What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
RBL Bank has disclosed a GST show-cause notice proposing a demand of ₹1,73,08,68,535—about ₹173.09 crore, including interest and penalty—for FY 2022-23. The bank says the matter concerns input tax credit (ITC) claimed under a separate GST registration for its Digital Banking business. This is a proposed demand, not a final determination that the bank owes the amount.
What the notice says
The notice is dated September 29, 2026, and was issued by the Assistant Commissioner of State Tax, Mumbai, under Section 73 of the Maharashtra Goods and Services Tax Act, 2017. RBL Bank disclosed it to the BSE and NSE on September 30 under Regulation 30 of the SEBI Listing Regulations. The bank’s filing gives the total proposed demand, including interest and penalty, but does not break out those components or describe the specific transactions or detailed tax reasoning behind the notice. Read RBL Bank’s September 30, 2026 filing.
What a show-cause notice means here
A show-cause notice sets out a proposed demand and gives the recipient an opportunity to respond. It is not, by itself, proof that the amount has been finally assessed or collected. RBL Bank says it will respond within the prescribed timelines. Its disclosure does not state that it has paid the proposed ₹173.09 crore, and the filing does not establish a final outcome.
Why RBL Bank says it will contest the matter
The bank says it has adequate grounds to contest the notice on its merits, citing favourable GST authority orders on what it describes as an identical issue for FY 2018-19 and FY 2019-20. The September 2026 filing does not provide the text or reasoning of those orders, and it does not establish that they determine the outcome for FY 2022-23.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
RBL Bank also said that, based on its current assessment and those earlier orders, it does not presently expect a material adverse impact on its financial position, operations or profitability. That is the bank’s assessment, not a ruling on the notice or an independent prediction of the outcome.
How this differs from RBL Bank’s earlier GST matter
RBL Bank previously disclosed a separate proposed demand related to FY 2019-20 and the Digital Banking registration. That notice was issued under Section 74, not Section 73. The bank reported in March 2026 that the authority withdrew that entire earlier demand and concluded those proceedings. The withdrawal concerned the FY 2019-20 proceeding; it did not dispose of the FY 2022-23 notice.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
| Proceeding | Statutory reference | Proposed amount | Reported status |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2022-23 notice | Section 73, Maharashtra GST Act | ₹1,73,08,68,535, including interest and penalty; component split not stated in the filing | RBL Bank said it would respond within prescribed timelines; the September 30, 2026 filing does not establish a later outcome |
| FY 2019-20 earlier matter | Section 74, Maharashtra GST Act | ₹92,00,23,536, including interest and penalty | RBL Bank reported that the entire demand was withdrawn and proceedings concluded in March 2026 |
The older notice was disclosed on October 1, 2025, and its withdrawal was reported on March 24, 2026. See the bank’s October 2025 filing and March 2026 withdrawal filing.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What is known about the FY 2022-23 outcome
In its September 30, 2026 disclosure, RBL Bank said it planned to respond, but did not report that a reply had been filed or that the authority had adjudicated the notice. The filing also does not state an adjudication date. The status beyond what that disclosure reports is not established here.
Recommended Free Tools
Quick Recap
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Rank #4
Rank #3
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




