Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Skip to content
The Finance Base
The Money Desk · Blog
Re:

New GOP Student Loan Law: Who Could Face RAP’s 30-Year Forgiveness Timeline?

RAP offers remaining-balance cancellation after 30 years of payments, but the new federal student-loan law does not impose that timeline on every borrower or end all forgiveness.
From TheFinanceBase Team5 min to read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

No. The 2025 GOP-backed reconciliation law does not require every federal student-loan borrower to repay for 30 years or eliminate all loan forgiveness. It created the Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP), which cancels a remaining balance after 30 years of payments for borrowers who use it. The law was enacted on July 4, 2025, and the Education Department finalized implementing regulations in 2026.

What does RAP’s 30-year term mean?

RAP is an income-driven repayment option. A borrower’s monthly payment is based on adjusted gross income and family circumstances; if a balance remains after 30 years of payments, RAP cancels it. That is a forgiveness horizon, not a rule that every borrower must spend 30 years in repayment. Some borrowers may use a different plan or qualify for another forgiveness route, depending on their loan dates and circumstances.

The Congressional Budget Office’s 2026 description of RAP specifies payments lasting up to 30 years before cancellation of any remaining balance. The amount any individual owes or pays cannot be determined from the plan formula alone: loan balance, income, dependents, eligibility, and repayment history all matter.

Who can use the new repayment options, and when?

The new RAP and fixed-payment standard option apply to loans made on or after July 1, 2026. Existing borrowers are not all automatically moved to RAP. Which options remain available depends in part on when the loans were made and which plan the borrower uses.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Date What changes
July 1, 2026 Most provisions of the Education Department’s final rule take effect. RAP and the new standard option are established for loans made on or after this date.
July 1, 2027 Certain rehabilitation, deferment, and forbearance provisions are scheduled to take effect.
July 1, 2028 Income-Contingent Repayment (ICR) and Pay As You Earn (PAYE) close for current borrowers, according to the Government Accountability Office. Certain existing plans sunset on this date; Income-Based Repayment (IBR) remains an option for loans made before July 1, 2026, subject to applicable eligibility rules.

The Department’s final-rule timeline and the GAO’s plan-transition information describe different parts of the changes. Check the current StudentAid.gov account and servicer information for the repayment options available on your own loans; loan dates and loan type can affect the answer.

How do RAP and the new standard option compare?

The Congressional Budget Office’s 2026 comparison describes two options for the new-loan cohort. They differ in payment calculation, predictability, and how long a borrower may pay before any remaining balance is cancelled.

Feature RAP Standard option
Payment basis Income-driven: 1% to 10% of adjusted gross income, with the rate depending on income. Fixed monthly payments.
Minimum or family adjustment $10 monthly minimum; the monthly amount is reduced by $50 for each dependent. Not stated in the cited CBO summary.
Interest and principal Accrued interest not covered by the calculated monthly payment is waived. The plan matches up to $50 of the borrower’s monthly payment toward principal. Not stated in the cited CBO summary.
Repayment term Any remaining balance is cancelled after 30 years of payments. 10 to 25 years, with the term determined by the amount borrowed.

These are program terms, not a personal payment quote. In particular, the RAP percentage does not by itself tell a borrower’s monthly bill without the borrower’s income and family details.

Could borrowers pay more under RAP?

Yes, on average, according to the Congressional Budget Office: it estimates borrowers will pay more under RAP than under the income-driven repayment plans eliminated by the 2025 law. That is a population-level estimate, not a prediction for every borrower. Individual outcomes vary with income, debt, family circumstances, and repayment path.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A May 20, 2025 Urban Institute analysis modeled the House proposal then under consideration, rather than guaranteeing outcomes under the final enacted rules. Its single-borrower scenarios found that middle-income borrowers could have lower RAP payments than under existing income-driven plans, while scenarios for borrowers earning above $80,000 or below $30,000 found higher payments. Those dollar thresholds were features of the model, not statutory income cutoffs. The analysis also found that high-debt graduate borrowers with low or middle incomes could repay a greater share of their debt when the modeled forgiveness horizon extended to 30 years rather than the 20 or 25 years used in the comparison.

