Spotify Plus was a limited test in 2021, not a confirmed permanent plan. Reports described an ad-supported subscription with on-demand song selection and unlimited skips; the reported $0.99 price was only one test price, and some users reportedly saw $1.99. The available evidence does not establish that Spotify Plus is currently offered.
What was Spotify Plus?
In August 2021, MacRumors reported that Spotify was piloting Spotify Plus with a limited number of users. The offer combined features associated with Premium—choosing songs on demand and skipping without a limit—with ads. Spotify cautioned that the experiment was not guaranteed to receive a full rollout. MacRumors’ August 3, 2021 report covered the test.
The plan was therefore a lower-cost, ad-supported experiment, not simply a $1 version of ad-free Premium.
Was the price really $1?
Some contemporary reports put the test at $0.99 per month, but that was not a universal or fixed price. TechRadar’s August 2021 coverage, updated August 16, said some test users reportedly saw a $1.99 price instead, suggesting Spotify was considering different price points. TechRadar’s report describes that variation.
#1 Best Overall
Those amounts refer to a historical test, not a currently available subscription price.
Is Spotify Plus still available?
The cited sources do not establish that Spotify Plus is currently available. They describe a limited 2021 test and do not confirm a broader launch. Spotify’s current Premium benefits documentation discusses Premium features but does not identify Spotify Plus as a current plan. Spotify’s Premium benefits page says Premium includes on-demand playback and unlimited skips, as well as lossless audio up to 24-bit/44.1 kHz FLAC across most of the catalog.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
What does Spotify offer now in the United States?
Spotify’s U.S. Premium page, checked September 30, 2026, listed these monthly plan prices after the stated promotional period or offer:
| Plan | U.S. price shown |
|---|---|
| Individual | $12.99/month after the promotional period |
| Student | $6.99/month after the offer |
| Duo | $18.99/month |
| Family | $21.99/month |
The page also advertised a time-limited Individual promotion. Prices and offers can change; see Spotify’s U.S. Premium page for current terms. These are U.S. prices, not global rates. Spotify’s January 15, 2026 notice said subscribers in the United States, Estonia, and Latvia would receive email about a price update and directed new subscribers to their local Premium pages; it did not set one universal price. Spotify’s announcement gives the regional context.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchRank #3
How the tested plan differed from Premium
The historical reports establish the following comparison; they do not establish present-day availability of Spotify Plus.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Rank #4
| Feature | Spotify Plus test (2021) | Spotify Premium (current official information) |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $0.99 in one reported test; some users reportedly saw $1.99 | U.S. Individual listed at $12.99/month after promotion; see Spotify’s U.S. page for other plans and current terms |
| Ads | Ads remained, according to contemporary reporting | The benefits page lists Premium features; the cited source does not specify an ad comparison |
| On-demand song selection | Reported as included in the test | On-demand playback is listed as a Premium benefit |
| Skips | Unlimited skips were reported | Unlimited skips are listed as a Premium benefit |
| Offline downloads | Not stated in the cited test reporting | Not stated in the cited benefits passage |
| Current availability | Not established by the cited sources | Current plans are listed on Spotify’s Premium page |
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




