There is no single established reason young Indians are not joining the PM Internship Scheme. Government feedback points to practical fit: candidates weighed travel distance, the original 12-month commitment and whether offered roles suited their interests. Some were also pursuing higher education. These are reported reasons, not a ranked or quantified explanation—and the available evidence does not establish that a low stipend was the main cause.
What the participation figures show—and what they don’t
Applications, offers, acceptances, joining and completion measure different stages. A large number of applications does not mean that the same number received an offer or began an internship; an acceptance is not necessarily a completed placement.
In a Lok Sabha answer on 9 February 2026, the Ministry of Corporate Affairs said Round I partner companies made more than 82,000 offers to over 60,000 candidates, and more than 28,000 candidates accepted. The answer also said 3,417 Round I interns had completed their internships as of 27 January 2026. Those figures are a dated snapshot, not current totals. The ministry said Round I completion dates ran from November 2025 to March 2026, depending on joining date, while Round II completions began from April 2026 onward.
A later account published by Business Standard on 29 September 2026 reported the following round-wise counts:
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
| Round | Opportunities | Applications | Offers | Joins | Completions | Dropouts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| I | 127,508 | About 621,000 | 60,866 | 8,760 | 3,731 | 4,698 |
| II | 118,948 | About 455,000 | 71,192 | 7,300 | 2,880 | 2,648 |
| III | 154,366 | 350,259 | 25,794 | 14,620 | Not stated in the report | Not stated in the report |
Business Standard reported that 20% of offer recipients joined across the three rounds. Its round-specific shares of offers that resulted in a join were 14.4% in Round I, 10.3% in Round II and 56.7% in Round III. These are figures from that report, dated 29 September 2026; they should not be substituted for the earlier parliamentary snapshot, which used a different reporting date and stage counts.
The pattern is clear but not causal: Round III had more joins than either earlier round despite fewer applications and offers. The numbers alone cannot show whether changes to duration, eligibility, assistance, portal features or promotion drove that increase.
Rank #2
Why candidates may decline or not join
Location and the cost of getting there
The ministry’s February 2026 answer said location mattered and that candidates indicated an ideal travel distance of 5–10 km. That points to geographic fit and commuting burden as practical concerns. It does not mean every internship required relocation, or tell us how many candidates declined for this reason.
In the September 2026 Business Standard report, Bornali Bhandari, a professor at the National Council of Applied Economic Research, offered a broader interpretation: “Mainly, interns are unwilling to relocate for low wages, and in many cases, the offered roles do not align with their career aspirations. These issues often lead interns to abandon the program midway.” That is an expert’s interpretation, not a government estimate of why candidates declined.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Rank #3
A 12-month commitment—and competing education
The original pilot internships lasted 12 months. The ministry said that period was longer than in normal skilling programmes. Earlier official reporting also cited candidates pursuing higher education. A year-long commitment may be difficult to combine with study or other plans, but the published figures do not quantify how often that conflict led to a declined offer or early exit.
The eligibility rules later changed. A Ministry of Corporate Affairs release dated 22 April 2026 said final-year undergraduate and postgraduate students aged 18–25 could apply if they met the existing criteria and submitted an institutional no-objection certificate confirming that the internship would not interfere with academic requirements. This adjustment appears to address study compatibility; its effect on participation has not been measured in the figures cited here.
Rank #4
Offered roles may not match candidates’ interests
The ministry’s answer stated: “Some candidates are not interested in roles offered.” That supports a role-fit explanation, but the available figures do not identify which occupations or companies were least attractive. Candidate disinterest is not proof that the roles were objectively poor or that the scheme had a general quality problem.
Is the stipend too low?
The February 2026 parliamentary question asked whether financial assistance deterred participation. In its answer, the ministry listed location, duration and interest in the roles as observed reasons; it did not identify low assistance as a demonstrated cause. That does not prove pay was irrelevant. Bhandari later cited unwillingness to relocate for low wages, but this is an expert interpretation rather than a representative survey result or causal estimate.
Best Value
- Handy note taking workbook for students
- Use to improve research skills and test scores
- Offers effective strategies and reference section
- Apply to textbooks, novels, research, on-line resources and class lectures
- Illustrates Venn diagrams, webs, tables, lists, summaries and more
Terms also changed over time. The April 2026 government release described minimum monthly assistance of ₹9,000. Business Standard’s September 2026 account described the scheme as lasting six to 12 months, with 90% of the stipend funded by the Centre and the remainder by the participating company. These later terms should not be treated as the terms in force throughout the earlier rounds.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What the scheme offers—and whether it guarantees a job
The government describes the PM Internship Scheme as paid, structured industry exposure intended to build relevant skills and job readiness. It is an internship programme, not a job-placement guarantee. The myScheme government listing explicitly says completion does not guarantee a job.
That distinction matters when assessing interest: an internship may provide experience, but candidates still have to weigh its location, duration, assistance and role against their education and career plans. The evidence does not establish how much each factor influenced decisions, or which one mattered most.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