Urban’s modeled results assumed current interest rates, typical balances, annual income growth of 5%, on-time required payments, and no extra payments or prepayments. They illustrate how outcomes can differ by borrower profile; they do not calculate an individual’s costs under the enacted plan.

Rank #4
Aesthetic 2027 Student Planner for Middle and High School Students
  • Easily Stay on Top Of Things: Tackle it all with ease - less stress, more fun! The student planner 2026-2027 is here to streamline the organization of monthly & weekly goals, tasks, lessons, homework & exams. Easily stay on track with calendars, notes sections & more
  • Boost Organizational Skills & Productivity: ZICOTO’s school planner is your powerful tool to manage your time wisely, getting all work done, while also honing your organizational skills, learning how to prioritize effectively and finally free up some of your time
  • Enjoy Practical Features & Resource Pages: The perfect student planner for middle and high school years! Each month, there is a dedicated page for notes, to do’s & appointments. Clever: the planner even includes study tips and basics for math, science & co.
  • Super Cool Composition Book Design: How awesome is that? The homework planner sports a trendy composition book style cover with cool sporty icons like sneakers, skateboards, footballs, game controllers and lightning bolts – a fun design that will make any student want to stay organized!
  • Sturdy & Perfect Size: Super cool with a soft feel, robust cover, sturdy spiral binding and ideal size of 8.5x6.1", the student planner for high & middle school is truly made for everyday use, fitting neatly into any bag
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Does the law end all student-loan forgiveness?

No. The law changes repayment options and forgiveness timelines, but the available routes are not limited to RAP’s 30-year cancellation.

Income-Based Repayment

Education Department enactment guidance says the law removed the partial-financial-hardship enrollment requirement for IBR for specified loans made on or after July 1, 2014, and before July 1, 2026. The guidance describes that IBR plan as requiring payments of 10% of discretionary income over 20 years, with any remaining balance cancelled, subject to applicable eligibility rules. IBR availability and terms depend on the borrower’s loans and circumstances.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Public Service Loan Forgiveness

Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) is separate from RAP’s 30-year cancellation. The Education Department says RAP payments may count toward PSLF if all other eligibility criteria are met. The Congressional Budget Office describes PSLF as forgiveness after 10 years of qualified payments. Using RAP does not, by itself, establish that a borrower qualifies for PSLF.

What should a borrower check before choosing a plan?

Compare the options actually available for each loan, rather than assuming that one plan applies to every borrower. A useful comparison requires details that general plan descriptions cannot supply.

  • Loan information: identify loan type and origination date, including whether each loan was made before or on or after July 1, 2026.
  • Current plan and transition: check whether the loan is in ICR, PAYE, IBR, or another plan and what transition rules apply to it.
  • Payment inputs: use current income, adjusted gross income, and dependent information to estimate an income-driven payment.
  • Long-term consequences: compare the expected payment path and balance treatment, including the time to any remaining-balance cancellation that applies to the plan.
  • PSLF eligibility: if pursuing PSLF, verify that the employer, loans, and payments meet its requirements; RAP payments count only when the other criteria are also satisfied.

Use current StudentAid.gov and loan-servicer information to confirm plan availability and account-specific figures. The rules summarized here cannot establish an individual’s payment or total cost without the borrower’s loan, income, family, and repayment details.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More post from the Money Desk

  1. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 267 minMortgage Escrow FAQs: Taxes, Insurance, Shortages, and Refunds
  2. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow Mortgage Escrow Accounts Work and What Homeowners Pay For
  3. The Money DeskBlogTheFinanceBase09 OCT 265 minHow to Read a Stock Chart, Volume and Market-Cap Data
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.