testing program. The agency reported on May 1, 2024, that it found no H5N1 viral particles in the retail samples it tested from states with infected dairy herds. That result applies to the samples—not every package of ground beef. USDA also ran separate tests on condemned dairy cattle and experimentally contaminated patties, and later conducted slaughter monitoring.
Did USDA find bird flu in store-bought ground beef?
No. USDA’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) says it analyzed retail ground-beef samples from states where dairy herds had tested positive for H5N1 and found no viral particles. The agency posted the final results on May 1, 2024. USDA’s current meat-safety summary does not state how many retail samples were tested, so the result should not be read as a test of every package, store, or region.
The retail sampling was one part of a broader set of distinct USDA activities. A negative PCR result means the test did not detect viral particles in the sample; it is not a finding that every beef product was tested.
How the USDA beef investigations differed
USDA’s studies used different kinds of samples and answered different questions. The retail sampling looked at beef already offered for sale; the condemned-cattle work examined muscle from animals kept out of commerce; the cooking experiment tested an intervention under controlled conditions. USDA’s overview of the studies describes these separate efforts.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems#1 Best Overall
- Three individually sealed 16 ounce packs of 100% Pure Ground Beef, 80% Lean/20% Fat
- 19g Protein per serving, USDA Approved
- This ground beef blend works well in burgers, meatloaf or sloppy joe’s, This 3LB pack is perfect for meal prep, cooking for a crowd, or freezing for a later use
- Amazon Grocery has all the favorites you love for less. You’ll find everything you need for great-tasting meals in one shopping trip.
- Feed your every day with Amazon Grocery
| Activity | Sample and method | Reported result | Could the tested meat enter commerce? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Retail sampling, final results posted May 1, 2024 | Retail ground beef from states with H5N1-positive dairy herds; PCR analysis | No viral particles detected. Sample count not stated on the current USDA summary. | The samples were retail products; USDA’s summary does not state that every retail product was sampled. |
| Condemned-cow muscle testing, completed May 28, 2024 | 109 muscle samples from cattle condemned at selected FSIS-inspected facilities | No viral particles in 108 samples. The one animal with detected particles showed signs of illness at postmortem inspection. | No meat from these condemned animals entered the food supply. |
| Ground-beef cooking study | ARS inoculated 300-gram patties with a very high level of H5N1, then cooked them to 120°F, 145°F, or 160°F | No virus detected in patties cooked to 145°F or 160°F; cooking to 120°F substantially inactivated it. | These were experimental patties, not retail products. |
| Later dairy-cow slaughter monitoring, completed September 30, 2025 | 837 diaphragm muscle samples tested by PCR over 12 months; follow-up testing included kidney and other muscle tissues | One cow and its kidney had a very low-level positive result. APHIS did not detect H5N1 in muscle tissues corresponding to common retail cuts. | The carcass was held pending results and did not enter the food supply. |
The USDA summary reports the retail, condemned-cattle, cooking, and later monitoring results. The 2025 monitoring result was not a positive finding in store-bought ground beef.
What the later low-level positive means
The later monitoring result involved one dairy cow among 837 diaphragm muscle samples tested by FSIS. USDA says the carcass was held while results were pending, and it did not enter the food supply. APHIS tested several muscle tissues corresponding to common retail cuts and did not detect H5N1 in them. This slaughter-monitoring result is separate from the 2024 retail ground-beef sampling; it does not mean that USDA found bird flu in consumer ground beef.
Rank #2
- One 16 ounce package of 100% Pure Ground Beef, 90% Lean/10% Fat
- Some of your favorite Fresh products are now part of the Amazon Grocery brand! Although packaging may vary during the transition, the ingredients and product remain the same. Thank you for your continued trust in our brands
- 22g Protein per serving, USDA Approved
- This lean ground beef blend works well in stuffed peppers, taco salads or lean meatballs
- Amazon Grocery has all the favorites you love for less. You’ll find everything you need for great-tasting meals in one shopping trip.
Is ground beef safe to eat?
USDA says its findings support confidence in the safety of the meat supply, while advising consumers to handle raw meat properly and cook it to a safe internal temperature. For ground beef, FSIS recommends an internal temperature of 160°F. Use a food thermometer to check the temperature; a thermometer measures heat, not whether meat contains H5N1. USDA FSIS’s safe-temperature chart lists the ground-beef recommendation.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What the cooking study does—and does not—show
In the controlled ARS experiment, researchers inoculated 300-gram patties with a very high level of H5N1. They reported no virus in patties cooked to 145°F or 160°F and substantial inactivation at 120°F. The 120°F result is an experimental finding, not consumer cooking advice: it is below the FSIS recommendation for ground beef. The study does not change the 160°F guidance.
Rank #3
- One pound of 100 % Pure Ground Beef, 93% Lean / 7% Fat
- 23g protein per serving
- Keep refrigerated or frozen
- Amazon Grocery has all the favorites you love for less. You’ll find everything you need for great-tasting meals in one shopping trip
- Feed your every day with Amazon Grocery
USDA’s current page states, “Cooking to a safe internal temperature kills bacteria and viruses in meat.” Follow the recommended temperature and safe handling practices rather than using the experiment’s lower temperature as a target.
Quick Recap
Rank #4
- ORGANIC, GRASS-FED, REGENERATIVE: Our ground beef is USDA Organic, 100% grass-fed & finished, supports regenerative farms, verified by Land to Market,100% pasture-raised, free range, humanely raised, with no feedlots EVER. Non-GMO and never contains antibiotics or added growth hormones. Always fresh, never frozen.
- GRASS FED MEAT: Organic and 100% grass-fed, Verde beef is leaner, lower in calories, and higher in Omega-3s and essential nutrients than grain-fed beef. We believe that better for them, means better for our planet, and better for you.
- DELICIOUS 1 LB 93/7 GROUND BEEF: Lighten up your recipes with our organic, 100% grass-fed, 93% lean ground beef. Choose the 93/7 grind for any dish when you’re looking to keep the fat low and the flavor high.
- EASY TO COOK AND SERVE: Brown beef and sauté with cauliflower, turmeric, coconut milk and red pepper flakes. Pair with quinoa for a protein-packed curry. Or change it up with peppers, onions, and Mexican spices, and serve over brown rice for taco bowls.
- BEEF FROM A BETTER PLACE: We believe that beef can be better. That cattle can graze on open pastures, as nature intended; that farming practices can make the land better, not worse; and that our meals can taste good—and feel good too. That’s what we strive to bring to your table, every single day.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




