Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →OpenAI and The Associated Press announced a collaboration on July 13, 2023. OpenAI would license part of AP’s text archive, while AP would receive access to OpenAI’s technology and product expertise. The agreement was an early high-profile example of a news organization licensing material to an AI company, but the public announcement did not disclose the fee, identify a specific model, or say that all AP content would be used.
What did the OpenAI–AP partnership include?
AP’s July 13, 2023 announcement described a two-way collaboration:
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
September 11: The 9/11 Story, Aftermath and Legacy | $35.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Teacher Record Book | $4.89 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
2026 CPT Professional | $131.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
100 African Americans Who Shaped American History: Incredible Stories of Black Heroes (Black History... | $7.49 | Buy on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- OpenAI would license part of AP’s text archive. The announcement did not specify the archive’s full scope.
- AP would gain access to OpenAI technology and product expertise.
- The organizations would explore possible generative-AI uses in news products and services.
The companies characterized the collaboration as a responsible, mutually beneficial arrangement. AP also said at the time that it did not use generative AI to write its news stories.
Was it a training deal or a live news service?
It was a content-licensing and technology collaboration, not a publicly announced live AP-news feed in ChatGPT. AP’s contemporaneous account described the archive license as being for OpenAI’s AI systems and training purposes. The joint announcement itself used the more limited wording “licensing part of AP’s text archive” and said the organizations would examine potential uses.
#1 Best Overall
Training, retrieval, and display are different arrangements. Historical material can be licensed to help develop or improve AI systems. A product can separately retrieve current articles and display them with attribution. OpenAI describes journalism partnerships as potentially involving historical-content training, tools for journalists, and real-time publisher content with attribution; one purpose does not establish that the others are included. The announcement did not promise that ChatGPT would show live AP articles, cite AP automatically, or provide AP journalism as a real-time news service. See OpenAI’s explanation of its journalism partnerships.
How much AP material was licensed?
The official announcement says “part of AP’s text archive.” It does not say that the entire archive or every AP article was included. It also does not establish that the license covered photographs, video, audio, graphics, metadata, or material belonging to AP member organizations. Some secondary accounts have described an archive dating back to 1985, but that date is not specified in the joint announcement and should not be treated as a confirmed public contract term.
Rank #2
- Keep track of everything from attendance to test scores
- Spiral bound
- Measures 8-1/2" x 11"
What were the financial terms?
The announcement did not disclose a licensing fee, payment schedule, revenue share, minimum guarantee, or monetary value for AP’s access to OpenAI technology. Without public figures, it is not possible to determine from the announcement how financially significant the arrangement was for AP or whether it set a typical rate for other publishers.
Recommended Free Tools
Why did the deal matter to publishers?
The deal offered a negotiated alternative at a time when publishers and AI developers were disputing whether copyrighted journalism could be used to train models without permission or payment. OpenAI has argued that training on publicly available internet material can be fair use; publishers and other rights holders have challenged that position in litigation and policy debates. That legal question is not settled by a bilateral license. OpenAI’s position and its description of publisher partnerships appear in its journalism overview.
Rank #3
For OpenAI, a license can provide authorized access to professionally edited historical material and establish a relationship with a major rights holder. For AP, licensing can create value from an archive and provide access to AI expertise. The exchange also leaves practical concerns: AI summaries could compete for reader attention, divert visits from original reporting, or present material inaccurately or out of context. A license does not by itself guarantee attribution, reader traffic, accurate answers, or protection against close reproduction.
The agreement was an early prominent example of negotiated AI-content licensing, not a resolution of the broader copyright dispute. In July 2026, AP described itself as the first organization to announce such a deal with OpenAI in 2023, while reporting that publishers continued to litigate over AI training on news articles. The continuing dispute is covered in AP’s report on the copyright fight.
Rank #4
- non-fiction african american book set
- non-fiction black book set
- non-fiction african american children's book set
- non-fiction black children's book set
What did the deal mean for AP’s own use of AI?
Licensing archive material to an AI company is separate from using AI to produce journalism. AP said in 2023 that it did not use generative AI to write its news stories. Its later guidance permits limited newsroom assistance, such as early-stage research, document summaries, transcription, translation, headline or story-summary suggestions, and grammar or spelling help. AP’s generative-AI standards and updated standards dated July 23, 2026 say journalists must review and edit AI output; AI does not replace reporting, sourcing, editorial judgment, or verification. The 2026 standards also prohibit generative AI from creating, altering, or enhancing news photography.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
What remains undisclosed or unconfirmed?
Public materials do not establish the precise scope of the licensed archive, the fee or other financial terms, how the data was delivered, which models or datasets used it, or whether the agreement was renewed or amended. They also do not establish whether AP receives attribution or traffic benefits in a particular OpenAI product, or whether individual journalists or contributors receive direct compensation. AP still publicly refers to a licensing agreement with OpenAI, and OpenAI continues to list AP among its early journalism partnerships, but those references do not confirm that the original terms remain unchanged. See AP’s standards page and OpenAI’s journalism page.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




