Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
STACK Infrastructure announced on March 19, 2025, that it had secured $4 billion in green financing for its planned Stafford Technology Campus in Virginia and projects in Portland, Oregon, and Toronto. The announcement supports development of more than 1 gigawatt at Stafford; it does not mean 1.1 GW of operating capacity was delivered immediately.
What STACK actually announced
STACK described the transaction as $4 billion of green financing, not an equity investment or a single disclosed loan. The package covers the Stafford Technology Campus in Stafford County, Virginia, plus campuses in Portland, Oregon, and Toronto, Canada. STACK’s March 19, 2025 announcement did not assign a dollar amount to each project.
STACK said the transaction brought its cumulative debt capital to $20 billion, including $9 billion supporting Virginia projects since 2019. Those are company-reported totals, not independently audited measures presented in the announcement.
The distinction between financing and investment matters. Public materials do not establish that the $4 billion is new equity, an acquisition investment, or one construction loan. Data Center Dynamics also reported that the funding providers were not identified publicly: its coverage of the transaction.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →#1 Best Overall
Stafford is the main capacity story
STACK announced Stafford in January 2025 as a large-scale, phased development in Northern Virginia. The original release described a 500-acre site, four sub-campuses, 19 planned data centers and six 300-megawatt Dominion Energy substations. STACK’s current campus page markets the project at approximately 1.1 GW, while the financing announcement used “1+ GW.” Both figures describe planned or marketed campus capacity, not an operating facility.
Project specifications
| Item | Publicly stated detail | How to read it |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Stafford County, Virginia | Part of the Northern Virginia data-center market |
| Site area | 500 acres in STACK materials; approximately 523.94 acres in county documents | Different boundaries or measurement conventions may explain the difference |
| Configuration | Four sub-campuses | Phased development rather than one completed building |
| Planned buildings | 19 data centers in STACK’s announcement | Some county-development reporting has described an allowance of up to 24; the final count is not established |
| Capacity | 1+ GW originally; approximately 1.1 GW on STACK’s current page | Announced campus capacity, not proven live IT load |
| Power plan | Six 300 MW substations supplied by Dominion Energy | 1.8 GW of substation nameplate capacity is not automatically 1.8 GW of usable IT load |
| Full-build-out area | Approximately 5.5 million square feet | Described in Stafford County planning materials |
The acreage and full-build-out figures appear in Stafford County documents, including the impact statement and generalized development plan.
Why the 1.1 GW number needs care
Data-center capacity can refer to utility capacity, critical load, IT load or an ultimate development target. STACK’s public pages do not provide enough detail to equate the 1.1 GW campus figure with energized customer IT equipment. Similarly, six 300 MW substations indicate planned electrical infrastructure, not immediate operating capacity.
Rank #2
Portland and Toronto are also in the package
The $4 billion supports more than Stafford. STACK’s portfolio materials describe a Portland opportunity of 200 MW on 55 acres, with 24 MW available and 96 MW of future expansion listed in the opportunity portfolio. Those descriptions do not prove that the full 200 MW is complete.
STACK’s TOR01 page describes its Toronto campus as 19 acres with three buildings and 56 MW of total critical capacity: an existing 8 MW building plus two 24 MW expansion buildings. The page is available at STACK’s Toronto campus listing. The financing announcement does not state how much of the $4 billion is allocated to Toronto, Portland or Stafford.
What “green financing” tells investors—and what it does not
Calling the package green financing indicates that STACK marketed the transactions under green-finance criteria. The release does not identify the applicable framework, an external reviewer, sustainability-performance targets or environmental eligibility tests.
It also does not disclose:
- the lenders or other financing counterparties;
- whether the package consists of green loans, bonds, construction facilities, asset-backed financing or a combination;
- interest rates, spreads, maturities, covenants, loan-to-value ratios or debt-service requirements; or
- draw conditions and reporting obligations.
STACK separately says Stafford will use reclaimed “purple pipe” water for permanent industrial cooling and is intended to support clean-energy and carbon-reduction objectives. Those are project-design claims in STACK’s project announcement; they do not independently validate the financing’s environmental designation.
Why multibillion-dollar financing matters for data centers
AI and cloud workloads require dense, power-intensive facilities. Developers increasingly must secure land, utility interconnection, substations, water, construction capacity and customer commitments together. Debt access can determine whether a proposed campus moves from a land position to construction.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsSTACK’s January announcement said its company-reported portfolio included more than 4 GW built or under development and another 6 GW planned or potentially developable. Those figures are time-sensitive and describe STACK’s broader pipeline, not capacity delivered by this financing.
Rank #4
Local effects and infrastructure dependencies
STACK estimates that Stafford could generate more than $80 million in annual tax revenue, create hundreds of full-time or other high-quality jobs and support more than 1,000 skilled-trade positions at peak construction. These are company forecasts, not realized or independently verified results.
Milestones that determine whether the plan becomes capacity
- County rezoning, site-plan and other development approvals.
- Delivery of Dominion Energy substations and associated transmission and distribution work.
- Water infrastructure for the proposed reclaimed-water cooling system.
- Road access, traffic management, noise, height, tree-preservation and environmental compliance.
- Construction sequencing across four sub-campuses and the first building deliveries.
- Tenant or hyperscale customer commitments and the timing of energized load.
Stafford County planning documents describe a phased project rather than an instantly deployable facility. The county process therefore remains central to the timetable and ultimate scale.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How to evaluate the announcement
Financing certainty
Readers should distinguish capital that has been announced from money that is closed and drawable. The public release does not say whether all proceeds were funded at announcement or subject to construction and other conditions.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Best Value
Power certainty
Ask whether the 1.1 GW figure represents contracted utility capacity, gross substation capacity or usable critical load, and when each of the six substations is scheduled for service.
Customer certainty
The announcement does not establish that hyperscale or enterprise tenants have committed to every phase. A speculative campus, a build-to-suit project and leased turnkey capacity carry different development risks.
Environmental transparency
A green label is more useful when accompanied by a framework, allocation rules, reporting, and independent review. Those details were not included in the public announcement.
What happens next
- Approvals: Track Stafford County rezoning and phased development actions.
- Utility delivery: Watch for construction and energization milestones for Dominion Energy’s planned substations.
- Building delivery: Verify when the first data-center buildings are completed and powered.
- Customer announcements: Look for disclosed tenants, contracted load or build-to-suit commitments.
- Financing disclosure: Review any later filings or transaction documents for lenders, pricing, maturities, covenants and green-finance verification.
- Ultimate build-out: Compare delivered buildings and load with the 1+ GW original target and the approximately 1.1 GW current description.
The practical takeaway
STACK’s March 19, 2025 announcement demonstrates access to very large-scale debt capital for AI- and cloud-oriented infrastructure. It supports development of an approximately 1.1-GW Stafford campus and projects in Portland and Toronto, but it does not show that 1.1 GW is already operating, that the entire $4 billion belongs to Stafford, or that the financing’s environmental and economic claims have been independently verified.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




