Recommended Free Tools
AT&T has raised prices on several retired wireless plans, but there is no single “legacy-plan” surcharge. Depending on the plan, the increase is $5 per smartphone line, $10 or $20 per account, or $5 or $10 for a select Mobile Share plan. Some affected customers also get more hotspot data; whether that is worth the increase depends on what your household actually uses.
How much more will your AT&T plan cost?
These are the increases AT&T describes for the affected retired plans. A per-account increase is not the same as a per-line increase: for example, the older unlimited-plan charge is $20 for a multi-line account, not $20 for each line.
| Plan category | Increase | Added hotspot data | When it began |
|---|---|---|---|
| Older retired unlimited plans | $10 per month for a single-line account; $20 per month for a multi-line account | AT&T says 20GB more per month | Generally bills beginning April 2026; August 2026 for the later cohort described below |
| Retired Unlimited Your Way plans | $5 per smartphone line per month | AT&T says 10GB more per line | Generally bills beginning April 2026; August 2026 for the later cohort described below |
| Select Mobile Share plans with less than 6GB | $5 per month | Not stated by AT&T’s Mobile Share notice; check your plan notice | Beginning April 2026; check your account for its applicable timing |
| Select Mobile Share plans with 6GB or more | $10 per month | Not stated by AT&T’s Mobile Share notice; check your plan notice | Beginning April 2026; check your account for its applicable timing |
AT&T’s notices provide the details for older retired unlimited plans, retired Unlimited Your Way plans and select Mobile Share plans.
What those formulas mean for a household
- One line on an older retired unlimited plan: the plan charge rises by $10 a month, or $120 over 12 months if it remains in effect for the full year.
- Two or four lines on an older retired unlimited plan: AT&T describes a $20 monthly account increase—not $20 multiplied by the number of lines. That is $240 over 12 months.
- Two lines on retired Unlimited Your Way: $5 per smartphone line makes a $10 monthly increase, or $120 over 12 months.
- Four smartphone lines on retired Unlimited Your Way: $20 more per month, or $240 over 12 months.
These examples isolate the plan increase; they are not estimates of a full bill. Taxes, fees, device payments, insurance, discounts and credits can change the amount you actually pay.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- (1) Att 5g Nano Size Sim Card included
- (1) SimBros Sim pin for removing old sims included
- Works with all unlocked or Att Devices from the past 10 years
- If your device is very old please check to make sure "NANO" sim is the correct size you need
- Will work on Both Postpaid and Prepaid!
Which plans AT&T names as affected
Older retired unlimited plans
- AT&T Unlimited Plus
- AT&T Unlimited Choice
- AT&T Unlimited Choice II
- AT&T Unlimited Plus Enhanced
- AT&T Unlimited Choice Enhanced
- AT&T Unlimited &More
- AT&T Unlimited &More Premium
- AT&T Unlimited Plan (Double Play)
Retired Unlimited Your Way plans
- AT&T Unlimited Starter SL
- AT&T Unlimited Extra EL
- AT&T Unlimited Premium PL
- AT&T Unlimited Starter
- AT&T Unlimited Extra
- AT&T Unlimited Premium
Select Mobile Share plans
- AT&T Mobile Share Value
- AT&T Mobile Share Value – Double Data
- AT&T Mobile Share Plus
- AT&T Mobile Share Advantage
Not every older or grandfathered AT&T plan is named in these notices. If your plan name is missing from the lists, do not assume either that it is affected or that it is exempt; check the charge and notice on your own account.
“Retired” does not mean automatically canceled
AT&T uses “retired” for plans it no longer offers to new customers. A retired plan is not necessarily canceled or automatically replaced. AT&T says affected customers can stay on their plan under the new price and continue receiving its existing benefits, subject to the change.
- Grandfathered describes a plan or benefit a customer has kept even though it is no longer generally sold.
- Retired is AT&T’s term for a plan no longer available for new enrollment.
- Legacy is a common, informal umbrella term; it does not identify one specific AT&T plan or one price increase.
Retirement dates vary by plan. AT&T’s retired-plan details include Unlimited &More plans retired in November 2019, Unlimited Elite retired in June 2022, and several Unlimited Your Way plans retired in March 2026. A plan’s retirement date alone does not establish that it is subject to one of the price changes above.
Why some customers saw the increase later
For the affected unlimited categories, AT&T says plans or lines active before July 24, 2025 generally began receiving the increase on bills in April 2026. Eligible accounts activated or moved to an affected plan from July 24 through November 1, 2025, and that did not receive the April increase, began seeing it in August 2026. The applicable bill can depend on the account’s billing cycle, so use your own bill notice rather than assuming the change landed on a particular calendar day.
How to find AT&T’s notice and check the charge
- Open AT&T’s Billing Center instructions and sign in to your account if prompted.
- Open a bill dated between June 22 and August 1, 2026. The bill available to you depends on your billing cycle.
- Scroll to and select “Read bill & payment info, news & offers.”
- Select “News you can use” and look for “Monthly rate plan change notice.”
- Compare the plan charge on the bill with the prior bill and read the notice for the plan name, amount and timing that apply to your account.
