PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteTigard is not charging utility customers a new credit-card fee yet. On September 8, 2026, the City Council unanimously directed staff to develop a process for adding fees to card payments, but a report published October 9 said no implementation timeline had been set. The proposed rate and the payment methods that would avoid it are not final.
What the council decided—and what it did not
The discussion centered on who should cover the cost of processing credit-card payments on utility bills. Finance staff presented three options: keep absorbing those costs through the utility system, charge customers who pay by card, or use a hybrid approach that charges card users while retaining a lower-cost no-fee payment option. The council unanimously directed staff to develop a process for adding card fees; it did not adopt a launch date or final fee terms. Tigard Life’s October 2026 report and the September 8 meeting transcript describe the proposal.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How much might a card payment cost?
The available figures are proposals and examples, not an adopted rate. Tigard Life reported a proposed 3% fee on card payments. In the meeting transcript, staff used an illustrative service-fee rate of 2.95%. The sources do not establish a final percentage, minimum charge, or effective date.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
At the meeting, staff illustrated the 2.95% rate with a $163.81 payment, producing an estimated fee of about $4.83. Staff separately illustrated the processing cost on that payment as about $4.03, using a 2% interchange fee plus $0.75. These are staff examples, not a guaranteed fee or verified per-customer cost.
#1 Best Overall
- With Square Terminal, you can ring up sales, accept payments, and print receipts, all with one device. Use it at the counter or ring up customers anywhere in your store.
- Accept all major credit and debit cards and pay one low rate with no hidden fees and no long-term contracts.
- Process chip cards in just two seconds.
- Get your money as soon as the next business day.
- Use it cordlessly with the built-in battery, designed to last all day.
The $163.81 amount is also the city’s estimated average residential utility bill after FY 2026–27 rates took effect July 1, 2026. Actual bills vary with the customer’s services and usage, so a percentage fee would vary too. Tigard’s utility billing information provides the city’s rate and billing context.
Why Tigard is considering the fee
Finance staff said the city currently pays about $600,000 a year in merchant fees, and estimated that the hybrid approach could reduce utility-system merchant costs by about $300,000 annually. That savings estimate is conditional: Finance Director Eric Kang told Tigard Life that it assumes every utility bill shifts away from card payment. The city would still incur some processing costs, including for e-checks.
Rank #2
- Get your money as soon as the next business day.
- Get set up quickly with no long-term commitments. Download the Square Point of Sale app for free, create an account, and start taking payments anywhere.
- Run your business all in one place with the free Square Point of Sale app. Track your sales, manage inventory, accept tips, send receipts digitally, and more.
- Works with Apple devices with a Lightning connector.
The policy choice is therefore about how to allocate payment costs. If the city absorbs card fees, they remain among utility-system costs; if it passes them through, customers choosing cards pay them directly. The hybrid proposal aims to preserve a no-fee electronic option while encouraging payment methods that cost less to process. Councilors expressed support for encouraging e-check use.
Discussion raised the possibility that recovered funds could support leak credits or emergency assistance, and that lower costs might reduce future rate pressure. Neither use has been confirmed as a commitment.
Rank #3
- MSR90 is a USB emulation keyboard interface that not need any driver or software,USB simply plug and play
- Reads up to 3 tracks of information,can reads ISO7811, AAMVA, CA DMV and most other card data formats
- Threaded inserts for mounting. LED indicator, green light is on when connecting,green light blinks when cards swiped
- Bi-directional swipe reading, superior reading of high jitter, scratched, and worn magstripe cards, reliable for over 1,000,000 card swipes
- Configuration software makes configuration changes easy,works with: Windows OS and Mac OS
Which payment methods could avoid the fee?
The reported hybrid proposal identifies checks, e-checks, and cash as ways to avoid the contemplated surcharge. Tigard currently offers several payment routes, including online quick pay, account sign-in, phone payment, in-person payment, mail, and a drop box. The city’s utility payment portal describes those current channels, but does not say which would be fee-free if a new policy takes effect. Do not assume that every online or phone payment route would avoid a fee; the final terms have not been reported.
What card-autopay customers should know
The proposed fee does not itself change current autopay instructions. Tigard’s portal says that customers changing a credit card on autopay must first cancel autopay, update the card information, and then enroll again. That guidance is about updating a card, not about the proposed surcharge or what will happen to card autopay if the policy is implemented.
Rank #4
- USB interface, keyboard emulation, no need to install software to read, configuration software for changing settings available.
- Read data from all 3 tracks, high and low coercivity cards, ISO7811, AAMVA, CA DMV and most magnetic card data formats.
- Work on Windows, Mac and other USB capable systems. Work with TXT, notepad, Word, Excel, POS systems and son on.
- Compact size, with 145cm USB cord, two 3mm-diameter screw holes for fixing at the bottom, a LED indicator light
- Perfect for POS, Banking, Loyalty, Access Control, ID verification and other applications.
Refunds and customer notices remain unsettled
Mayor Yi-Kang Hu asked staff to refund fees without questions for customers who raised questions during the first “couple months.” That was a request during the council discussion, not a confirmed refund policy. Finance staff also floated an information campaign, but no start date or notice schedule was specified. Customers should wait for the city’s final terms and notice before assuming a fee, refund window, or transition arrangement.
How the three options differ
| Option | Who bears card-processing costs? | No-fee electronic route | Expected cost recovery |
|---|---|---|---|
| Continue absorbing costs | Costs remain in the utility system. | No separate route is specified in the meeting materials. | No reduction from shifting card costs to card users. |
| Pass card costs to card users | Customers paying by card would pay the fee. | Not specified as part of this option. | Costs would be passed through for card payments. |
| Hybrid approach (staff recommendation) | Card users would pay a fee; customers using qualifying alternatives would not. | Staff described e-check as a no-fee electronic option; the report also names checks and cash. | Staff estimated about $300,000 in annual utility-system merchant-cost reduction, conditional on every bill moving away from card payments; some costs would remain. |
The city has not reported final rules for which channels qualify, the fee amount, or when any change would begin. The comparison reflects the choices described at the September 8 meeting, not an adopted fee schedule.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Pay one transparent rate per swipe for Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express.
- Works in conjunction with most downloadable Square point-of-sale apps on your device. Customers can pay, tip and sign directly on your device. Track payments in cash, gift cards and more. Also lets you send receipts via e-mail or text message, makes it easy to apply discounts, keeps a data and sales history log and more.
- Accepts magstripe credit card payments, including those from Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express (fees apply).
- App sends deposits to your bank account within 1 to 2 business days, or enjoy instant deposits (fees apply).
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




