What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
On September 24, 2024, a published rate roundup reported a top savings-account offer of 5.50% APY at Poppy Bank, with a $1,000 minimum, and rates up to 5.33% APY with no minimum at several providers. Those were dated reported offers, not current quotes. The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) reported a national savings rate of 0.46% for September 2024—a broad-market benchmark, not the highest available offer.
Reported savings account rates on September 24, 2024
The figures below come from AOL Finance’s roundup published September 24, 2024. “Up to” describes a reported ceiling; it does not establish that every applicant or balance qualified for that APY. The roundup did not establish the other account terms shown as not stated.
| Reported offer | Rate and date | Minimum | APY conditions | Recurring fees | Access or withdrawal rules | Institution and deposit-insurance arrangement |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Poppy Bank | Up to 5.50% APY, reported September 24, 2024 | $1,000 minimum, as reported by AOL Finance | Not stated by AOL Finance | Not stated by AOL Finance | Not stated by AOL Finance | Not stated by AOL Finance |
| Peak Bank, Western Alliance Bank, LendingClub, and other providers | Up to 5.33% APY, reported September 24, 2024 | No minimum, as reported by AOL Finance | Not stated by AOL Finance | Not stated by AOL Finance | Not stated by AOL Finance | Not stated by AOL Finance |
AOL Finance’s September 24, 2024 roundup is a historical secondary report, not verification of current rates or full account terms. Before opening any account today, check the provider’s current disclosure for APY, balance requirements, fees, access rules, eligibility, and the bank that holds the deposits.
How the FDIC national rate compares
The FDIC’s September 2024 national savings deposit rate was 0.46%, based on the $2,500 product tier. It is a weighted average rather than a list of top offers. The agency explains that its national rate averages rates paid by insured depository institutions and credit unions for which data is available, weighting them by each institution’s share of domestic deposits. Its monthly rates are based on information available at the last business day of the prior month end, so the figure is not a same-day survey of every account.
#1 Best Overall
That makes the FDIC figure useful for broad context, but not directly interchangeable with an advertised, eligibility-specific APY. The FDIC’s later published information lists 0.39% for March 2026, also based on the $2,500 product tier; this is later official context, not an October 2026 live rate.
Sources: FDIC National Rates and Rate Caps, September 2024; FDIC national rates.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
What the rate backdrop does—and does not—show
AOL Finance reported that the Federal Reserve lowered its target range by 50 basis points to 4.75%–5.00% on September 18, 2024. That is context for the date, not evidence of exactly when or by how much any individual bank changed its savings APY. Savings account APYs are variable, and the historical figures above do not predict what an account will pay next.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Rank #4
Rank #3
Source: AOL Finance, September 24, 2024.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Recommended Free Tools




