Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →The $800 billion figure was reported in December 2025 as a proposed valuation for a SpaceX secondary share sale—not as money SpaceX raised, and not as a confirmed completed transaction. SpaceX later went public: the company said its IPO closed on June 15, 2026, after trading began under ticker SPCX on June 12.
Was SpaceX really valued at $800 billion?
That was the proposed valuation reported by TechCrunch on December 5, 2025, which attributed the figure to the Wall Street Journal. TechCrunch described it as double a recent $400 billion valuation. It also said SpaceX had not responded to its request for comment.
The report did not establish that the proposed terms were completed, and it did not state the size of the offering. So $800 billion should be read as a reported valuation attached to a proposed transaction—not as a confirmed sale price or a current valuation. The “most valuable private company” framing belongs to that 2025 report; SpaceX is no longer private.
What a secondary share sale means
In a secondary sale, existing shareholders sell shares to buyers. The transaction changes who owns those shares; it is different from a company issuing new shares to raise capital. The TechCrunch account described a proposed secondary sale but did not specify its size or say that SpaceX would receive proceeds. It is therefore inaccurate to describe the reported $800 billion as a SpaceX fundraising amount.
#1 Best Overall
How the reported sale differs from SpaceX’s later IPO
| Question | Reported 2025 secondary sale | 2026 IPO |
|---|---|---|
| Who sold or issued shares? | Existing holders’ shares were the subject of the reported sale; the report did not give further details. (TechCrunch, 2025) | SpaceX announced that 638,888,888 Class A shares were issued in the IPO. (SpaceX, 2026) |
| What was the transaction status? | Reported as proposed; the available report does not confirm completed terms. (TechCrunch, 2025) | SpaceX announced the IPO closed on June 15, 2026. (SpaceX, 2026) |
| What proceeds were reported? | Not stated; the report did not establish proceeds to SpaceX. (TechCrunch, 2025) | Approximately $85.7 billion in gross IPO proceeds, according to SpaceX. (SpaceX, 2026) |
| How could investors access shares? | A private transaction involving existing holders, as described in the report. (TechCrunch, 2025) | Shares began trading publicly on Nasdaq Global Select Market and Nasdaq Texas under SPCX on June 12, 2026, according to SpaceX. (SpaceX, 2026) |
The later IPO was a separate event; its figures do not confirm the terms of the earlier reported secondary sale.
What SpaceX said about its IPO
In its June 15, 2026 investor-relations announcement, SpaceX said: “The shares of Class A common stock began trading on the Nasdaq Global Select Market and Nasdaq Texas on June 12, 2026, under the ticker symbol ‘SPCX.’” The company also reported that it issued 638,888,888 Class A shares and received approximately $85.7 billion in gross IPO proceeds.
SpaceX’s 2026 European prospectus listed an expected U.S. IPO price of $135 per share at the time of publication. That was an expected IPO price, not the price or valuation in the 2025 secondary-sale report. The prospectus said proceeds would support growth, including AI compute infrastructure, launch infrastructure and vehicles, and satellite-constellation capacity. It also cautioned that market assessments depended on assumptions and should not be given undue weight.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Can you buy SpaceX stock?
SpaceX announced that its shares began public trading as SPCX on June 12, 2026. That answers the access question differently from the 2025 report, which concerned a proposed private secondary transaction. This article does not establish current share prices or provide an investment recommendation.
Recommended Free Tools
Quick Recap
Best Value
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




