What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Samsung’s 2027 target for mass-producing its SF1.4 process is no longer the latest schedule reported. Samsung set 2027 as its goal in 2022 and reaffirmed it in 2024; the latest dated target located is 2029, reported after the company’s SAFE Forum 2026. Samsung’s April 2026 investor presentation called 1.4nm “on track” but did not specify a year in the retrieved text.
How Samsung’s SF1.4 production target changed
| Date | What was said | What it establishes |
|---|---|---|
| October 2022 | Samsung announced a 2027 mass-production target for 1.4nm as part of its roadmap for continued development of gate-all-around (GAA) technology. Samsung newsroom | The original public target was 2027. |
| June 2024 | Samsung said SF1.4 preparations were progressing smoothly and that performance and yield targets remained on track for mass production in 2027. Samsung newsroom | Samsung reaffirmed the 2027 target at that time. |
| April 2026 | Samsung’s first-quarter investor presentation described 1.4nm as “on track,” without a year next to that status in the retrieved presentation text. Samsung 1Q 2026 investor presentation | The status wording does not confirm that 2027 remained the production year. |
| July 2026 | Financial News reported that Samsung was targeting mass production in 2029, attributing the statement to Foundry Design Platform Development VP Shin Jong-sin at SAFE Forum 2026. Financial News | This is the latest dated production target located. |
| August 2026 | Tom’s Hardware reported that a roadmap presented at NGL 2026 had shifted SF1.4 from 2027 to 2029. It is secondary reporting; the sources reviewed did not include an official Samsung NGL roadmap document. Tom’s Hardware | It provides further reporting of the 2029 target, not a separate official schedule document. |
What “on track” in April 2026 does—and does not—mean
The investor presentation’s brief “1.4nm on track” status should not be read as confirmation of the earlier 2027 date: the retrieved text did not state a production year. The same presentation separately discussed 2nm customer expansion and a 2nm Gen 2 mobile ramp. Those are distinct roadmap items and do not establish an SF1.4 schedule.
What is known about the process—and what is not
SF1.4 is Samsung’s process-generation label. Samsung’s 2022 roadmap described continued enhancement of GAA-based technology on the path to 1.4nm. The label does not, on the available evidence, establish a literal physical feature size or enable a numerical comparison with another foundry’s node. Samsung’s process-technology overview provides general and historical foundry context, but not the updated SF1.4 production schedule.
The reviewed sources do not establish SF1.4 performance, power consumption, transistor density, yield, production cost, or customer volume. Samsung’s public roadmap statements concern planned foundry production; they do not identify a confirmed retail chip or consumer device using SF1.4.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
High-NA EUV context is not proof of the cause
Tom’s Hardware reported that High-NA EUV was not sufficiently mature for near-term 2nm and 1.4nm use. It quoted Samsung technology executive Chang Min Park saying the technology required further improvement before it could be used for mass production at those nodes, and that Samsung expected High-NA EUV to become necessary from A10 and below while working with partners. These quotations are reported by a secondary source, not verified here against an official transcript. The reporting does not establish that High-NA EUV caused the SF1.4 target to move.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What the roadmap means for customers and investors
A target for foundry mass production is a manufacturing roadmap milestone, not a promise that a branded Samsung device or a particular customer’s chip will be available that year. The sources reviewed do not identify an SF1.4 customer product or provide enough comparable figures to rank Samsung against competing foundries on performance, power, density, yield, or cost. For anyone tracking Samsung’s progress, the useful distinction is between the original and reaffirmed 2027 goal, the yearless “on track” wording in April 2026, and the later 2029 target attributed to the SAFE Forum report.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Rank #4
Rank #3
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