Compare the plan charge rather than treating every change in the total as a rate increase. Device installments, insurance, taxes, surcharges, discounts and credits can change separately.
Rank #2
- 📦 10-Pack Value Bundle: Includes ten (10) genuine AT&T-compatible tri-cut SIM cards – perfect for resellers, phone shops, or bulk users.
- 🔓 Universal Compatibility: Works with all AT&T locked phones and any unlocked GSM device that supports AT&T’s network.
- 📱 3-in-1 SIM Format: Each SIM includes Standard, Micro, and Nano cuts to fit any device – no adapters needed.
- ⚡ 4G LTE & 5G Ready: Access fast and reliable AT&T coverage with support for 4G LTE and 5G networks (where available).
- 🛠️ Easy Activation: Pair with any AT&T prepaid or postpaid plan. Simply insert, activate online or by phone, and you're ready to go.
Is the extra hotspot data worth the price?
AT&T says the older retired unlimited plans receive 20GB more hotspot data per month and retired Unlimited Your Way plans receive 10GB more per smartphone line. Those are category-specific additions; the Mobile Share notice does not establish the same bonus. The extra data is not the same as unlimited on-device premium data, and it does not restore a discontinued streaming or other plan perk.
- If nobody on your account uses phone hotspot, the added allowance may have little practical value.
- If you regularly use a phone to connect a laptop or other device—and otherwise pay for hotspot data—the additional allowance may be useful. Check how the allowance works on your exact plan.
- Judge the feature against the actual increase for your account: $5 per line, $10 or $20 per account, or the applicable Mobile Share amount.
AT&T’s notice establishes that hotspot data is added; it does not establish that each customer will value it as much as the new charge.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Stay, change AT&T plans, or switch providers?
Compare your actual post-change cost and benefits, not an advertised starting price. Start with the full monthly account cost after discounts and credits, then compare the number of lines, data and hotspot needs, travel, device financing, network coverage and support that each option provides.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesStaying on the retired plan
Staying can make sense if its existing benefits or discounts still outweigh the increase. Before giving them up, check for discontinued streaming access such as HBO or Max, international features, unusually favorable line charges, hotspot terms, premium-data treatment, employer or membership discounts, and bill credits tied to your plan. AT&T says customers do not have to change plans to remain on an affected plan.
Moving to a current AT&T plan
AT&T’s 2026 lineup includes Value 2.0 and current Unlimited Your Way options; it also announced Build-A-Plan in May 2026. AT&T says eligible Unlimited Your Way lines can mix and match plans, which may suit a household where some people need different features. That does not prove a switch will be cheaper: check current eligibility and terms on AT&T’s wireless plans page, then calculate your own post-discount total. Build-A-Plan details are on AT&T’s announcement page.
Rank #3
- NO CONTRACT: Pay $5 - $25/month for a fully customizable phone plan - choose your talk, text, and data with no strings attached; upgrade, downgrade or cancel your plan anytime with no penalties
- UNIVERSAL SIM CARD INCLUDED: The kit contains one three-in-one SIM card (nano, micro, and standard sizes) to fit most unlocked GSM-compatible smartphones
- NATIONWIDE 5G COVERAGE: Stay connected coast to coast with nationwide coverage on America's largest 5G network
- INTERNATIONAL CALLS TO 60+ COUNTRIES: All Tello plans include international calling to over 60 countries
- EASY ACTIVATION: Bring your own phone and activate your SIM on the Tello website; check your phone compatibility and coverage maps before purchasing to confirm service in your area
Considering prepaid or an MVNO
AT&T Prepaid and Cricket may suit customers seeking prepaid service associated with AT&T’s network; Cricket is an AT&T-owned prepaid brand. See AT&T Prepaid and Cricket’s plans for their current terms. Visible uses Verizon’s network, while Mint Mobile uses T-Mobile’s network; US Mobile offers multiple network options. Explore Visible, Mint Mobile and US Mobile directly rather than relying on an old promotional price.
A lower advertised rate alone is not an apples-to-apples comparison. Confirm the total after taxes and fees, number of lines, AutoPay or advance-payment conditions, high-speed data and hotspot allowances, priority during congestion, international service, device financing or trade-in credits, smartwatch and tablet support, coverage at your actual locations, and customer-service options. A service using the same underlying network may still differ in prioritization, roaming and support. Check the provider’s current terms before deciding.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Before you change plans or port out
AT&T warns that moving away from a retired plan may mean you cannot return to it. Its plan-change support page explains the change process. Save or record these details before accepting a change or transferring service:
- Your exact plan name and current monthly plan charge.
- Number of lines and each line’s hotspot allowance and international features.
- Streaming subscriptions, credits or other perks attached to the plan.
- Every applicable employer, teacher, military, nurse, AARP or other discount.
- Promotional bill credits and the plan or service conditions attached to them.
- Device installment balances and promotional credits for each phone, tablet or watch.
- Your actual monthly hotspot use and the coverage you get at home, work, school and on regular travel routes.
Ask how discounts, device credits, taxes and fees will change under the specific alternative. Current AT&T advertised prices can depend on factors such as AutoPay, paperless billing, line count and promotions, so verify the terms on the live plan page rather than assuming a headline price is your final bill.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




